We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lost its former magic” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Cock Inn

The Cock Inn
Bulls Lane, Wishaw, Sutton Coldfield B76 9QL, England
+44 (0)121 313 3960
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in Wishaw
Price range: $16 - $57
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Bar scene, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lost its former magic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I have been to the cock on a number of occasions over the past couple of years however it seems to have gone downhill. We ate On a Sunday lunchtime with a family group of 8. We had the Sunday lunch menu with starter/pudding for£3. Service wasn't great from the start we had to ask a number of times for drinks, the food was ok but starters were very small for the money. Roast dinner was good but again had to ask for more gravy and when I asked for horseradish was brought an empty pot! The waitress also forgot the chips on the kids meal. I can deal with slow service but continually having to ask when paying £20+ for a roast dinner isn't great will stick to butler's arms next time £14 for 3 courses of amazing home cooked food

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    117
    91
    54
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Sunday”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Service slow , food cold ,and cold, staff must ask customers if they want more drinks - surely empty glasses are a no-no ???

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Quality hit & miss”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

On a good day its very good but on most occasions its average and overpriced.Must have visited 20 times or more as its on our doorstep.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Recently visited with my granddaughter for lunch and we clearly were not important to the waitress as the water I asked with my order did not arrive and had to ask twice more to different waiters before I got it. We were placed in a corner out of the main restaurant although there were nicer tables available.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great food in a good atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Went here for a meal a few weeks ago on a Saturday night.

The restaurant was very busy, as was the bar, but the food was fantastic.

Prices here are slightly above average compared to elsewhere but the quality of the food makes up for that.

Looking forward now to see what the Christmas menu looks like.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cock Inn also viewed

Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands
Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands
 
Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands
Middleton, Warwickshire
 

Been to The Cock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cock Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.