We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B lovely hosts.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bridgend Guest House

Bridgend Guest House
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Welford on Avon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bridgend Guest House
Binton Road, Welford on Avon CV37 8PW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Welford on Avon
somerset
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B lovely hosts.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

We stayed here while visiting family and what a little gem this B&B is.
Although our family room was quite small and could the bathroom could have cleaner, we were really made to feel very welcome.
Tea and coffee in the room and the breakfast was superb! Plenty of coice of cereal, fresh fruit yogurts and toast and a lovely fresh cooked breakfast to oder.
We will most certainly be coming here.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
4
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

I stayed here just this week on the recommendation of a friend who lives in the area. Marlene is a superb hostess & makes your stay a truly home from home experience. The house is amazing & gives a great experience of Stratford - Shakesperian style. Low ceilings / oak beams & a truly picturesque location on the riverbank. the gardens are beautiful and if the sun shines, it's wonderful to sit beside the river and watch the world go by. Contrary to the (only) negative review I've seen of Bridgend, the rooms were certainly not damp, the bed was the most comfortable I've slept in for ages - cosy & warm. Breakfast was a well cooked, English breakfast & Marlene assures me she NEVER uses tinned tomatoes! Mine were fresh & all of it was freshly cooked & delicious. Nothing is too much trouble. I wish all B& B's could be like this. Take my advice & if you need to stay in the area - fall down the rabbit hole & visit wonderland at Bridgend.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011 via mobile

Lovely place recommended to all who love fishing will certainly go there again brilliant hospitality. Lovely full English breakfast
5 star rating

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2009

Some friends brought my wife and me to this lovely B & B because they have a narrow boat moored within yards. Our friendly host apparently rebuilt after a flood destroyed their original home. The result is a charming country B & B, with some very special touches. Alas, for our waist line, we were served a delicious English Breakfast. What a glorious setting: the Avon River, sheep grazing in the fields on the other side, and a wonderful bridge within sight from their front yard. Don't take our word, check out our photos of the B & B, our room, and the bridge. An exceptional B & B.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2007

We stayed here for 1 night last weekend and were thoroughly let down by the stay. The views we can't fault but the sheets were damp and the room was small and modest with no shampoos or creams in the bathroom. The hostess served breakfast without even asking how we'd like it cooked and there was no fruit on offer. We were served egg, bacon, white supermarket bread and tinned tomato without even being asked if we'd like this-it was just served regardless. This was a thoroughly unpleasant experience and avoid staying here at all costs.

  • Liked — Views
  • Disliked — Everything else, food and rooms and overall stay.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hockley, Essex
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2007

You can't fault this place! Located just a few miles from Stratford, with 3 pubs close by, this little guest house suited our needs perfectly. On arrival we were greeted by the lovely and very friendly Marlene who showed us to our room.

The room is large with an ensuite bathroom with shower, the bed was very comfortable and you get tea and coffee making facilities.

Included in the price was a full English breakfast each morning, plus tips from Marlene on places to visit.

Perfect for a weekend get away!

  • Liked — Friendly service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2004

my family and i were warmly welcomed by roger and marlin wilmott. our rooms were lovely decorated and comfortable with ensuite facilities and beautiful views of the garden and the river.

the garden is so well-maintained and i can imagine spending nice summer days there, sipping tall, cold drinks while swatching the river go by.

we had a lovely 2-night-stay and were served a full, freshly-cooked english breakfast on both mornings. we were especially touched by marlin's warmth and friendliness. thank you for a memorable stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bridgend Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridgend Guest House

Address: Binton Road, Welford on Avon CV37 8PW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Welford on Avon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Welford on Avon
Also Known As:
Bridgend Guest House Welford On Avon, Warwickshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bridgend Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bridgend Guest House to your Saves list