We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good spot for a weekend break if you can stand the noise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Walton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Walton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Walton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wellesbourne, Walton CV35 9HU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Walton
Write a Review

1,202 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    544
    375
    168
    74
    41
See reviews for
132
703
10
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2007

Absolutely the worst hotel in Stratford, appauling attitidue from staff. It was sold to me during its refurbish state so we were subjected to a muddy, noisy and completely rubbish environment away from the main house.

Don't be fooled. The hotel rooms are not in the main house but in a motel style square building at the rear. The staff are so inexperienced it was unbelievable I just couldn't get over them.

Stratford is a beautiful location and should be visited but please do not waste your money here, Stratford is all about the historical feel, the main house is out of bounds and the staff are on another planet.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Motel style hotel at rear of historical house
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2007

Recently visiting Stratford and under-enamoured with the reviews of Hotels in the town (the general consensus is that there aren't any worth a look in) - i ended up ensnared by the beautiful pictures on the Paramount web-page of Walton Hall. My partner was equally impressed as we rounded the corner of the seemingly endless country lane (stopping for reassurance from dog-walking locals that we were indeed on the right path) to spy the ostentatious facade of the looming stately home. She actually gasped.

When, however, we followed the path to 'Hotel Main Reception' it wheeled us unapologetically past the main house, and into a red-brick 'Travelday Inn' style generic building located among builders sand and temporary fencing around the side. It was here we were politely ushered to our lodgings (in said red-brick new building).

The room was very clean, large and comfortable and spa facilities more than satisfactory. The grounds are indeed truly stunning and the location serene - even for a country boy like myself. All staff encountered were friendly and formal and the food (on reports of others - we dined in Stratford) was well above par .

I did, however, fail to shake off that initial feeling of being hoodwinked. So e-bookers beware... (i'm sure they would have informed me had I booked over the phone)... until current renovations are finished you will be staying in a nondescript hotel in the grounds of Walton Hall. Not the Hall.

  • Liked — Grounds
  • Disliked — Misleading venue
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2007

Since the recent renovation, hotel is absolutely idyllic - beautiful surroundings, excellent facilities & modern, stylish rooms (esp bathroom). Leisure centre (pool & changing rooms particulary) could benefit from some TLC.

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2006

I stayed at the hotel for a short break with my boyfriend. We were not in the main house but in a newly built block. The rooms were absolutely beautiful, immaculate and clean. The views from the room were stunning and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was very nice although beware if the hotel are catering for a wedding or other party. The first morning we walked out of the breakfast room as there was no food left on the buffet! If you see any signs of a large party be prepared to ask if there is enough food available as we waited 35 minutes to be seated only to then be turned away.

I am not being picky but am a little concerned that this can be a problem for the hotel. I would have preferred the hotel had approached everyone in the queue and explained the situation and people could have got their breakfast elsewhere but at an appropriate time. By the time we left the hotel and found somewhere in town to eat it was 11.45am.

I would go to this hotel again and recommend it.

  • Liked — The room
  • Disliked — The experience with breakfast on the first morning
  • Tips/Secrets — Look at their website for special offers
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2006

Stayed for one night on business. Was allocated a new room in the 'Orchard Mews' block, which I was aware of at the time of booking as main house is mid-refurb. Beautifully appointed and spotlessly clean. OK so you have to go outside to get to the restaurant but it doesn't bother me - it's only a 1-2 minute stroll or if you are really lazy or it's raining - drive! Fab grounds but we came in the back way and the driveway had loads of sleeping policeman, in fact, too many, but if that's the only way people will slow down I guess it's understandable. Didn't get time to go in the Spa unfortunately, but the evening meal was superb and breakfast was also good and plentiful. Only negative? Some daft Corporate HR party going on, so at one point while eating our meal we were serenaded by THREE simultaneous sets of music, ranging from 'piano interludes' to 'the Addams Family'. A somewhat surreal experience which suited us after a hard day at the office and made us laugh, but I think would have annoyed me if I wanted a quiet romantic meal, as did the couple in the corner that night ...

  • Liked — Clean and well appointed
  • Disliked — Nothing to dislike
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Walton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walton Hotel

Address: Wellesbourne, Walton CV35 9HU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Walton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Walton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Walton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four-star Walton Hotel is set in 65 acres of glorious countryside overlooking a lake, yet is within easy reach of the historic towns of Warwick and Stratford-upon-Avon. Discover Shakespeare in Stratford-upon-Avon and medieval history in Warwick Castle, then explore the beautiful Warwickshire countryside before enjoying the collections in the Compton Verney Art Gallery. Offering a peaceful retreat it has 130 bedrooms, including 6 premium rooms in Walton Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Walton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Walton Hall Hotel Wellesbourne Hastings
Walton Hotel Warwickshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Walton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.