We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Treat” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Walton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Walton Hotel to your Saves list
Walton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wellesbourne, Walton CV35 9HU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Walton
West Midlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Weekend Treat”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We were bought this weekend as a treat and were looking forward to a weekend of luxury. The deal was 2 nights, both with breakfast, the first including evening meal, the second day including cream tea between 2-5pm.

The hotel was clean and the staff were attentive and welcoming, the room was comfortable and shower gel, tea, coffee etc was replenished and towels changed.

The first day we decided to have a bar snack, we ordered 2 crusty sandwiches, a portion of chips and a pint each this came to £20 which for a lunchtime snack we thought a bit steep, especially as the chips were awful - stale oil and the bread was regular sliced - disappointed

Not holding out much hope but as we didn't have to pay we went for the evening meal-we were not told what was included in the inclusive package, so just ordered what we wanted (supplements were not charged for on checkout) .

We had soup of the day starter, French onion soup, which was tasty but came with a sweetened bread which was strange. I ordered the pork main, the waitress suggested that I would need a side as it didn't even come with potato, I questioned why it said it came with pomme puree as I took this to mean mash potato apparently is wasn't - when the meal came the were 2 pieces of pork, carrots, cabbage and mash potato it was an ok meal but didn't need sides. My partner ordered the battered haddock, chips and mint mushy peas. The batter was so thick is was soggy inside, the peas had far too much mint in and looked like they'd been microwaved to death. We declined desert. A bottle of wine was included

The breakfast wasn't a meal we were looking forward to, however there was plenty of choice and it was warm and absolutely fine. Someone has made comment to only fried eggs being available there is a sign to say you only have to ask for boiled, scrambled or poached. This may have been added since the comment.

One of the waiters kept crouching down next to us at our table to ask if everything was ok, take our order etc - I think this behaviour is very condescending and unnecessary.

There is no where near to get an evening meal from so be prepared for needing a nominated driver, I ended up driving half hour to Stow.

We didn't rush back for the cream tea, so I can't comment on that.

The air conditioning makes a big row, as does the bathroom fan when you put the bathroom light on - not great if one of you is a light sleeper.

Overall I wouldn't return and I would check all the evils before even thinking about booking another Puma hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme N, General Manager at Walton Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review after your recent stay with us. I was delighted to read you found the hotel to be clean and thank you for your comments about our attentive team members. I was disappointed to read your feedback on dinner and rest assured this shall be addressed with Chef.

Thank you once again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    322
    157
    72
    46
See reviews for
122
575
13
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
england
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

stayed one night, midweek, and found everything to be very good. check in on the ball, it took a matter of seconds. The room and breakfast in the morning were both of an above average standard.
had dinner as part of a large group and found that to be of a good standard considering the numbers eating.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme N, General Manager at Walton Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review after your recent stay at Walton Hall & Hotel. I was delighted to read you had a most enjoyable stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back as a leisure guest.

Thank you once again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle under Lyme, null, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I recently held a conference for over 100 delegates which included accommodation across two nights and dining.
The rooms in the old hall are magnificent, however some rooms in the Coach House aren't all that.
The staff were exceptional and very helpful to the event.
The first evening we ate informally in the restaurant, a lovely setting but the A La Carte menu left you wanting more, a lot more. I'm no fatty but even three courses plus cheese left me thinking that I could kill for a kebab!
However, the evening of our conference portion sizes were spot on.
It's a great location for a conference and the price is competitive. Some of the syndicate rooms are nothing special (we used 7 in total) but that's the downside of an older hotel not purpose built for conferences.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme N, General Manager at Walton Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review after your recent event at Walton Hall & Hotel. I was delighted to read you had a positive experience and your kind words about our helpful team are truly appreciated and will be passed on. Thank you for your comments on our a la carte menu and I was delighted to read your conference portion sizes were spot on.

Thank you once again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We got married last Saturday, our kids booked a spa break here via spa breaks for us to chill out after the stress of a wedding, we rang to say we couldn't make due to unforeseen reasons, they were very unhelpful and just said they wouldn't change the dates and we have lost the money our children paid as a present, we are going to pay our self for somewhere else, would not pay this company upfront if you can't attend you will lose your money, in this case our children's hard earned money,

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We were all blown away by the friendliness of the staff, it is so good to see people that actually enjoy their jobs. The location is stunning and so quiet. Our room was very comfortable and had everything you could possibly need. The food was amazing and the service first class.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme N, General Manager at Walton Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review after your recent stay at Walton Hall & Hotel. I was delighted to read you found our team to be excellent and your kind words about our food quality will be passed onto our Chef and Brigade.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thank you once again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We attended for a friends wedding and booked a room. No issues with staff or quality of room, decor , hygiene or location all really good. However we stayed in Room 420 and the walls were paper thin and could hear whole conversations and names of couple next door not to mention other things like her vomiting and heaving from too much drink. Made us feel a uncomfortable to talk in our room and this was a major let down as they were arguing and kept us awake.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme N, General Manager at Walton Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review after your recent stay with us. I was delighted to read you found our staff, decor and room to be of high quality but was sorry to hear you had noisy neighbours.

I do hope this recent experience will not deter you from visiting us in the future.

Thank you once again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel and location and friendly staff no concerns. We stayed one night for a friends wedding. We was allocated a room 420 in Orchard Mews which had an interconnecting room which we didn't use. The MAJOR issue was is that the walls were paper thin we could hear whole conversations very clearly as if the people next door were actually in our room - it was shocking and made me feel uncomfortable to talk as did not want them hearing our conversation like we could clearly hear theirs !

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Walton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walton Hotel

Address: Wellesbourne, Walton CV35 9HU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Walton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Walton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Walton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four-star Walton Hotel is set in 65 acres of glorious countryside overlooking a lake, yet is within easy reach of the historic towns of Warwick and Stratford-upon-Avon. Discover Shakespeare in Stratford-upon-Avon and medieval history in Warwick Castle, then explore the beautiful Warwickshire countryside before enjoying the collections in the Compton Verney Art Gallery. Offering a peaceful retreat it has 130 bedrooms, including 6 premium rooms in Walton Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Walton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Walton Hall Hotel Wellesbourne Hastings
Walton Hotel Warwickshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Walton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.