We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks good, but fails to deliver” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Walton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Walton Hotel to your Saves list
Walton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wellesbourne, Walton CV35 9HU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Walton
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Looks good, but fails to deliver”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

The location of this hotel is not ideal for business travel as there is nothing that close to it, so not recommended unless you have plenty of time or would like the peace and quiet it gives.
The Hotel on first impression looks amazing, set in beautiful landscape and well designed, sadly it does not live up to the opulence it suggests
The rooms are what you would expect, are clean, well appointed but in the heat there is not air conditioning and so if you get a room with only one window that will open you well swelter
The restaurant and bar look good, wine and beer are priced at a level to be expected.
The Food in the Orangery is not good value and to be honest (having eaten here twice) was quite bland. My friend ordered a steak that struggles to live up to the title and you have to pay for the potatoes, which seems a cheap tactic for making the steak seem more reasonable value, than it actually is
The Staff in the Bar and the Restaurant are very pleasant and whilst there was on one of the two evenings, some poor service with a number of tables getting the wrong meals! They general are professional and courteous.
We asked for the possibility of a bag meal as we had to leave before breakfast, but a number of excuses were made. Though the next night when staying at another hotel this was offered without the hotel staff being asked.
All in All, its a lovely location for walks, but feel that it is not somewhere I would rush to, either on business or to explore the local area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme N, General Manager at Walton Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review after your recent stay. Your kind words about our well appointed and clean rooms are truly appreciated as is your feedback and our team being professional and courteous.

I was disappointed to read you found the food bland and will discuss this with our chef.

Thank you once again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    322
    157
    72
    46
See reviews for
122
575
13
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I bought a two night stay at Walton hotel for my boyfriend's 30th birthday, which included bed and breakfast, an evening meal and afternoon tea. When we arrived we were blown away by the grounds that the hotel is set in. Despite not staying in the actual hall, the whole complex is set in the beautiful grounds and therefore it made no difference to the feeling of grandeur that this place creates. When we arrived in our room we found a chilled bottle of wine, which we happily drunk whilst getting ready for dinner. The room had views over the grounds, was of a good size and spotlessly clean. Good shower too!

As part of the package we had a three course meal included- the food was of excellent quality and we even got a free glass of bubbly to celebrate my boyfriend's birthday. A 'happy birthday' written on his dessert plate in chocolate was also a nice touch. The wonderful grounds provided a picturesque location for a post dinner evening stroll.

The hotel and hall share facilities and we tried out the pool, which was of a good size although slightly shallow. We also had a drink in the hall's conservatory bar with a delicious cocktail made by the batman.

The hotel is fantastically located for Stratford upon Avon and Warwick, as well as many other pretty villages to drive through.

If I had one small complaint it was the lack of fan/air conditioning in the room. We stayed during very hot weather and the room was very warm - a fan would have been a welcome addition!

Overall, I would highly recommend Walton hall and hotel for a short stay. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful, with the rooms and facilities of an excellent standard. Far and away the biggest selling point though is the setting, which is breathtaking and certainly adds to the overall experience. I'd stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme N, General Manager at Walton Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for posting a review after your recent stay at Walton Hall & Hotel. I was delighted to read you had a wonderful trip and your kind words about our bedroom cleanliness, food quality and our grounds are truly appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

What a surprise! I visited as part of a company team building event and was very impressed.
A lovely building in a lovely setting with very friendly staff. Made to feel at home from the moment I walked in.
The grounds are wonderful, worth a walk on a summer evening with nice views of the warwickshire countryside.
Close to Wawick, Stratford and the Cotswolds.
Worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme N, General Manager at Walton Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review after you recent stay at Walton Hall & Hotel. I am delighted you had such a wonderful visit and your kind words about our team and facilities are truly appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

A superb setting and the superior room was very large, spotlessly clean and a really comfortable mattress but a king size would have been the icing on the cake.
The rooms are well appointed.
The best thing for me was going down to breakfast on a Saturday morning at 9.30 and finding ample tables free and staff that are on the ball.
Another good point is the ample parking outside the rooms.
All in all an enjoyable stay,

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme N, General Manager at Walton Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review after your recent stay at Walton Hall & Hotel. I am delighted you had such a wonderful stay and your kind words are truly appreciated and will be passed onto the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Our room in the coach house was through no less than 5 fire doors, up back passages and stairways to an airless room on the first floor with a single minut window opening. Although England does not see high temps frequently it was a health and safety hazard. No air conditioning, no fan, no min bar to open for cool air and a window just large enought to shove a cat through this room was the worst I have ever had to deal with. The phone did not work and was not attended to even though we immediately asked for it to be fixed, the wifi blocked me out after one access of under three minutes in the lobby and the receptionist was positively unhelpful about any suggestions to deal with the heat in the room. We paid in advance for the room through Priceline....big mistake. If you are heading here in the next few days CHANGE YOUR PLANS. The tv news said thousands could die over the next few days if the heat wave continues and i would not be at all surprised if some of them were guests at this gulag.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme N, General Manager at Walton Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review after your recent stay with us. My sincere apologies for the frustrations encountered with your phone and WI-FI.

I am sorry you found your room so hot and only wished you had asked our front office team about the possibility of a room move as we would have been delighted to accommodate this for you.

Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelso, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The road into the hotel is a single track road which travels through rolling countryside in the manner of Brideshead Revisited - apparently it is/was part of the Walton Estate. When you arrive at the hotel, it is a much larger establishment than you expect comprising a large separate hotel and a Walton Hall a short walk away. The rooms are large and modern with a huge bed and mine had good views to the front. Loads of parking just outside the hotel front.
Our group was split between both, but we ended having pre-dinner drinks in the walled garden, which separates the two. Blissfully peacefull.
The hotel must have been full, because the restaurant was full and although bar food was available, we had to wait ages after ordering. The staff eventually gave us free drinks and found us a table inside, since dusk was falling. The menu was way up market for bar food, but the long wait put a bit of a damper on proceedings. Some of our party ate in the hall and had no issues at all.
Ideal hotel if you want some peace and quiet before visiting the Motor Heritage Museum just a short drive away.

Room Tip: Because it is in the middle of a country estate, with no noise from traffic - there's no need to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme N, General Manager at Walton Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review after your recent stay at Walton Hall & Hotel. I am delighted you had a wonderful time when with us and thank you for your kind words about the hotel.

My apologies you experienced a delay in receiving your food in the evening and thank you for saying you found it worth the wait.

Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Stayed here for a business trip. The hotel is stunning, particularly the old houses/church buildings. Friendly helpful staff were always available. All areas well kept, clean and tidy. The setting and grounds are beautiful.

Dinner was very nice and tasty and well presented but the portions were rather small. Service was fast and efficient.

Breakfast was a self service buffet style which a reasonably wide choice of food.

Rooms were good sized and many have a balcony or terrace.

I did not use the spa or room service so cannot comment on these.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme N, General Manager at Walton Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review after your recent stay with us. I am delighted you found our team to be helpful and friendly and thank you for your kind words about our property and facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thank you once again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Walton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walton Hotel

Address: Wellesbourne, Walton CV35 9HU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Walton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Walton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Walton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four-star Walton Hotel is set in 65 acres of glorious countryside overlooking a lake, yet is within easy reach of the historic towns of Warwick and Stratford-upon-Avon. Discover Shakespeare in Stratford-upon-Avon and medieval history in Warwick Castle, then explore the beautiful Warwickshire countryside before enjoying the collections in the Compton Verney Art Gallery. Offering a peaceful retreat it has 130 bedrooms, including 6 premium rooms in Walton Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Walton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Walton Hall Hotel Wellesbourne Hastings
Walton Hotel Warwickshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Walton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.