We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter Break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Walton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Walton Hotel to your Saves list
The Walton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wellesbourne, Walton CV35 9HU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Walton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Swansea, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Winter Break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We took advantage of an offer for this hotel and we weren't disappointed. The rooms are modern and clean and have all the usual facilities most hotels have these days. It was very comfortable. Breakfast was fantastic and the staff at breakfast were extremely helpful and friendly, We also tested out the spa and that was very well presented, clean and well equipped with equipment that worked! Only thing we found awkward was that we had to walk outside to go around to the main hotel. Would be ok in the summer but when we were there it was bitterly cold, so we got in the car and drove to town for supper. All in all we had a lovely time
Its in a very beautiful location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme N, General Manager at The Walton Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review after your recent stay with us. I am delighted you had a wonderful time and thank you for your kind words about our breakfast offering and the restaurant staff who looked after you

Your kind words about our leisure facilities are truly appreciated as are your lovely words about our team members.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    349
    174
    77
    48
See reviews for
128
632
14
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Wow what a place!

Bought a Travelzoo deal that included a room in the coach house, (a building next door to Walton hall). A 3 course dinner, bottle of wine upon arrival and a full breakfast.
We got married on the 23/3/13 and wanted a couple of nights away to unwind and relax.
Walton hall is a large stately house in the beautiful countryside or Warwick. Upon arrival the lady behind the desk offered us an upgrade to a premium room for £20 or for £40 a suit. Well we decided to pay for a premium and mentioned to the lady that indeed this was our little 2 day honeymoon we were able to organise away from our young children. The lady instantly gave us a suit for the same price, what a lovely gesture from the hotel.
The room was huge with high ceilings, tall sash windows looking over the front of the building, lovely bedroom and bathroom. All spotless and to a high modernistic spacious standard. It wasn't long after getting settled a knock at the door and two members of staff stood holding a bottle of champagne on ice, a box of Walton Hall chocolates and a hand written card wishing us congratulations!
Dinner that evening was amazing, beautifully presented. The classic interior of the dining hall was stunning with three amazing chandeliers hanging low.
Breakfast was very filling, consisting of a help yourself continental selection followed by a full English breakfast.

Overall we had an amazing stay a Walton Hall and the acknowledgement of why we were there added a certain personal touch to our stay.

We never got a chance to use the spa facilities so we cannot comment.

All in all an amazing place, we would like to thank Walton Hall and the Puma Hotel Group for our stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Visited this hotel with a group of girlfriends on a Spa Break. We stayed 2 nights and this included breakfast and 3-course dinner both nights.

Although we stayed in the hotel not the hall, the hall and the surrounding countryside make for a beautiful area to stay! It was absolutely stunning, especially in the snow!

Food was fabulous!! Plenty of choice for the evening meal considering we had a set menu (5 choices for each course, we were expecting 2 or 3 at most) and the menu was different each night. Breakfast provided plenty of variety with both a hot and cold buffet - only criticism was only one type of egg available (fried). I also had lunch which although a little overpriced (£7 for a sandwich and £3.50 for a tiny bowl of fries) was lovely.

Staff were fabulous! Spa staff were friendly and attentive, the reception staff were welcoming and helpful, and the restaurant staff couldnt do enough for you! On the second night, one of our party requested chips with their meal and we were provided with enough for the whole group at no extra cost. They also provided us with a birthday cake as one of the girls was celebrating her birthday, this was at extra cost and arranged with the hotel prior to our visit, but was lovely and presented with candles and the lights dimmed in the restaurant - all the staff joined in singing Happy Birthday and our friend was very emotional! :)

The rooms in the hotel are well kept, very clean and plenty of space. They do the job nicely!

The Spa could do with a little attention - the sauna and steam room are both very small and there is no jacuzzi. However, the pool was a lovely temperature, and perfect for a relaxing swim. Some of the criticism of the pool on here is unfair, as the hotel advertise it as part of the Spa not as an Olympic swimming pool and it suits the Spa perfectly! I had 2 treatments on my visit (facial and a massage) which were absolutely divine!! Some of our party also had manicures and pedicures, and no one could fault any part of their treatments!

My main criticism would be the bar in the hotel - it is overpriced, even for a hotel, and there is nothing to keep you occupied or entertained, not even background music. As it snowed quite heavily while we were there, we didnt really have the option to leave the hotel and find our fun elsewhere.

I woiuld definitely consider visiting again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme N, General Manager at The Walton Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review after your recent stay with us. Your kind words about our service are truly appreciated and I am delighted the team played a part in making the birthday celebrations that little bit extra special.

Thank you again for the kind words about our leisure club facilities and our menu offering.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Two very closed friends were married here in October 2012. The wedding was beautiful and the main old hall was the perfect venue. Also the grounds are very picturesque and the staff were very friendly. However we were very disappointed with the rooms. We paid what we thought was a high rate for over night stay for two nights but the rooms were pokey and dull ( we were in the Coach House). The TV wasn't properly tuned, the bathrooms had no natural light or ventilation and the steam from the shower set off the fire alarms.

If you are attending a wedding here I would guess that the main old building accommodation will be taken by the wedding party itself; if so, I recommend you attend the wedding but stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Beautiful for a wedding but stay elsewhere unless you can get a room in the main old Hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme N, General Manager at The Walton Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review after your trip on October 2012. It was disappointing to read you encountered frustrations during your trip and I can assure you since last year we have been carrying out a continuous programme to improve our property, which included new TV's for the coach house.

I would be delighted to discuss other areas of the business we have invested in should you wish to learn more.

Please feel free to call me at the Hotel on 01789 842424

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northamptonshire
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We booked an overnight stay which included a three course evening meal and breakfast, on arrival we paid an extra £20 and upgraded to a premium room . I dont know what sort of room we would have had but this one was amazing more like a suit. Very large and a wonderful big comfy bed the bath room was enormous with a bath and a wet room shower.
Evening meal was from a restricted menu due to the deal but there was plenty of choice and was it was delicious .
We had a late check out and had planned to explore the grounds but due to waking up to a large amount of snow we decided to leave early but we will return definatley.

Room Tip: upgrade to a premium room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme N, General Manager at The Walton Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review after your recent stay with us. I am delighted you had a wonderful time at Walton Hall and your kind words are truly appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Stayed in the hall before and found the lunch standard and choice of items very poor. The music in the restaurant is incredibly depressing. Other than that though the Hall is lovely and the staff friendly etc.
Stayed in the hotel this week and highly disappointed. The food was terrible. First night colleagues ordered a pork rib eye. What arrived was a shoulder steak. Not what the menu offered. On the second night the food was good. Third night my colleague ordered the cumberland ring I had eaten the night before and got 3 of what looked like the breakfast sausages recycled and stuck in some lumpy mash. The chicken Caesar had also completely changed and become a soggy skin on chicken breast roughly cut into 3 chunks, a small limp pile of salad and non-existant bacon. Simply terrible. The music in the restaurant was also the same dirge played in the hall. Drinks also hugely over priced. Over £10 for a guiness and a single g&t!!
I would stay in the hall again, but the hotel is overpriced on food and drinks and the standard is unacceptable.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme N, General Manager at The Walton Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review after your recent stay with us. Your kind words about our friendly team are truly appreciated.

May I offer my sincere apologies we let you down on the food front this time round and you will be delighted to read we have very recently appointed a new chef at the Hotel and have just changed our menu offering.

Thank you once again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stayed here recently on business. Rooms are comfortable and clean and the evening meal was very nice, but I was a little disappointed by the breakfast as there wasn't a choice of eggs - only fried - or if there was it was the best kept secret. also the choice of cereal was bland.

Another niggle was the swimming pool which was not much more than an overgrown paddling pool where it was impossible to do any serious swimming. Get a 25m pool built and this place would be very good. The Hot Room spa was the size of a large wardrobe where it was over crowded with three people in it; and the steam room smelt musty.

Finally, the bedrooms on the ground floor only had large opening windows, and as I prefer to sleep with a window open, irrespective of the time of year, I felt unsafe having a large window open in the night - had it been a small openign window it would have been perfect.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme N, General Manager at The Walton Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review after your recent stay with us. Thank you for your kind words about your comfortable and clean room and again for your lovely comments about dinner.

I am sorry you felt the swimming pool was too small and I only wish you had let one of the team know about preferring to sleep with a window open whilst you were with us and we could have allocated you a room on our second or third floor.

Thank you once again for taking the time to feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Walton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Walton Hotel

Address: Wellesbourne, Walton CV35 9HU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Walton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Walton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Walton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four-star Walton Hotel is set in 65 acres of glorious countryside overlooking a lake, yet is within easy reach of the historic towns of Warwick and Stratford-upon-Avon. Discover Shakespeare in Stratford-upon-Avon and medieval history in Warwick Castle, then explore the beautiful Warwickshire countryside before enjoying the collections in the Compton Verney Art Gallery. Offering a peaceful retreat it has 130 bedrooms, including 6 premium rooms in Walton Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Walton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Walton Hall Hotel Wellesbourne Hastings
The Walton Hotel Warwickshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Walton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.