We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel In Beautiful Surroundings” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Walton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Walton Hotel to your Saves list
Walton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wellesbourne, Walton CV35 9HU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Walton
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel In Beautiful Surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Me and my husband stayed at this hotel for the Jubilee bank holiday weekend. I would definately stay at this hotel again and would recommend to anybody. The location is beautiful as are the grounds that the hotel is set in. Very good value for money and the breakfast is fantastic, the best my husband has ever had. I would have loved to have stayed in one of the rooms in the old hall but assume that they would be very expensive. The bar prices are expensive but then again you expect that in any hotel. We love stratford and have visited many times and this is the best hotel we have stayed in. I can also recommend the Fox Inn at Loxley for sunday lunch, its superb and whenever we are in stratford for the weekend we visit this pub. My only gripe with the hotel is the very hard uncomfortable ,mattress which gave both myself and my husband back ache.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Walton Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2012
Thank you for your comments on your stay with us at Walton Hotel.

We benefit from having both Walton Hotel and Walton Hall on site. Walton Hotel is a contemporary building boasting 130 modern bedrooms whereas Walton Hall dates back to the 15th Century and offers a more luxurious stay. If you book online or through our reservations team, we are able to offer some fantastic deals and special packages in both Walton Hall & Walton Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future,

Joel Fagg
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    322
    157
    72
    46
See reviews for
122
575
13
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

I had booked to stay in the hotel for 3 nights last week and on the phone made it very clear to be put in a problem free room

Upon my arrival checking in after 6pm i was allocated my room after we got back from dinner we relased there were issues with bathroom not working properly !

We requested a move and had to move 23.30 with no help ! we was then put in a very noisey room for the rest of the stay which was very annoying and not what was advertised !

I would not give this hotel 4 star rating , I stay in allot of hotels due to work and spend at least 1 week a month in a hotel this would be one of the worst ones i stayed in !!!!

I have also stayed in their Billesley Manor where once again had issues as you can not get any recption if you are in the back bedrooms but was resolved as got moved to the front of the hotel

They recommended for us to stay at Walton hotel next time and give them another chance which I did but WHAT A BIG MISTAKE !!

NOTE they are now PUMA HOTELS not Barcelo

Would not recommended

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night following a wedding at the much more expensive nearby Ettington Hall.We paid £59.00 for a double room bed and breakfast,excellent value.Check in and out was smooth and efficient,they even arranged a 7 seater taxi back to Ettington for the evening function at very short notice.Bedroom was spacious,clean and tidy and breakfast was supurb.Whilst we stayed in the actual hotel as opposed to the Hall the stay was fantastic and the surroundings were brilliant,unfortunatly we did not have time to use the leisure facilities.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pangbourne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed in this hotel on Saturday night. On arrival we were amazed to be shown a room which would not have been acceptable in a Premier Inn. Very basic, tiny window, small bathroom and small double bed (4ft 6in). The room rate was £147.50!! We challenged this and were immediately offered an upgrade to a much larger room on the ground floor. Even this was poor quality and value for the price paid. There were security issues which were raised 3 times with staff and about which nothing was done: door to outside (led to car park) could not be locked, the key was missing and it was secured by a single small aluminium bolt which had been screwed on and could very easily have been broken from the outside. The safe was locked and could not be reset and no staff arrived to put this right. Therefore we had to take our belongings with us everywhere.

The overall design of the modern wings of the hotel was slapdash, shabby and "brutal" modern in feel. In the room the television was placed on the wall opposite the bed but projected into the room by a quarter of its' length so that walking from the bathroom to the bed risked knocking the TV off the wall and injury to one's shoulder. The bathroom was of a wetroom design with no bath, and nowhere to put the soap when showering. It became full of water with splashes right across the room, thus wetting sponge bags etc. The worst feature of this was that the electric towel rail was also getting wet, was loose on the wall and to use it one stood in a puddle of water - the floor itself was 1cm deep in water, was not non-slip tiles, there were gaps in the grouting with black mould growing in them. The wash-hand basin was positioned too close to the toilet and the toilet seat was loose. The room was equipped for a disabled person - disasterous in our view as they would be vulnerable due to the poor security and the bathroom health and safety issues - the toilet would have been almost impossible to manoevre a wheelchair to it, due to the proximity of basin. (we were in room 100)

On the plus side, the afternoon tea was delicious and served very well. The breakfast, although served in a rigidly arranged restaurant (tables placed in rows, quite strange) was ample and very good. The grounds of the hotel are very pleasant.

Room Tip: If you must stay at this hotel and are given a really small room, make sure that you ask for a bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Stayed here overnight on a Saturday with a dinner and breakfast package.This hotel is set in lovely grounds in the countryside about 15mins from Stratford on Avon. Our room was in the new section of the hotel as opposed to the Hall. Good sized well appointed room free wi-fi [so it should be wherever you go] shower over bath [might be a problem for less mobile guests] with lovely big bath towels.
We asked to dine at 8pm and were told only 7.45 or 8.15, no problem but were surprised to find the restaurant almost empty which was very unusual according to the maitre-d'. The food was fine [I'm no expert] the service was excellent probably helped by lack of diners.
Breakfast was the usual buffet affair, no egg station which might have helped lift the well stocked but luke warm cooked section. Good coffee poor orange juice.
They had Spa/leisure facilities that we didn't use. Overall our stay was excellent, couple of minor gripes I thought the bar shut early at 11pm and no egg station at brekky but you should be able to book with confidence for any occasion.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

We once again stayed in the modern part of the property and on the whole enjoyed it more than we did last time.

The grounds really looked stunning, probably due to all the rain, and our room seemed a little larger than the previous one. Soft furnishings etc. were in good condition and the bathroom clean with an excellent hot shower.

Breakfast was very good, and staff helpful and prompt, but we were careful to avoid 'peak times' as we understood that this was adviseable.

We were disappointed at the quality of the '24 hour free WIFI' which did not seem to be working properly and certainly wasn't 24 hours for us. Attempts to get the situation rectified got nowhere. The front desk staff were not really interested in technological problems!

Room Tip: Be aware that there are two hotels here, one modern and cheaper, the other a stately home with appro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Had a two night break at this hotel,
Had a small double room in the coach house which had a damp smell to it,
Food was of good quality
Even though there was a wedding on both nights we were not disturbed,

Room Tip: Don't. Have a room. In the coach house,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Walton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walton Hotel

Address: Wellesbourne, Walton CV35 9HU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Walton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Walton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Walton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four-star Walton Hotel is set in 65 acres of glorious countryside overlooking a lake, yet is within easy reach of the historic towns of Warwick and Stratford-upon-Avon. Discover Shakespeare in Stratford-upon-Avon and medieval history in Warwick Castle, then explore the beautiful Warwickshire countryside before enjoying the collections in the Compton Verney Art Gallery. Offering a peaceful retreat it has 130 bedrooms, including 6 premium rooms in Walton Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Walton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Walton Hall Hotel Wellesbourne Hastings
Walton Hotel Warwickshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Walton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.