We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Wedding at the Draycote Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Draycote Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Draycote Hotel to your Saves list
Draycote Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   London Road, Thurlaston, Derby CV23 9LF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Thurlaston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Southam, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Our Wedding at the Draycote Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We held our wedding at the Draycote hotel on 15th June 2013, From the first time we saw the venue, we knew that we wanted to have our wedding there. Even though we took some time, and looked at other locations, we always came back to Draycote. We are so happy that we did. From the first time we met with our wedding co-ordinator’s, Stephan & Anna, we knew that we had made the right decision.
Our huge thanks and compliments go to Stephan, Anna and their team at The Draycote for making our wedding day so perfectly amazing and memorable. From when we arrived at the hotel, Stephan & Anna were there to greet us, they were always thoroughly professional and made us feel relaxed, they talked us through the whole day and even when plans were running late (due to our own fault) they did their upmost to change the room around and make it look spectacular for the evening guests.
Everything we asked for was as it should be and more, and nothing was too much trouble, Anna decorated the tables so beautifully and was always there adding her personal touches we hadn’t thought about.
Stephan (and his spoon) were amazing at organising our guests and making us feel like royalty with 3 grand entrances. Everyone has commented about the friendly staff and very relaxing atmosphere, we all loved every minute. Our wedding was made even more special by the amazing people and most amazing venue.
If you're having a Wedding, other function, Golf weekend with friends, or just a romantic evening, this is the place to go! My Husband and I are already planning on going back for a romantic evening for our 1ST Anniversary (or maybe we won't be able to wait that long, and will go sooner!).
MR AND MRS CLEAVER
15 – 06 - 2013

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Draycote_GM, Guest Relations Manager at Draycote Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for your fantastic review and the plethora of compliments contained therein. Stephan and Anna are thrilled by their many mentions and are pleased that they were able to contribute so positively to the celebration of your special day. Thank you also, for rating us so highly and for recommending us so strongly. We sincerely look forward to either your first anniversary, or sooner, and the opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    69
    34
    28
    22
See reviews for
65
74
4
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here on a couple of previous occasions, all of which were work related. I was impressed enough to bring my wife and family for her birthday in April when staying with family locally.

The dining area was beautifully laid out, the service was impeccable, quick and polite, nothing was to much trouble. The food was delicious, we had the rib eye, medium rare, cooked perfectly. My only issue was deciding on dessert as they had 3 of my favourites, the waitress kindly offered to do me a mini trio of the 3 even though not on the menu.

If your in the area, great place to dine out, for work or personal pleasure. Il definitely be going back.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Draycote_GM, Guest Relations Manager at Draycote Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you very much for choosing to bring your family for a meal and for this wonderful review. I am extremely pleased that you all enjoyed your dining experience and that we were able to accommodate you with your dessert dilemma.
We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Anna, Stefan and their staff were superb. The set up of the room, the quick changes and the food were all handled so smooth and nothing was too much trouble. The whole day from start to finish was a fantastic success and I can not praise them high enough. Adrian Mulligan

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Draycote_GM, Guest Relations Manager at Draycote Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
We are very happy that your son's wedding day was a flawless occasion and that everthing ran smoothly. Stephan and Anna wish you to know that it was their privilege to be an intrinsic part of your son and his bride's most important day and thank you for your fantastic compliments. I thank you for taking the time to post this review and rating us so highly and hope that we will see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Our friends got married here a few weeks ago - it was a beautiful day, the staff were great, and everything ran according to plan.
It was just a shame that the rooms are so tired - if we were paying bargain prices we would have expected it, but with the price we paid, we expected something far better to spend the night in than these. The double bed was in fact two singles pushed together, they were not made particularly well, the bathrooms need ripping out and completely updating, as does the hot water system - it took 15 minutes of running the hot tap to get any hot water to wash my face.
It's a shame, as the wedding was great and it's a lovely setting - but some of that money really needs to be re-invested into the hotel. At the moment it seems that weddings and the golf club are the main customers, and those who pay for the hotel are the least priority!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Draycote_GM, Guest Relations Manager at Draycote Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for your review and for your compliments. We are extremely pleased that the wedding was a special and enjoyable event and that it went without a hitch. We are also pleased that you had a great time.
I am sorry that you were disappointed with your room, but would like to assure you that all of our guests and customers are equally as important.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hull
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This was our 7th year having our golfing break at this venue and we had 14 players this year, as usual the course, hotel, food and all the staff were 1st class, many thanks to Dave for his help in booking this for us and sorting all our golfing needs out. Such a friendly and relaxed venue were nothing seems to be too much trouble, needless to say we will be booking again next year and looking forward to it.
Very good value for money.
Kevin Bristow

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Draycote_GM, Guest Relations Manager at Draycote Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for your continuing to choose us as an annual golfing venue, for you and your group. We are very grateful for your loyalty and patronage.
Thank you also, for your lovely review, kind compliments and outstanding rating.
We look forward to seeing you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I found this hotel to be vastly superior to Dunchurch Park, it feels small and personable as opposed to Dunchurch's tired corporate conveyor feel.
The room was clean and comfortable and the staff were very helpful, food was also very nice

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Draycote_GM, Guest Relations Manager at Draycote Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you very much for taking time to post a review and for rating us so highly. We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your room and our hospitality and sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

In my position as Dir. Of Club Fitting for SSGM, I travel quite extensively. I have never had a more pleasant lodging experience than what I had at Draycote. From Stephen, the GM, and David the Head Pro, to maintenance, to kitchen, housekeeping, reception, wait staff, you name it, these people get it right. I would recommend this facility to anyone and everyone! They truly exceed expectations. :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Draycote_GM, Guest Relations Manager at Draycote Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Wow! What a fantastic review. Thank you very much.
I know that it is a long way to travel, but we sincerely hope that you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Draycote Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Draycote Hotel

Address: London Road, Thurlaston, Derby CV23 9LF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby > Thurlaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Thurlaston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Draycote Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Draycote Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Draycote Hotel Thurlaston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Draycote Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.