We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golf Brake Review” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Draycote Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Draycote Hotel to your Saves list
Draycote Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   London Road, Thurlaston, Derby CV23 9LF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Thurlaston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Plymouth UK
1 review
“Golf Brake Review”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

My wife and I have just completed a two night golf break at this hotel and found that the overall package was good value. The course was reasonable for winter golf aside from the badger problem which we understand is difficult to control, the greens were in very good condition and ran well and the views across the lake were stunning.
In the hotel, the bar and restaurant were to a good standard with the food quality excellent. The room was disapointing with basic faults/problems which could be easily overcome with some basic checks and maintenance before the guest took occupancy. In general all of the staff were friedly and helpfull, we enjoyed our stay, but could have been made better if the condition of the rooms were improved with minimal effort.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Draycote_GM, Guest Relations Manager at Draycote Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for posting a review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were impressed with our staff and the food.
As you may have read in a previous review response; we are attempting to resolve the badger issue and have enlisted the advice and assistance of the 'Badger Trust'.
Hopefully,you will come back and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    69
    34
    28
    22
See reviews for
64
74
4
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I feel the need to review this hotel in terms of accommodation, service and food all of which are a bit mis-matched.
We recently stayed here as part of a wedding group. As a three star hotel we weren’t expecting The Grand, but still, were left a little disappointed. The room was much like a Premier Inn but without the style and looked tired and sad. Although clean it could do with revitalising, especially the bathroom which was rather shabby and outdated. The extractor fan worked intermittently of it its own accord! However the bed was large and comfy.
The food again was poor in quality, a brewers fayre would probably do it better. The wedding breakfast was a let down with undercooked chicken, practically raw vegetables’ (I don’t mind al dente but some slight ‘give’ is desirable) and reheated roast potatoes. It didn’t make for a pleasant experience. Our thoughts were with the bride and groom.
On the other hand the service and the staff throughout were pleasant, attentive and smiling.
One feels if the rooms and food matched the serving staff this place would soar in popularity.
We won’t be returning.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Draycote_GM, Guest Relations Manager at Draycote Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write and post a review.
We are very sorry that we failed to meet your expectations, during your recent visit.
Thank you for gracefully finding kind words for our staff. We hope that eventually you will be able to reconsider your decision, and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

A group of 22 of us have just stayed at Draycote hotel for a society golf day. The hotel food and accommodation was great but most impressive was their hospitality. They have a great group of staff that made us all feel very welcome. I would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Draycote_GM, Guest Relations Manager at Draycote Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for choosing us to host your society golf day. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our food, accommodation and hospitality and sincerely hope that you will choose us again.
Thank you for this review and for rating us with five stars.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Four of us stayed at this hotel on the 8/9th October for a golf and stay break which we booked through a golf website. First of all I will comment on the stay, rooms first class got lost in the king size bed,evening meal and breakfast was first class and service staff very polite,my congratulations to all concerned in the hotel. Secondly i will comment on the golf I am a reasonable player and so is my playing partner but un fortunately due to badger problems the course was not of a very well maintained standard, the bunkers were also lacking in sand it seems that they are using the wrong type of sand,this could be one of the top courses in that area if better maintained.Maybe back again next year when hopefully the golf course has recovered apart from that overall an exellent value for money stay .

Room Tip: If they are all of the same standard as ours any room will be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Draycote_GM, Guest Relations Manager at Draycote Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your visit. Also, thank you for your kind compliments.
As no doubt most people are aware badgers are a protected species in this country. Our concerns were such that we enlisted the help of the Badger Trust and we are now acting upon their advice. The problem should therefore be resolved shortly.
We hope to see you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Went here for a family wedding, staff were polite but not really friendly.The wedding food was amazing all served hot and quick.Breakfast was good could have been hotter, very nice saugages. Rooms clean.Looked like a very good golf coarse but didnt use it.grounds lovely.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Draycote_GM, Guest Relations Manager at Draycote Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
We hope that the wedding that you attended was enjoyable and went smoothly.
We are extremely pleased that the food was 'amazing' and the room met with your approval. However, I would like to apologise if any member of our staff was unfriendly. We certainly do not condone that sort of attitude.
Thank you very much for your review and we hope that you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

20 of us spent a long week end playing golf at the Draycote Hotel and Whitefields Golf complex. For the price the golf course was much better than we expected with very fast greens. The Hotel accomodation was good and the dinner and breakfast excellent and all the staff very friendly. It was certainly a golf touring experience that we will consider repeating for many years to come.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Draycote_GM, Guest Relations Manager at Draycote Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We are extremely happy that you and your party had an enjoyable weekend and especially pleased that you would consider us as a repeat venue.
Thank you for complimenting our staff and the food.
We look forward to any future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I have just returned from a two day golfing break at Draycote Hotel, Bed Breakfast and Evening Meal and two rounds of golf for £59! The room was comfortable and spacious, the golf course was scenic and had some interesting holes, a good test without being to challenging. I have saved the best for last, the food was wonderful and the service excellent. I have been here three times now in the last ten months and have thoroughly enjoyed my stay on each occasion and will certainly be coming back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Draycote_GM, Guest Relations Manager at Draycote Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Thank you very much for your review and for your outstanding loyalty.
We are very pleased that your golfing break was a success and that you found us good value for money.
We are also grateful for your kind compliments and the five star rating.
We truly hope that we will see you here again, soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Draycote Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Draycote Hotel

Address: London Road, Thurlaston, Derby CV23 9LF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby > Thurlaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Thurlaston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Draycote Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Draycote Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Draycote Hotel Thurlaston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Draycote Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.