We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money golf break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Draycote Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Draycote Hotel to your Saves list
Draycote Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   London Road | Near Rugby, Thurlaston CV23 9LF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Thurlaston
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
“Value for money golf break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

20 of us spent a long week end playing golf at the Draycote Hotel and Whitefields Golf complex. For the price the golf course was much better than we expected with very fast greens. The Hotel accomodation was good and the dinner and breakfast excellent and all the staff very friendly. It was certainly a golf touring experience that we will consider repeating for many years to come.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Draycote_GM, Guest Relations Manager at Draycote Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We are extremely happy that you and your party had an enjoyable weekend and especially pleased that you would consider us as a repeat venue.
Thank you for complimenting our staff and the food.
We look forward to any future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    61
    33
    27
    22
See reviews for
54
69
4
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Telford
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I have just returned from a two day golfing break at Draycote Hotel, Bed Breakfast and Evening Meal and two rounds of golf for £59! The room was comfortable and spacious, the golf course was scenic and had some interesting holes, a good test without being to challenging. I have saved the best for last, the food was wonderful and the service excellent. I have been here three times now in the last ten months and have thoroughly enjoyed my stay on each occasion and will certainly be coming back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Draycote_GM, Guest Relations Manager at Draycote Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Thank you very much for your review and for your outstanding loyalty.
We are very pleased that your golfing break was a success and that you found us good value for money.
We are also grateful for your kind compliments and the five star rating.
We truly hope that we will see you here again, soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield,Derbyshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Organised a 2 day "Away Day" for the VETS Section of our golf club originally on April which had to be cancelled due to bad weather and subsequently in August. The help I received from Hotel staff throughout was first class and everyone who attended couldn't speak highly enough of the service they received throughout their stay. As a society location at a most competitive price I believe it would be hard to better!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Draycote_GM, Guest Relations Manager at Draycote Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for the wonderful compliments that you gave us.
We are extremely happy that your event was a success and that you all enjoyed yourselves.
We sincerely hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back before too long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I have just returned home after a couple of days away at this hotel and I must say that it was FANTASTIC!!!! A couple of friends had the misfortune of being involved in an rta on the way there and the general manager was first on the scene,not only did he get the emergency services,he got all their gear stored at the hotel and really looked afer them,as for the rest of us,well what can I say???? We paid £59 each for 2 rounds of golf,3 course evening meal (which was out of this world!!) which you could say was al la carte,bed and a FULL breakfast,everything from cereals to a full english,nothing was to much trouble for the staff,they catered for our every whim!
The golfcourse was great,every hole different,a challenge for every standard of golfer,great views!
So all in all an excellent experience,so if you have a golf society or group of friends I would seriously look at this place.
I am looking forward to going back soon!

Room Tip: Get a ground floor room! Closer to the bar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Draycote_GM, Guest Relations Manager at Draycote Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a flattering review and for all of the wonderful compliments that you paid to the staff, food and facilities.
We all, sincerely, hope that your friends are okay and that the accident was not too traumatic. The General Manager is very glad that he was able to help and is grateful for your appreciation.
Thank you, as well, for the five star rating and for the excellent recommendation.
We look forward to your next visit and the opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

Turned up for a wedding party having pre booked rooms and was told it wasn't available as we 'hadn't requested early check in' (we arrived after 12:30). Finally got a room which they said had been cleaned and checked however I'm not sure what checks or cleaning had been done! Dirty carpet, one of the bedside lights did not work bed was comfy enough though. Bathroom - poor level of cleanliness bordering on unsatisfactory, filthy black mold behind bath taps and on all bath seals especially the floor, shower curtain was white once upon a time now is yellowing and a dirty great black spot half way up it again looked like mold. Pipe work running from toilet and sink not concealed very well, you could fit your hand through where it goes through the boxing in, a dirty smudged hand print running down one of the walls. That's the room done now for the happy staff! Do they ever smile and say please or thank you? The most friendly and polite staff were the young lads behind the bar. Wedding meal was poor, came out cold for many people again staff lacking in basic manners. Breakfast the next morning resembled the plastic food kids play with. I would never recommend as a wedding venue and thankfully won't have the displeasure of going back there!!! Will add a couple of photos soon!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Draycote_GM, Guest Relations Manager at Draycote Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for taking time to write a review. I apologise for your room not being ready for your early arrival. However, the previous guests had just recently checked out and the check in time is 15:00hrs, as you would have been informed when you made your reservation. We do try to accommodate early check ins, but never make any promises.
Whilst there is no excuse for a room being less than clean, pressure placed on the housekeeping staff could cause corners to be cut.
We are sorry that we failed to meet your expectations and if you wish to contact the General Manager regarding this issue, please feel free to do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

Booked a midweek break in July. Room spacious and clean. My husband played golf and was impressed by the course - beautiful scenery and the greens were in great condition. Deal included evening meal which was impressive. Staff could not do enough for you. Nothing like some of the poorer reviews. Good value for money. Highly recommend it.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Draycote_GM, Guest Relations Manager at Draycote Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review. And thank you for the kind compliments, especially regarding our staff and for the five star rating.
We greatly appreciate that you came to find out about us for yourself, having read other reviews. We sincerely hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Stayed for one night - booked a single room & got a twin which was spacious enough. 11 channels on TV, none of which were at all viewable which appears in other reviews here so looks like a systemic problem. Bathroom clean enough but light over mirror didn't work (does the housekeeping checklist cover 'try all lights')?

Breakfast a bit of a shambles - stood near signs which say 'wait here to be seated'. Waited. Waited some more. Asked reception if I could just go straight in, which I did. Two servers appeared shorty afterwards.

Buffet style cooked breakfast. Black pudding you could snap in half. Fried eggs that would compete with those sold in the joke shops. Empty brown sauce bottle (to match the four empty ones near the furthermost small bar).

Cost £50. Worth £25. No one asked if everything was alright at any time. Funny how there's feedback to almost every review here by Guest Relations. Might book again in the next month and see if there's any improvements.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Draycote_GM, Guest Relations Manager at Draycote Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you for posting a review.
I am very sorry that you encountered issues that proved annoying, during your stay. The Managers of the departments concerned, have been made aware of the problems and will investigate.
I am afraid that I do not completely understand your comment regarding my responses to reviews. We do try to post a response to all reviews, out of courtesy, as soon as possible.
We sincerely hope that you will come back and will strive to make the improvements that you seek.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Draycote Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Draycote Hotel

Address: London Road | Near Rugby, Thurlaston CV23 9LF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Thurlaston
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Thurlaston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Draycote Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Draycote Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Draycote Hotel Thurlaston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Draycote Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.