We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the few restaurants to keep coming back to.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chef Patron Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Chef Patron Restaurant
22 Church Street Thurlaston | Leicestershire, Thurlaston LE9 7TA, England
01455 888227
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Chef Patron's mission is to create an exceptional fine dining experience for you by serving classic yet innovative English food with an eclectic mix from around the globe.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One of the few restaurants to keep coming back to.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We regularly go to Chef Patron, whether it be sunday dinner, an early bird dinner or the full monty and have never been let down. Staff are very attentive and welcoming. The lobster terrine is a must.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    11
    3
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“The perfect place for a special occasion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Chef Patron was the venue for our wedding reception and it was superb. Fantastic food, service and atmosphere. Couldn't wish for anywhere better ... Only compliments from our guests. Thank you - Jo and Darren, Mr and Mrs Roberts-Pickering!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We have just had lunch here at the Chef Patron. We were met and greeted by the very lovely and charming Alice. She asked if we would like a table for lunch and if we would like a drink first and offered us the chance to sit in the waiting area, the patio or at the front, we chose the front. Alice kindly wiped the chairs for us first. She explained the specials and took our orders. When the orders were ready we again were offered where we would like to eat, we chose the main restaurant and Alice asked if we would like the a/c turning on, we declined as it was quite pleasant. The dining room is very tastefully finished a perfect ambiance and the background music was unobtrusive and perfect for the setting. Our starters were wonderful - Chicken Liver Pate and Wood Pigeon fabulous portions and very delicious. Alice was not pushy. For our mains we ordered the specials, Sea Bass and Turbot, I asked for skinny fries and got enough to feed a family (they were delicious) my wife asked for new potatoes and got enough for 2, plus we had seasonal vegetables. Everything was perfectly cooked and delicious. For dessert we had Crème Brulee and Chef Patron Bakery, again delicious and wonderful. Alice was at all times the perfect host. After the meal we had the pleasure of meeting one of the co-owners, Julie Walmsley, a very pleasant lady. We told her we had enjoyed our meals immensely and will definitely be back very soon, for lunch again and for an evening meal. She explained a brief history of the restaurant. After we had paid we had the pleasure of meeting the chef, Kevin Doughty, and passed on our thanks and congratulations to him for our exceptional meal. there is no doubt we will be back and it is well worth the cost

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lovely evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

6oth birthday party. We pre-selected the menu from a choice of 3. Service, food and ambience very good. lovely outside area for canapes on a lovely evening. Drinks expensive but I suppose this is where they make their money.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Food at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Perfect Sunday lunch after 3 months in Cyprus - couldn't have eaten anything better plus the excellent staff.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chef Patron Restaurant also viewed

Hinckley, Leicestershire
 
Leicester, Leicestershire
Thurlaston, Warwickshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chef Patron Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.