We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor food and way overpriced” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Tarsus Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tarsus Hotel
Save
You added Tarsus Hotel to your Saves list
Daventry Road, Southam CV47 1NW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Southam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Warwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“poor food and way overpriced”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

I thought I should comment on here as the staff were not interested and seemed to think there was nothing wrong with the quality of food and pricing.
I ordered the chefs special sounded great greek starter collection and main meet collection on a bed of rice.
What you actually get are average starters (no taste) and main meat dishes dismal.
I expected great food with fglavour what we actually got was tough steak and lamb all were just dreadful.
I highly recommend you all avoid this place like the plague. For two dining it came to £66 with two drinks, I can say for this sort of money you can find some really top class establishments ie, taylors, butchers arms, mallory court and there food is to die for.
Overall a complete disgrace and rip off, staff were pleasant but to see a crappy desert trolley said it all with the waiter not knowing what was even on the trolley.
If I was to score out of ten it would be a three and for value 0.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
medexperts, Owner at Tarsus Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Dear Madam,

Thank you for your review. I'm sorry that you did not enjoy your visit to us last year, and that your chefs special was not to your taste. Had you told us at the time, we could have done something to improve your experience.

We only use the highest grade quality of meats and the chef special has over 9 different types of meat, this is reflected in our prices.

Once again, thank you for your feedback, as always we endeavour to improve the service that we offer.

Kind regards,
Sengul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    6
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
4
13
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Stayed here while attending a wedding at Warwick House up the road. Rooms were fine yes a little tired but clean and had everything you wanted. Breakfast was fab all good quality thick bacon, fresh mushrooms and decent sausage with plenty of toast and coffee what more could you want. Would recommend.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
medexperts, Owner at Tarsus Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for your kind review of our hotel and breakfast.

We are currently in the process of updating all of our rooms, and hope to welcome you back for another visit soon.

Kind regards,
Sengul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

Stayed here when attending our office xmas party in their restaurant. Had a great night in the restaurant, loved the food and the entertainment the restaurant put on - belly dancing, plate smashing - all great fun. Hotel in comparison was a little dull, rooms are dated, clean enough and obviously very convenient for restaurant but wouldnt stay here otherwise, unless you get a really cheap rate.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
medexperts, Owner at Tarsus Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for your review of the restaurant and hotel. We are pleased that you had such a great night in the restaurant for your Christmas Party.

We are currently in the process of updating all of our hotel rooms. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards,
Sengul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

This hotel had a lovely garden with chairs and table outside our room. We liked the food and the staff were friendly.Our room was clean and comfortable.
Jane Sutherland

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
medexperts, Owner at Tarsus Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Jane,

Thank you so much for your kind review of our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and got to relax in the surrounding courtyard.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Sengul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

We stayed there for 1 night only thank goodness. The room was tatty and the furniture badly stained. The double bed had sheet, 1 blanket (no spare) and a NYLON bedspread that looked straight out of the 1970's. I preferred the look of the spare pillow in the wardrobe so changed the pillowcase and was pleased I did as the one on the bed was filthy.Also the bathroom grout was black and there was mould round the shower. Breakfast was another ordeal as the promised "fantastic" Full English Breakfast included a uncooked runny egg, tinned mushrooms,a low quality sausage and thin white bread cremated and served up as toast! No one on reception in the morning so couldn't even complain.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
medexperts, Owner at Tarsus Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for your review. We have taken on board your feedback and are putting the final touches on our refurbishment of all hotel rooms.

Kind regards,
Sengul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thetford
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2009

Stayed at the Tarsus for two weeks while on a business trip. Overall I had a very pleasent stay here. The service was flawlless and the food was outstanding. They had a variety of Greek, Turkish and English dishes and served huge portions which were excellent value for money. All of the staff were extrememely friendly and were always glad to help. Stayed in a standard room which was ok, maybe l little overpriced for what I got, but comfortable. No sky or freeview in the rooms, only the basic 5 channels, which was bad. The bed was comfortable and the room was serviced daily. A little trouble with an annoying water feature outside which could be heard clearly from my room, but over all an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
medexperts, Owner at Tarsus Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for your kind review of our hotel. We are pleased that you chose to stay with us for your two week trip and even more pleased that you felt comfortable and were fed well :)

Thank you for drawing our attention to the lack of channels available, we are always keen to improve where possible.

Kind regards,

Sengul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leamignton spa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2008

I booked a night here as we were eating at the butchers arms and I had read good reviews on tripadvisor. I booked the room with 4 poster bed and 'jacuzzi' for an extortionate £85. I also mentioned on the phone that it was my birthday - and as there was noone else staying there that night and I was paying a lot of money for what you get - I really think a little chocolate on my pillow would have been a nice touch (or indeed anything to indicate they were bothered).

I have given the rating 2 *'s as the breakfast was lovely as was the service in the morning.

I cannot say what the food is like in the eveing as we stayed on a Tuesday and you cannot eat in the restaurant on this day - but it may well be very nice.

The room is worth no more that a £60 charge - but it was clean. The jacuzzi is a small bath with jet streams.

  • Liked — breakfast
  • Disliked — the cost and nothing special done even though they knew it was my birthday
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
medexperts, Owner at Tarsus Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Madam,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed a clean room with a lovely breakfast.

Our restaurant has been open Monday - Saturday from 6pm for the last 32 years, and so it is always possible to dine with us on a Tuesday night.

Many thanks for taking the time to review.

Kind regards,

Sengul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tarsus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarsus Hotel

Address: Daventry Road, Southam CV47 1NW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Southam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Southam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Warwickshire countryside, our 130 seater restaurant is the perfect venue for your romantic candlelit dinners, family celebrations and parties, with quality en-suite accommodation. • Delicious a la carte cuisine • 14 quality hotel bedrooms • Selection of 100 fine wines and Champagnes • Famous entertainment evenings • Turkish, Greek, Italian and English dishes • Suitable for all occasions ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tarsus Hotel Southam, Warwickshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tarsus Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.