We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First rate, highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of George Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added George Hotel to your Saves list
George Hotel
3.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   High Street, Shipston on Stour CV36 4AJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“First rate, highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

We stayed two nights in the 'Strawberry' room. I have to say the food was really excellent, the staff were friendly, polite and efficient. I should mention Ollie and Luke who were kind, attentive and polite. OK, I'm an old geezer but good manners are always welcome. I met the owner, he seemed quite normal! The breakfast was excellent but my best recommendation is for the dinner. Do try the 'Blade of beef', I can safely say it's easily the best beef I've ever tasted, barring my wife's of course! Wines are reasonably priced, even a little high if anything so, 'No, George Hotel, a price hike isn't on the cards!' We sat in the lovely comfy library and played Monopoly ( She won ) lunchtime found us in the bar with a fish platter, plenty for two only about £13 plus two glasses of Sauvignon Blanc, great. A short drive to Bourton on the Water, more 'In the water' on the day we went due to rain, to feed the ducks. The Hotel is over 400 years old but it is clean, warm and comfortable. Didn't seem haunted. Bed was comfy, the Strawberry room has a large walk-in shower but no bath. Very nice. Plenty of tea and freebies available. Shipston on Stour is a friendly town. Lots of nice small shops, pubs, grocers, charity shops etc. look in the clock shop, very interesting old clocks and another friendly face. We'll be back!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    157
    81
    43
    29
See reviews for
20
319
1
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

we arrived, red letter booking, and was put in the Popcorn room, which when we walked in absolutely stank. When we mentioned it, was told it was the drains and they would do something. I went back to the room later and it was worse, I went downstairs and found the same girl inly to be told that the hotel was fully booked and they could not do anything for us! My face must have said it all as quickly we had to leave it with her..... suddenly a room was available, the scallops room next door.
Certainly small, I had to climb over the bed to get in to the other side.... our view was of the escape staircase!

anyway, it is a nice hotel but not sure if we would stay there again. The rooms were small

I would however recommend the Tandoori Cottage as a good indian meal, slow but worth the wait!

Room Tip: I have no idea, would have thought you should all get a good room?
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoddesdon, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights with a voucher as a present. The room was called Meringue. Problem was for older people there are small steps leading up to the room and in the room which blend in with the carpet. A health and safety tripping hazard. The TV was good and the bed very comfortable. The furniture was a bit tatty. Big bathroom and bath but no shower except on the taps on the bath. So had to have a bath every morning. The room was cold and we had to ask them to turn on the heating the first night. Breakfasts were good. The bar on Friday night was packed and nowhere to sit. The residents' lounge was also full. However we ate in the restaurant that night. Menu was uninspiring and the food we had was poor. Service was also poor. We had booked and sat down at the empty restaurant table where we had breakfast but were redirected to a smaller table. Our original table was given to a man eating on his own! The toast fingers with our starters did not appear and we had to ask for them. So they arrived when we had finished the starters. Both my husband and I had upset stomachs after the meal that evening. We ate the first night at the Horseshoe pub behind The George car park. The meal was excellent and a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Stayed for one night, chosen from a 'red letter' experience. The room was very clean, comfortable bed. There is a very good restaurant and choice of menu. The place seems to be very popular with the locals. Would recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

This little hotel was just right for a comfortable nights sleep before a long day's racing at Cheltenham . Staff energetic and cheerful. Room quirky and fun. Bed great.... Dinner, we chose fish and chips & they were really well cooked. Breakfast full English , once again well cooked. The chef certainly knows his/her food and how to cook. We will book again when back in that area of the country or the races as the price was excellent!

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We stayed in the chilli room. It was a good size with a nice bathroom. It did not have a bath just shower only. The rooms cleanliness was not great but ok. The bed was quite comfortable but the noise outside woke us up at 3.45 and continued noise from outside, guests upstairs and the stairs kept us awake. The staff were very nice and helpful and the breakfast was very nice with good service. We would go back to this hotel again but would request a room on the top floor. Very reasonable price. Central location in Shipston on Stour.

Room Tip: If I returned I would ask for a top floor room overlooking the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

I can't say anything but good things about the hotel. Staff were so friendly, the rooms and food were superb. We stayed in the meringue room which had the most gorgeous deep bath. Very comfortable king size beds. We will definitely return

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Hotel

Address: High Street, Shipston on Stour CV36 4AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Shipston on Stour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Shipston on Stour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Shipston On Stour, Warwickshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage George Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.