We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of George Hotel

Save Saved
You added George Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
George Hotel
3.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   High Street, Shipston on Stour CV36 4AJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
tamworth
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Spent the weekend at the hotel - stayed in the green olive room, upgraded to a mid size.
Staff are wonderful, friendly, welcoming and very professional - they seemed to be short staffed but did not allow that to affect their attitude to customers. The staff make this hotel a pleasure and a relaxing to stay there.
The hotel is very quirky and original which makes it special but their were a few issues with our room which should be dealt with via maintenance, radiator in corridor broken and so very cold outside room, tripped on carper between bathroom and bedroom as it was not secure, also bed needs replacing as it has seen better days, dressing table paint flaking. Vent outside which makes a noise all night
Food excellent and good value, especially Sunday night when we eat dinner in front of a open fire - heaven.

Room Tip: Go for a bigger room Green Olive has some sort of vent outside which makes a noise all night
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    101
    137
    66
    39
    23
See reviews for
15
270
1
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I just arrived home from 2 nights stay at this Hotel. I stayed in Scalop - rooms have names :-). Rooms are well appointed (Tea & Coffee making facitities inc) & fit well with this beautiful old historic building. A good few nights sleep were had.

The bar & restaurant were great, food was delicious & so was breakfast. The open fires were inviting, especially after a fantastic day out locally, - clay shooting.

I stayed with a large party & we all had a great time & enjoyed this Hotels facilities.

Room Tip: You can choose rooms with showers or baths
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading.Berks
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Perfect for a winter weekend. Warm tones, log fires. Contemporary. Fabulous food and wines/beer selection. Superb cooked breakfast, huge, hot. Decor is fab. Staff are relaxed, friendly and involved. Reasonable £10 dinners. Good music on the spotify. Place has a taste & feel - all of its own. We had Cherry Room

Niggles:the wifi only reaches reception. Forget about a mobile signal in this town!

Fab English get away. Snuggle down in the library with the papers and leave your iPhone in the room :-)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Despite being concerned about some of the earlier reviews we spent 2 nights at the George and were pleased. The room was small but very clean and the staff very helpful. We ate at the hotel both evenings and the food was good quality and well presented. We would recommend the Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights, using a "buy a gift" voucher, and stayed in the oyster room. The room was nice, and decorated in an unusual manner, but was quite small. Also, there was an issue with the boiler, so the heating and hot water was rather temperamental (we had to ask on a few occasions for the boiler to be switched back on in order to get a shower), but we were advised that the boiler would be fixed the following day, so hopefully that is not an ongoing issue. The bathroom decor was a bit tired, as the ceiling paint is flaking quite badly - the fan does not seem to be adequate to ventilate the room properly after a shower. The fire alarm is also quite sensitive so ensure you close the bathroom door when you're in the shower ! The staff were quite friendly. The breakfast was good. I wish I had requested a bigger room, but overall, our stay was fine.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slough, uk
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Fantastic hotel , very old and charming building with welcoming log fire and with great food and friendly atmosphere!
Stayed one night and even changing our room for one with a bath was no problem, as our original room only had a shower.
Staff were superb, very helpful and attentive, food was great with good beers on tap, room very comfortable - would recommend this hotel !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Wonderful hotel with several 'themed' rooms to stop in, we were in Artichoke and what a lovely big room it was with a mega comfy bed and a nice oldie worldy bathroom complete with sloping floor which really added to the experience for us ( although some people will probably complain about this??? ) The bar area was large with plenty of seating and the restaurant area was adjacent to this, the meal we had in the hotel was top notch, all the staff at the hotel were extremely helpful and friendly. It's a great base camp for seeing the beautiful Cotswolds and I wouldn't hesitate to come back to this great hotel ! :-)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Hotel

Address: High Street, Shipston on Stour CV36 4AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Shipston on Stour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Shipston on Stour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — George Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Shipston On Stour, Warwickshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage George Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.