We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Got to eat here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Horse Inn

Black Horse Inn
Station Road, Shipston on Stour CV36 4BT, England
01608238489
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Cardiff
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Got to eat here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Went here 15 June and what a fabulous restaurant! The pub was cosy and the staff in the pub and restaurant side were faultless. The service was excellent and the presentation amazing. If I could give 13 out of 10 then that would be appropriate! From starters to mains, to dessert all were beautifully presented and delicious. The staff were so helpful and attentive, you didn't have to ask for a drink as they had noticed and were asking you. Would highly recommend and will definitely going back. Pity all restaurants didn't treat their customers the same. Not expensive either.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    18
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Well worth the visit.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Lovely cosy atmosphere in this olde worlde pub. Big welcoming fire in the bar & the small restaurant is furnished in pine & is quite intimate. Kaen the chef & his family team do a very good job in making you feel welcome & serve tasty Thai food.
My wife is Thai & she too enjoys it. As it's quite small, booking a table might be a good idea. We've not visited during the weekend, but have always been ok during the week.
Take away also available.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford Upon Avon
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

I relied purely on trip advisor for coming here. On entering the pub I was a little apprehensive as it was very quiet but then it was a Wednesday night. No need to be concerned as the barman was very friendly and then once sat in the restaurant the service took over. Food was the best Thai I've ever eaten in the UK, cooked fresh with great ingredients. This place knocks the socks off all other Thai restaurants in a very large radius. This is one gem I was tempted not to put on Tripadvisor as wanted to keep it to myself but that wouldn't be fair!! Enjoy!!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Thai on a Thursday night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Interesting! We went as a group on Thursday night looking for a different place to eat and came here. We were expecting English pub food but there was only Thai food on, so a little unexpected. It was very good and is authentic so if you like Thai then there is no need to head to the more expensive places in Banbury or Stratford just pop in here.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Thai food in Warwickshire”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

we had a beautiful, delicious, Thai feast, and the service made us feel very welcome. Very lucky to have this Asian gem on our door step

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Horse Inn also viewed

Shipston on Stour, Warwickshire
Shipston on Stour, Warwickshire
 
Shipston on Stour, Warwickshire
Shipston on Stour, Warwickshire
 

Been to Black Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Horse Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.