We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best, wish more would visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ferguson's

Ferguson's
7A Eastfield Place, Rugby CV21 3AT, England
+44 1788 550222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 139 Restaurants in Rugby
Price range: $37 - $51
Cuisines: European, British, Contemporary, Brasserie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Ferguson's is a contemporary warehouse conversion, set in the heart of Rugby's town centre. The brasserie style restaurant offers modern British and European cuisine with an emphasis on quality seasonal produce. The beautiful walled garden offers a retreat from the busy town centre during the summer months.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One of the best, wish more would visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2015

Fergusons is a gem in the back alley's of rugby, offering top quality food cooked up my a hard working team of chefs view able through there open front kitchen.

Fergusons is arguably one of the few places in rugby where soft shelled crab and scallop and prawn ravioli are found on the menu and that alone makes it somewhere that is definitely worth the visit. The ever changing menu entwined with staff who seem to care about the food they are serving leads to one of my favourite meals out in Rugby.

The main issue with fergusons and albeit the only regular one is that not enough people know and appreciate it. it is regularly a quiet restaurant and it shouldn't be, people should be willing to save a few pounds to enjoy something like this. Fresh, clean, well executed food.

If you are thinking of going, as you probably are if you have taken the time to read this review. Try it, savour it and you will probably want to go back.

  • Visited February 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    22
    9
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

Sat upstairs, the staff were friendly and very efficient. The food was excellent quality and innovative ingredient's. We honestly cannot fault it and would definitely be back again. The chef even asked for feedback on the way out!

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Gets better every visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015 via mobile

we've eaten here 3 times now. The first was a themed Italian night & to be honest we weren't impressed. There were 6 of us & all of us felt there was a lot to improve on. We went upstairs to the restrooms & there were tables with irons & table cloths on. Really should have been out of view as customers have to go upstairs.
2nd time was a group of 4 of us and we decided to give it another chance on the Al la carte menu. So much better. One of the party actually chose a veggie starter & main as she liked the sound of the dishes & our waitress asked if she was a vegetarian as bacon is served with the peas so she can arrange a separate portion. She isn't a vegetarian but well noted & big points for checking. Much better but still a couple of minor issues with us ordering a bottle of wine & when we asked for another bottle we were told we'd had the last one. Had we of know this at the start we would have chosen another bottle as the 4 of us will always go through more than one bottle but would have preferred to have the same wine throughout the night.
3rd visit was just my husband and me & it was so much better again. I think the restaurant is finding its feet well now & getting stronger each time. Staff all seem to be more comfortable now & it seems to flow better. Also the head chef spoke to us on our way out asking how everything was which I thought was a really nice touch.
Personally I think upstairs should be converted to a cocktail/wine bar as it hardly ever seems to be used and I would love to have the option to have dinner downstairs then go upstairs to carry on with a few more drinks in a classy environment rather than go into the pubs in town.
We will definitely return

Visited February 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Sunday dinner for a few”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

Sunday lunch for 29! Had a lovely lunch for my daughter and son in law, food
great place also great , nothing too much trouble for Ellie and the staff ! Starters all out together then mains ! Well done to the chef wonderful food x thankyou x

  • Visited March 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Gave it a second chance”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

we gave this a second chance after the first was very poor service was slow and at times I had to get out of my chair to get drinks. We decided to give it another go service was slightly better but food was a disappointment fish under cooked and not much choice for veggies which my wife is

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ferguson's also viewed

 
Rugby, Warwickshire
Rugby, Warwickshire
 

Been to Ferguson's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ferguson's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.