We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stop over on way north from London” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brownsover Hall Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Brownsover Hall Hotel to your Saves list
Brownsover Hall Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Old Brownsover, Rugby CV21 1HU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Rugby
Ponteland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Good stop over on way north from London”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We recently drove to London (from Northumberland) to drop our daughter off at her flat and didn't fancy driving all the way back on the same day so looked for somewhere about two hours out of London to stay over. This hotel looked good, situated as it is in its own grounds with extensive private parking and with its own restaurant and bar. The hotel seems primarily a wedding venue and was quiet when we arrived (Sunday) but that suited us. We ate dinner in the hotel and the food was excellent but a little pricey. The rooms were spotless, well furnished and the beds very comfortable.

If you are looking to venture out for food and or entertainment there is lots of the usual national restaurant chains within a couple of miles and also a Tesco for shopping and fuel.

We will definitely stay here again next time we drive down to London.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor (room 26 I think) overlooking the car park and it was quiet and spaciou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmbrownsover, General Manager at Brownsover Hall Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am delighted you recognised the advantages of our location in the heart of the country. We look forward to welcoming you back on future occasions and breaking the long drive from Northumberland to London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    112
    54
    28
    29
See reviews for
60
140
8
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for the British Grand Prix , great location
Receptionist a bit offish. Didn't eat as it seemed a bit soulless.
Great room fantastic location
Bit pricey for the overall experience. But would stay again in a slightly cheaper room
Would recommend

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmbrownsover, General Manager at Brownsover Hall Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for your review and delighted you enjoyed the experience. My apologies if the receptionist came over rather reserved. I am sure it was not her intention. I note your comment on prices and advise of a number of offers and promotions we offer year round. Please consult our website www.brownsoverhall.co.uk or like us on facebook to keep updated.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

This hotel was selected by the group organiser and it is close to Rugby, easy to find and very near to a couple of retail parks should you feel the need to go shopping.

The grounds are spectacular with beautiful lawns and trees and I walked my dog around them and into the Swift Valley Country Park through a gate over a bridge. It is the only location in the area where dogs may be let off lead.

(Please note dogs are not permitted inside the hotel itself).

The decor is very dramatic as befits a gothic establishment and one can see why it is a popular venue for weddings.

My room was at the end of a corridoor behind a door which separated rooms 1 and 2 from the rest of the corridoor.

It was spacious, well appointed with a very comfortable bed, free wifi, Freeview TV and a hospitatlity tray.

The bathroom was also sympathetically decorated the only disappointment was that it took an age for hot water to finally make an appearance and the very low pressure of the shower; toiletries were supplied.

It is the first time I have had apple in a Pimms (it is very sad that one of the quintessential British summer drinks is so poorly prepared in so many hostelries).

We had a meal in a private dining room and I could not fault the appearance, taste or service.

Breakfast was rather more pedestrian and the waiter somewhat less than smart. A reasonable selection of cereals and pastries was available, but the hot water, was not, and the poached eggs overdone.

All in all this is not bad value for money and a very picturesque location.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmbrownsover, General Manager at Brownsover Hall Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you very much for your review and I am delighted you enjoyed your short stay with us. We take onboard your comments about breakfast and will look into introducing improvements.
Welcome back on future visits to the Rugby area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I only stayed one night but the room was good and the breakfast excellent. Unfortunately the WIFI access in my room and in the public areas of the hotel was such that I was unable to access the internet which was unfortunate due to time difference dealing with some family issues back in Australia. In this day and age it is a given that WIFI access is as expected as toilet paper. I am sure the problem can be fixed.

Room Tip: Check WIFI is working OK in all rooms before booking if this is a requirement when travelling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmbrownsover, General Manager at Brownsover Hall Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for your review of Brownsover Hall. I am sorry the Wifi didn't work to your satisfaction.
We constantly monitor the system in order to provide the best possible coverage, although variations are always subject to a number of unknowns. For information in the future, we do provide hard wired options in the bedrooms in the main house as well as the conference rooms in the event of wifi down time. I hope this did not cause undue inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We were married here in July, the venue is old and beautiful and the grounds stunning! The staff went out of their way to accommodate our every need, really couldn't fault them. The food was excellent, and overall great value for money. We had an amazing day, Hayley & Karen were brilliant and kept everything on the day and evening running smoothly.

We can't thank you enough for helping to make our day so magical!! ❤
Mr & Mrs Scott

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmbrownsover, General Manager at Brownsover Hall Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you very much for the review of your wedding at Brownsover Hall and am delighted it provided the platform for a very happy life together. Thank you for mentioning Hayley and Karen for special praise. I am pleased they looked after you so well. All the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This is the most stunning beautiful venue to marry the man of your dreams! From the moment we met Lesley (wedding co-coordinator) who is professional, efficient, knowledgeable yet so kind and caring we knew we would have the most perfect day. Nothing was too much trouble which made the planning enjoyable,a breeze and effortless. Paul and I married in the Library on May 30th, we had a small intimate reception followed by a "party" in the Sir Gilbert Scott room. Alice, looked after us on the day, (and what a fantastic job she did) but I would like to say that all the staff were helpful and they always had a smile on their face. The menu that we had chosen for our wedding breakfast was delightful (we had chosen following a menu tasting evening) and the evening buffet was well received, with many of our guests commenting how lovely it was. Claire (Black Orchid) created stunning bouquets and floral displays, Wendy and Roy ( Millhouse Events) made the reception room look magical, what a fantastic team!

The brochure promises to offer "something unique and special with a beautiful elegant setting
and that extra personal touch" we can honestly say that their promise was kept! Thank you for a truly memorable amazing day. Paul and Debbie Woods

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmbrownsover, General Manager at Brownsover Hall Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for your kind words and I am delighted Brownsover Hall and staff exceeded your expectations on this your very special day. It is reassuring to hear praise about our preferred suppliers and this reconfirms our confidence in them. All the very best to you in married life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Haddon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

iv already passed my thanks and comments to the general manager but thought id relay my message on here! We attended a wedding of my friends here and I cannot fault this
wonderful, beautiful place!

I too work in the hospitality trade so I know how hard it can get sometimes
but I wanted to thank your staff for their professionalism over the course
of the day. Every staff member that was on shift was very friendly,
attentive and generally looked like they enjoyed being there! Which is a
very rare occasion at some hotels let me tell you!

There are two staff members which I cannot thank and speak highly enough of;
Alice (Master of Ceremonies) and James (tall, waiter). Nothing seemed to be
an issue for them both and they entertained my children when they were quite
frankly driving me up the wall! They too want to come back to the hotel to
have another colouring competition with Alice! Another issue that struck me
was when the staff were handing out our desserts, a lot of our party openly
admitted that the dessert was not for them and without any hesitation Alice
asked if they could offer us an alternative dessert (just ice-cream but it
was the initial thought that struck me and something I will take back with
me to my work place).

Congratulations to the chef on the wedding breakfast, the food for me was
divine and I could not fault it. The evening buffet food was also lovely,
hot and replenished accordingly. The grounds are lovely and we were
fortunate enough to have the weather to be able to have a walk around and
everyone sit outside where we enjoyed our garden activities.

Overall you have a beautiful place for special occasions like this and thank
you once again to the management and staff for making it so wonderful for my friends.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmbrownsover, General Manager at Brownsover Hall Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you again for your kind words, which is very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brownsover Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brownsover Hall Hotel

Address: Old Brownsover, Rugby CV21 1HU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Rugby
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Rugby
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rugby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Brownsover Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winter at Brownsover Hall. Picture is the main building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Brownsover Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brownsover Hall Rugby

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brownsover Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.