We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“double 80th birthday celebration” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brownsover Hall Hotel

Save Saved
You added Brownsover Hall Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Brownsover Hall Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Old Brownsover, Rugby CV21 1HU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 hotels in Rugby
lancashire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“double 80th birthday celebration”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Checked this hotel out in summer 2013 to see if it was suitable for a double 80th birthday celebration...at £129 per room for two for dinner bed and breakfast,prosecco and chocolates in your room we were slightly apprehensive...how wrong were we...stunning!!hotel,grounds,rooms,staff and evening dinner were all truly brilliant!!...so we booked for a party of 25 on 30th november 2013.. the same deal...brilliant from start to finish..EVERY member of our party said how much they had enjoyed the experience and cant wait to return!! so to all members of staff..THANK YOU for making our party weekend one never to forget...we wish you seasonal greetings and all the best for the new year..kind regards..Simon and tracy reid.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmbrownsover, General Manager at Brownsover Hall Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review and we all delighted you had such a fabulous time on your special day. We look forward to welcoming you back on future occasions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    120
    87
    36
    18
    17
See reviews for
49
111
7
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed overnight when on business at Magna Park. My room wasn't cheap (only available on our booking system) but was very quaint in the old stables with a lounge downstairs and mezzanine floor for bedroom upstairs along with good size bathroom. Reception staff friendly, bar staff less so. Credit card given on check in but not working in the bar so had to pay cash despite my disagreement. Evening meal good but quite pricy. Breakfast ok - strong taste of vinegar in the eggs. Positive was room 48 but not the best location for a romantic stay!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmbrownsover, General Manager at Brownsover Hall Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
thank you for your comments and I am delighted we were a suitable venue for your business requirements on this occasion. Good hospitality has its price and we try to offer good value accommodation, food and drink at all times. Welcome back when you have business in the Rugby area in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coventry
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

I recently stayed and attended a wedding here and it was the most perfect day!

From start to finish you couldn't fault it! The foods was delicious, the bar was always staffed!

It's a beautiful building in beautiful settings! The rooms are large and have a very different feel tho the popular hotel chains!

I couldn't recommend it enough!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmbrownsover, General Manager at Brownsover Hall Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
thank you so much for your kind review and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
welcome back in the future for business or pleasure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We booked Sunday lunch after a poignant church visit to remember the fallen during the war and was expecting a lovely Sunday lunch, considering the price!
On arrival staff were putting up Christmas Decs (on a Sunday lunch time, really. Couldn't this have been done on a Monday morning?). We felt in the way.
Starter - soup was tepid but passable, main meal was cold. No waitresses in the dining area so had to take plate to find staff ... huddled around the bar area, giggling! Took meal away and we were still waiting for sauces. My partner had almost finished hers when the sauce arrived. Just not good enough! Crumbs on the table not cleared away, the little things matter. Massive apologies from the Duty Manager but the damage had been done, my mum who has Parkinsons, was very upset at this stage!
One meal refunded but not the point, the day was spoilt, mum was very upset and we were made to feel as though we were an inconvenience! We will not be returning!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmbrownsover, General Manager at Brownsover Hall Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
thank you very much for your comments and apologies that the staff was less attentive than normal, on this occasion. In all fairness, work on Christmas decorations was not done in the WineGlass restaurant where you were eating lunch. It may seem strange from your perspective, but the timing was optimal as far as operational issues, staffing, and to minimise the effect on our guests. They were erected so early to please wedding guests the following weekend. We try to be attentive and senstive to your wishes and I believe the Duty Manager addressed your concerns and those of your family on the day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Our stay at Brownsover Hall was meant to be a treat at the beginning of a long awaited holiday back home in the UK. We were aware that this was a wedding venue but thought a Sunday night booking would be safe and we'd booked a meal in the restaurant. On arrival we found the Reception area untidy with brochures strewn over the floor.... Unfortunately there were two other functions on that evening - so we had our meal in the back up venue ... a sad shabby room with frayed hotel catering style seating... chair covers could have helped improve this.... Food had fallen off a plate onto the floor (a scallop)and we watched the waiter and waitress walk around it at least ten times and eventually had to ask them to clear the mess up. The food was ok but my husband had to use the facilities during the meal... he didn't return and his plate was cleared away... The handle had fallen off the inside of the toilet door and he'd had to wait until someone else came in. That evening a buffet was laid out in the communal areas of the hotel - a bit strange for normal guests.
Our room was in the old stables, large, clean and comfortable. Until we were woken by guests setting off the fire alarm by smoking in their room... Followed by a long dispute with management in the courtyard below. The next morning we were relieved to leave... but did have a very nice breakfast. I'd only recommend staying in this Hotel if you are at a function or if there are not other functions booked. The building is beautiful and grounds are lovely - but it was a memorable stay for all the wrong reasons.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmbrownsover, General Manager at Brownsover Hall Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for your review following a stay at Brownsover Hall. I am very sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay and that your expectations were not met on this occasion. We are a popular wedding and function venue and Saturday is probably the most requested day of the week. Many people like the buzz of a busy hotel: I understand this was not for you on this occasion. We do advise our guests as far as it is possible of the likelihood of weddings and functions taking place. Also another reason to accommodate you in the Stables block away from the busle of the main house. Unfortunately there are irresponsible people who smoke in their bedrooms against all warnings not to do so. The Fire alarm is there for your safety and protection, however I regret the inconvenience caused to you. We do offer special rates during the week and maybe something to consider the next time you visit the UK.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Decided to go to to the advertised firework 17:00 till 21:00 show, paid £10 per person entrance!!!! expecting stalls as advertised,none, bonfire was lit at 17:15 done by 17:45. Spent 25 minutes waiting to be served in the bar by single stressed barman while outside were staff selling mulled wine to no customers. Fireworks done by 17:45, good display but very short. A lot of very very unhappy people left at 18:00. Wonderful venue. Will not be going again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmbrownsover, General Manager at Brownsover Hall Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I respect your point of view and we will review certain operational issues if we ever are going to repeat the event next year.

This was the third year in succession we hosted the event and judging by the attendance, this year, was by far the most successful with over 300 people attending. I will point out it is a charity event and by its very nature, that means several people giving up their free time and voluntarily assisting in the organisation. We raised over £1,000 for the Air Ambulance. In addition the fireworks themselves are extremely expensive.

I agree that we were somewhat overwhelmed with numbers, as only 100 tickets were sold in advance with the vast majority sold on the day.

We invited a number of contractors to the event, for reasons unknown they didn't show, which meant there was a shortage of stalls for donuts, toffee apples etc. This is regrettable and I am very sorry for this.

I accept that you cannot please all people all of the time, however I do think the vast majority of people attending, enjoyed the event. I am sorry you didn't, however trust you accept the main purpose of the event was charitable so consequently the need to compromise to reduce unnecessary expenditure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Set in lovely grounds our room was in the main building which we found clean and very comfortable the house was steeped in character and features we had a lovely evening meal & breakfast in the drawing room, service was very good and lovely presented food on Saturday night.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmbrownsover, General Manager at Brownsover Hall Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for your kind and generous comments. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Brownsover Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brownsover Hall Hotel

Address: Old Brownsover, Rugby CV21 1HU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Rugby
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rugby
#2 Family Hotel in Rugby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Brownsover Hall Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winter at Brownsover Hall. Picture is the main building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Brownsover Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brownsover Hall Rugby

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brownsover Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.