We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable but Tired” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Brownsover Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Brownsover Hall Hotel to your Saves list
Brownsover Hall Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Old Brownsover, Rugby CV21 1HU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Rugby
Worthing, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Comfortable but Tired”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The hotel is looking very tired and in need of a lick of paint and general tidy. It could be such a lovely place to stay. The room we had in the stable block was comfortable, clean, spacious and quiet. On arrival in need of a cup of tea we found there were only two tea bags but after a request with reception four more were brought along with some fresh milk. The next day only two tea bags again! The shower was excellent, breakfast a little disappointing, hardly any fruit and rubber toast.
We chose this hotel because we prefer not to stay in Premier/Travel lodge type of place and when visiting the family in the area again would stay there hoping they have had a bit of decoration done.

Room Tip: Stable block rooms are probably quieter when weddings are taking place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmbrownsover, General Manager at Brownsover Hall Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank for your frank comments.The hotel is over one hundred and fifty years old; the basic fabric of the building is very sound and we have a rolling programme of maintenance throughout the year. Some of the public areas are due shortly for refurbishment as well as some of the rooms, and I anticipate this work will be carried out in the nearest future. You might try some of the rooms in the main house, if you prefer a more comtemporary feel.
Welcome back the next time you are visiting the Rugby area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    101
    46
    27
    27
See reviews for
58
130
8
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Warwick
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My wife and i stayed here for a wedding and decided to stay two nights and make a week-end of it as they had a special offer on. I was not disappointed. The hotel is old and steeped in history and situated beautiful well maintained grounds. On our arrival at reception we were greeted by the lovely Laura the receptionist who happily checked us in and gave us a brief history lesson of the Hall.All the staff from Manager down to the young room cleaners were friendly and helpful, not in a patronizing way but as though they actually enjoyed their job. Our room was in the Coach House just off from the main building itself. The room is spacious and airy and spotlessly clean especially in the bathroom/toilet area, the bed was big and comfortable. Nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast is fantastic, the choice wide and varied. I went for the full English buffet and the bacon and sausage was so tasty obviously not your supermarket rubbish but i would say locally sourced like the tomatoes and mushrooms. Did not hear a bad word from any of our friends and relatives who attended the wedding. I do not normally complete reviews, but i thought i had to share this hotel with everybody because if you are in the area, this is the place to stay.........I have tried very hard to find something negative with hotel to try and add a bit of balance to the review and it would be this, beer,wines and spirits come with a hefty price tag especially as the beer and larger did not have much choice. Mind you i image a lot of hotels are the same in this area. So to sum up, a fantastic hotel with wonderful staff but a nice choice of real ales would certainly be welcomed and i think add value as there a lot of real ale geeks out there who like nothing better than going around the country trying local beers.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmbrownsover, General Manager at Brownsover Hall Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank for your wonderful and thoughtful comments and most of all we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for mentioning Laura and I am glad she looked after you so well.
We have a policy to reward members of staff mentioned by name on tripadvisor and I will certainly put her name forward. Welcome back when you are in the Rugby area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Just arrived home after a very enjoyable two night DB&B stay at Brownsover Hall. Accommodation in converted stable block v.good ,food excellent , lovely grounds to either sit or walk to enjoy a manor house experience, most of all the staff were welcoming ,polite and very professional.Truly a credit to Brownsover Hall.
Would stay again when visiting area .

Room Tip: Room 42 is a winner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmbrownsover, General Manager at Brownsover Hall Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you very much for leaving your comments and I am delighted you enjoyed your short stay with us. I am glad you liked room 42 in the Stables and we will try to make it available for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I stayed here on business a few weeks ago and had a very good experience. The staff was friendly and helpful and the room was clean. The breakfast area had a good atmosphere and the cheeses were good (at least by American standards). The grounds of the the Brownsover are beautiful and well kept. I recommend this hotel for those doing business in Rugby as it is easy to walk to town in less than thirty minutes.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmbrownsover, General Manager at Brownsover Hall Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
thank you for leaving your comments. As a business styled hotel we value the feedback of regular business travellers, welcome back each time you have business in Rugby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 3 days during my business meeting in Rugby. I stayed in the converted Stable rooms which are spacious. Service was good and buffet breakfast had good variety. One of my colleagues who has suggested us the hotel got his booking cancelled even though he has confirmed the booking. He reached the Hotel at around 6 in the evening and was told that his room had been given to someone else. These despite the fact that it was a corporate booking and was confirmed 1 day before. He then had to stay in some other hotel for 1 night which was not good. Other than this we all had a nice stay in the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmbrownsover, General Manager at Brownsover Hall Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I am sorry to hear we had to book out one of your colleagues. I do not know the exact circumstances, however would like to say, we try to strike a balance between maximum reservation flexibility for our customers and avoid having empty rooms.This is particulary important for corporate customers where circumstances change, for whom we accept cancellations up until 14.00 on the day of arrival. On the other hand our room stock is a perissable commodity and empty rooms on one day cannot be resold on another. Sometime we get it wrong unfortunately and in these cases we do our best to make sure customers are treated with respect and consideration for the inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Good location and well signposted, a wedding location so can be less tranquil on such occasions. We stayed in an "executive room" it needed some TLC and wifi was only obtainable if one held the device up to the window, Ok for the price we paid but will probably not return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmbrownsover, General Manager at Brownsover Hall Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for your comments on our Stable rooms. These rooms have stood the test of time and are very popular for a number of our guests. They are however, our priority for refurbishment and
should be completed in the near future. I read your comments on our free WiFi.We do monitor reception in areas of the hotel on a continual basis. As you probably know the wifi signals are subject to variation and in older buildings with thick walls, black spots occur. We attempt to iron out any problems and the system is monitored remotely by our provider to ensure a stable service. Variations also occur with customers' own devices, which can have insufficent upload speeds to ensure an adequent connection. I am sorry and you hope you were not unduly inconvenienced on this occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed on a two night package including bed, breakfast, 3 course dinner on one night and afternoon tea with bubbly. This was excellent value. Our room was a cottage in the stable block complete with downstairs sitting room and was delightful. The dinner was excellent - really well prepared food and a very varied menu, with an excellent wine list. Afternoon tea was massive with lashings of cream and strawberries. One very small point - I would have preferred home baked scones and more imaginative bread for the sandwiches. But the real joy of this place is the building itself. A piece of Gothic madness like a small St Pancras station. Lovely to stay in and surrounded by beautiful and relaxing grounds. We'd certainly go back.

Room Tip: Rooms in the stable block excellent, on two floors and really interesting. One is a complete cottage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmbrownsover, General Manager at Brownsover Hall Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
The architect of the building is Sir Gilbert Scott, who is also responsible for the Midland Hotel at St Pancras Station and also the Foreign Office in London, so your comparison is perfect!
Thank for your comments on the scones, which incidently are made at the hotel and choice of bread which we will review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Brownsover Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brownsover Hall Hotel

Address: Old Brownsover, Rugby CV21 1HU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Rugby
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rugby
#2 Family Hotel in Rugby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Brownsover Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winter at Brownsover Hall. Picture is the main building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Brownsover Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brownsover Hall Rugby

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brownsover Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.