We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Bash” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Vin Cinq

Cafe Vin Cinq
25 High Street | Opposite Historic Rugby School, Rugby CV21 3BW, England
+44 1788 541304
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 139 Restaurants in Rugby
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $53
Cuisines: French, Coffee Shop, Sandwiches, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Multi-award winning, independent, charming and atmospheric French style restaurant, specialising in freshly prepared, (organic where possible) dishes, using locally supplied, and seasonal ingredients. By day serving beautiful breakfasts and dreamy lunches, often French themed, but with plenty of choice to suit all tastes. Switching smoothly from a relaxed daytime venue, to a swanky restaurant and glamorous cocktail bar in the evening. Know widely, and awarded for, its exceptional hospitality and passionate, articulate and vivacious staff - Cafe Vin Cinq provides an outstanding dining experience, where the customers' needs are anticipated and we hope, exceeded.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Birthday Bash”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

What a lovely little cafe, beautiful little restaurant, very friendly staff all very young and happy, food was lovely price just about right, lady in charge came up and made sure everything was ok, and to top it of the staff brought up the cake and sang happy birthday to our birthday girl, very impressed will deffinately go again

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    58
    18
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lutterworth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Lovely Spot for a Coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stopped for breakfast with daughter and whilst they were a bit slow with the service we had a lovely Coffee and she enjoyed her freshly baked croissant! Not too pricey either.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Sophisticated eatery in Rugby!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

A great night out in really lovely surroundings with a great menu ( really good portions), excellent service & friendly staff - would definitely return!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Pricey, awkward and average”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Chose to go here for my birthday and hast tries I before.
The bar staff in the cocktail bar on the top floor were lovely and were very accommodating and polite.
When we went downstairs we had less great a service however. We weren't advised of changes to the menu, our table wasnt laid out to make it easier for waitressing staff so they were passing our food across the table, we had dirty glasses that we sent back too. The service was very slow and there was so many staff members we didn't have a repor with any of them. We asked for water at the start of our starters and didn't get it until before our mains came!! Apparently they had no ice but no one decided to come and tell us this. Eventually we got a bottle of Luke warn water.
The menu choices sounded lovely. Different dishes to the average menu and some traditional home comforts. Portions were huge. I would have preferred less food on my plate and the price to be reduced as it was very expensive at £18 fr a main!
Not sure if I would return in a hurry!

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Excellent - loved the food and the cocktails!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Great evening here with friends - started in the cocktail bar on the top floor - recommend you try this. My Mojito was superb. The food and service was outstanding - really glad we tried it for an evening out rather than just a lunch time bistro.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Vin Cinq also viewed

 
Rugby, Warwickshire
Rugby, Warwickshire
 

Been to Cafe Vin Cinq? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Vin Cinq, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.