We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hide and seek” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Longshoot Hotel

Longshoot Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Longshoot Hotel to your Saves list
Longshoot Hotel
Watling Street, Nuneaton CV11 6JH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Nuneaton
Banjul, Gambia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“hide and seek”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

22/09/2012
cant find anyone to serve you in this hotel?
waited at the bar for 10 minutes to order carvery and drinks, ask a member os staff to help us, she called to someone who did not serve, so she came over to help us, the same happend at the carvery, this was at 5pm in the afternoon. the kitchen staff can be found in the back carpark smoke in case you have the same trouble. the rooms are poor especially the bathroom need attention. take care if you have children with you with the very powerful hot water from the bath and showers. never again will i stay there. i think the manager is a big guy with glass but you must be quick or you wont catch him

Room Tip: try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Longshoot Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear cliff b,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review, we are sorry to hear of the experience you received and we will be investigating your comments further with the management team.

We have also sent you a message to discuss this further.

Regards
Good Night Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    19
    13
    8
    16
See reviews for
7
18
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed at The Longshoot for an overnight, got there about 9pm. The first impression appearance wise is its like an american motel, had to ring for someone to come let us in, after they found our booking and gave us our key the first challenge was getting into the room, key did not turn in the door, you had to pull and jiggle the key until it finally clicked and let us in.

The room looked very basic and although it was on a busy main road would've been acceptable as somewhere to sleep till we left the next morning. After we got into the room and settled we soon discovered we weren't the only ones sleeping in the room, a multitude of insects were also there, from small flies to beetles and one big moth, ick! After killing as many beasties as possible we try to settle down to find several holes all over the duvet cover and the towel heater in the bathroom leaking all over the floor.

If we had anywhere else to go we would not have stayed, not what we were looking for after a 5 hour drive!!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Longshoot Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Hi Miss_Sarah_C

Thank you for your feedback.

We are sorry to hear of your experience, we have sent you a direct message.

Kind Regards
Good Night Inns Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyne and Wear
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012 via mobile

Booked up online for the longshoot hotel and to be fair the place looked great online, great frontage and looked very inviting. Set of early Saturday from the north east looking forward to a nice break, after a steady ride down we pulled up at the Longshoot, great exactly as it said on the tin, i wondered into the pub to be told to drive around the back, we drove around the back of the pub to be faced by what can only be described as Butlins chalets from the 1970s. Once we stopped laughing we realised we were actually staying in one of these brightly coloured throwbacks to an age when I and the chalets were in our prime.
We were checked in and surprisingly the room was basic but looked comfortable, we pushed the beds together as is the way nowadays and had a quick sleep before heading out.
This is the best bit, I overslept a bit and thought a shower would wake me up. WOW what a shower I had to lean forward to stay on my feet, the force of the shower was that strong it made me look 20 years younger as it blew my wrinkles away.
We returned pretty late and it was a bit intimidating walking around thr badly lit chalets, but I slept like a top and had no issues at all with the room, in the morning I had another shower "quick face lift before leaving" the breakfast was very nice and I have to say it was good value for money and now I'm home I totally miss that shower. :))

Stayed September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

Although the rooms from the exterior looked very run down, the rooms interior was very cosy, had everything my family needed and was very comfortable. The staff were very friendly, polite and bent over backwards to make sure we were happy and comfortable though out our stay. We had a carvery for dinner which was very cheap. The food was fantastic. There was even a children's menu for my little one (the only part of a roast he likes is the yorkshire pudding)!
We had a lovely full english breakfast. The stay was relaxing and very reasonably priced - a real treat. Although there was nothing for my 3 year old to do, the staff gave him plenty of attention, as well as providing him with crayons and pictures.THANK YOU TO ALL THE STAFF AT THE LONGSHOOT.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012 via mobile

Hotel looks very grim from the outside but the rooms are fine inside. Lovely pub and the carvery we had was beautiful. Pleasant staff also!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

i would like to thank all the staff at the longshoot hotel for another great weekend stay.the rooms and beds are clean,the food is exalant,great carvery for only£3-75p and the breakfast must be one of the best in england (self service full english ) fantastic.the rooms are a bit tired, but very good for the price. if you expect a pristine room go to another hotel and pay two or three times more for it. this is our fishing clubs 9th year at the longshoot hotel,and already look forward to our 10th stay next year. from all 20 members of the fishing thank you A L OAKLEY (chairman of the little hut fishing club) keep up the good work. i have posted this on the internet because i cannot understand all the negative feedback on the net.what do people expect for the price.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at the Longshoot. It's fair to say the rooms are a bit dated, but for what we paid we felt we'd received good value for money. The room was clean and the bed comfortable.
Very impressed by the standard of food and again the fantastic value!
Staff were friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay there again. Thanks

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Longshoot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longshoot Hotel

Address: Watling Street, Nuneaton CV11 6JH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Nuneaton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Nuneaton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Longshoot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longshoot Hotel Nuneaton, Warwickshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Longshoot Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.