We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Damp and disgusting!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Nuneaton

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nuneaton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Travelodge Nuneaton
Save
You added Travelodge Nuneaton to your Saves list
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St Nicholas Park Drive, Nuneaton CV11 6EN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Nuneaton
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Damp and disgusting!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

We used this as a stopover for two nights whilst visiting Drayton Manor. Avoid this hotel at all costs, it is filthy from top to bottom, smells of damp with poo stains on the mattress. On complaining at reception I had little response so I will now be writing to their head office. An appauling hotel!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    17
    19
    13
    8
See reviews for
21
20
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Somerset Uk
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2010

Against my wifes instructions, I booked an overnight stopover in a Travelodge. One of our rooms smelled of smoke despite no smoking! Complained to manager who tried to be helpful. Spayed some airfreshener but this room should have been thoroughly cleaned before we arrived. Does anyone in Travelodge check the rooms?

Our room was badly scarred with paint missing from walls by the bed and bathroom that had seen much better days! Not the first time we have experienced sloppy standards in Travelodge and head office could not give a toss when you write in.

We were offered a free breakfast in a bag as compensation but delined the offer. Needless to say, my wife was not amused and I had the "I told you so lecture" several times. Travelodge continue to disappoint especially when you pay full rate, this would have been ok at £19 which is what it should be untill the next refurb.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worksop
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2010

Reception very friendly and helpful. Extra towels etc. - no problem.
Next to a good value Harvester Restaurant.
All you can need or expect for the price.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2009

Having read older reviews of this Travelodge I was a bit apprehensive. However, there were no problems at all and we found the hotel quiet, clean and the staff all friendly and helpful. An added bonus was the 'Harvester' restaurant within yards of the hotel entrance.
This restaurant was very popular with locals and busy most nights altough we had no problems getting a table.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2009

I have used a number of Travelodge Hotels at various locations in the UK over the years. I recently booked two room at the Nuneaton Travelodge to break a journey from London. I booked on line and ticked the box to pay £1.00 for each room for cancellation insurance. I cancelled my bookings within the time set by the company but was unable to obtain a refund. It is not made clear, on line, what reasons are acceptable to Travelodge to give a refund. There is the following statement, buried in a dialog box, "For a full list of valid reasons to claim please see our room cancellation insurance Terms and Conditions". There is no direct link to these terms and conditions so you would have to leave the booking page to read them. The section which you should consider is "What you are not covered for" Item 1 is "You not wanting to travel". Whilst you can claim for the major reasons..... death, illness, accident, jury service etc. but a simply change of plan is not covered. I appreciate cancelling within 24 hours can mean that the hotel cannot always sell the room that night and an empty room equals loss of income.
I will not be conned by this company again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2008

The place serves a purpose - its cheap and has beds - but its not in the greatest state of repair and when we stayed the room we were shown too absolutely stank of stale fags. The receptionist moved us to a slightly less stale room and admitted that most of the rooms smell as 'people take the batteries out the smoke alarms'.

Stayed August 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpool england
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2007

we stayed here one night after going to see a gig in nearby hinckley,

got to nuneaton and jumped in a cab and asked for travelodge they asked if we meant by harvester pub which we did,

arrived at hotel booked in no trouble, shown to room which was a double bed and a sofa bed which pulled into two singles, it was more than big enough bed was 7 foot long,

tea and coffee in room we asked for more and got it no problems, everything worked fine,

bathroom was slighty grotty clean but taps were slighty damaaged no heat control just travelodge temp or nothing lol

our window didnt lock as handle must of been forced but there was a safty cable so it couldnt be open,

all in all a great stay, loverly staff who helped with anything and in general a fine stay for a one nighter,

  • Liked — friendly staff and price
  • Disliked — bathroom water temp
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Nuneaton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Nuneaton

Address: St Nicholas Park Drive, Nuneaton CV11 6EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Nuneaton
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Nuneaton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Travelodge Nuneaton 1*
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Travelodge Nuneaton Hotel Nuneaton
Travel Lodge Nuneaton
Nuneaton Travelodge
Travelodge Nuneaton Warwickshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Nuneaton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.