We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very average accommodation, food nothing special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ye Olde Red Lion Hotel, Market Bosworth

Ye Olde Red Lion Hotel, Market Bosworth
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nuneaton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ye Olde Red Lion Hotel, Market Bosworth
Save
You added Ye Olde Red Lion Hotel, Market Bosworth to your Saves list
1, Park Street | Market Bosworth, Nuneaton CV13 0LL , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Nuneaton B&B and Inns
Rugeley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“very average accommodation, food nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed one night, had a meal in the bar which neither of us were particularly impressed with. The pastry on the steak and ale pie was tasteless and the strangest pastry ive ever had and the gravy very watery, my partners steak was more medium well than medium rare as requested. the chips were overdone and seemed to be the last bits out of the chip basket, the breakfast the next day was much better, very tasty and served by a lovley friendly lady who really went the extra mile with service. The cleaner was also really friendly and chatty. The room was nice enough, clean and the bed was comfortable.The toilet was very noisy though and we did wish we had picked a room with a shower

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    18
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
5
17
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Great pub in the middle of Bosworth. Large choice of real ales and excellent well priced home cooked food. The landlord knows his stuff and runs the pub well. The bar staff are polite and hard working. The locals are friendly and chatty. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We ate there on 9th July. The food was superb, the service excellent. Could not be faulted. Wee ate in the Lion as the food in our Hotel (Bosworth Hall) was terrible. We thoroughly enjoyed our food. A stunning, comprehensive menu. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We visited the pub at lunchtime and were appalled at the high cost of the beer and the stale smell in the bar . £4.20 for a pint of Stella Artois is extortionate . The smell in the bar put us off ordering food

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Ate here for the first time bank holiday Monday. Nearly every table was taken, very busy! Lovely lady served us & to be fair, she did say there would be a bit of a wait for food as everyone had just turned up at the same time. However, I feel that on a bank holiday & with glorious weather forecast, they should have expected to be busy & should have been better prepared. There was only 1 waiting staff who also kept popping behind the bar to help as there was only 1'bar staff too. There was a bit of a wait for food but both my husband & I thought it was well worth the wait. Both meals were beautiful & we will most definitely be returning again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

After a long trip from the south, there was nice nourishing evening meal, including roast chicken with all the trimmings. This was provided by attentive, friendly staff, who also arranged for a cooked breakfast earlier than normal the next day. There was a wide selection of real ales, albeit from the Marston’s house range, to sample afterwards while relaxing in front of a warming real log fire, during this very cold weather.

Unfortunately, the large bedroom was at one extremity of the hotel, and so seemingly at the end of the central heating system. It also had three large single glazed windows, which meant heat wasn’t retained well in the room in the extreme cold weather. In addition the room was located over the [unheated] pub toilet area, so no heat was forthcoming from here. Yes; an electric fan heater [and extra blankets] were provided, so you weren’t cold in the end.

One slight [night noise] niggle was the toilet area [automatic?] flushes apparently ran all-night. This meant you could hear the cold water header tank [in the ceiling space directly above the room] constantly re-filling during the otherwise still night…

In the end; fine for a summer time visit, but could be a bit challenging during extreme cold winter weather.

Room Tip: Ensure all room heating working and blankets available in cold weather…
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

I am staying in market Bosworth for 4days and have visited the red lion 3 times and enjoyed the pub and the beer. Smashing coal fires and friendly staff. Will definitely visit again when in the area. Rob the barman is a nice chap and good company.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ye Olde Red Lion Hotel, Market Bosworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde Red Lion Hotel, Market Bosworth

Address: 1, Park Street | Market Bosworth, Nuneaton CV13 0LL , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Nuneaton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Nuneaton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Ye Olde Red Lion Hotel, Market Bosworth Nuneaton, Warwickshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ye Olde Red Lion Hotel, Market Bosworth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.