We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Rude"” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Jail House Bistro

The Jail House Bistro
Chapel Street, Nuneaton CV11 5QH, England
024 7664 2290
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 113 Restaurants in Nuneaton
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: Bar, Bistro
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“"Rude"”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2014

For the second time in as many months we have gone to visit this establishment and been turned away.
The staff always seem to think they are better than you.
Today we were just looking for a coffee a teacake perhaps. We went to the desk and asked for a table.
We were asked if we had booked, as only people who have booked can get in. Although there were signs galore outside advertising coffee deals.
I have no problem being turned away if busy. But there is no need to be rude as you say it and look down yuur nose at customers. Your a pub / bistro not the Ritz.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    20
    8
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

Love the food, though extremely busy. I love the service and the people are friendly. Highly recommended, though you may find you have to wait a while!

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014 via mobile

We had stumbled across this little pub/coffee house and glad we did. Cavery is beautiful! Hats off to the chef, food was homemade and rivalled many a own home cooked roast!
Service was also excellent!
Thanks guys

  • Visited December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“One of the Best in Nuneaton”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014

Two friends and I met for lunch in Nuneaton; we had tried various Wetherspoons etc, which are usually value for money but nothing exciting, so we ventured into the Jail House. It was quite busy but they found us a table straight away. The menu is varied, my friends had gammon and chips with pineapple, fried egg and lots of mushrooms, very good, and chilli, rice and flat bread, also good. I had the warm beef and potato salad, which was different and tasty. The chef brought those out to us, a nice touch.
Drinks came straight away and they have plenty of staff.
They have live music some evenings, and I was impressed to see that Horace Panter's Blues Band was appearing a couple of months ago.
A good venue if you want something that isn't run of the mill - we will be back!

  • Visited November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atherstone
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“eating out in and around nuneaton.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

A totally excellent dining experience,based on many visits. The daily menu changes regularly,with always something of interest,especially on the "specials"list. The Sunday carvery is to die for,good value & best quality meats in my experience. The service is always friendly&efficient. The staff are always helpful&polite. They also have live music nights&the general atmosphere is very good. I totally see me eating there for the foreseeable future,well done to the owner for creating a fantastic space to have a good time.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Jail House Bistro also viewed

Nuneaton, Warwickshire
Nuneaton, Warwickshire
 
Nuneaton, Warwickshire
Nuneaton, Warwickshire
 

Been to The Jail House Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Jail House Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.