We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bosworth Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Bosworth Hall Hotel to your Saves list
Bosworth Hall Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Park, Market Bosworth CV13 0LP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Market Bosworth
Somerset
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Had a Groupon deal for bed & breakfast and free bottle of wine. Our room was fine and the swimming pool was good - I wasn't told that when you go for a swim you had to take your towel from your room otherwise you would have to pay £1 for one when you went in (not a deposit) so I went back to my room to get mine.

The village is a nice easy walk from the hotel and there was plenty of parking.

Breakfast was average but the carvery was pretty dire - I had read reviews before saying it wasn't very good but we decided to give it a try and then wished we hadn't - it was like being in a school canteen there was no ambience and the food was very mediocre

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    841
    559
    424
    530
See reviews for
291
1,505
37
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (780)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Firstly, I would like to start by saying my mother bought this for me and husband to get away before our second child is born She got it on a groupon voucher (included room, continental breakfast, evening meal and use of the facilities) but it doesnt excuse how bad the place was.

Secondly, we originally booked this break for January but received a letter in the post a couple of weeks before hand saying there had been a mistake and they were actually fully booked and we would have to re book another weekend.. No compensation offered.

We arrived at about 11am - knowing it was much too early for check in but wanted to use the facilities as advertised. On arrival at reception we were 'greeted' by Abi. When I say greeted
no hello, no welcome to bosworth hall, no how can I help. Just whos next. We were told 'you cant check in yet. Check in is at 2pm' which we knew but she didnt say you can use the facilities we had to ask and then we had to ask where the bar was and where the spa was,, Incidentely we were not told at this point (nor upon booking) that the spa charged £4 per person per visit. We managed to find the bar which wasnt open for another half hour and they didnt serve food for another hour. Decided to sit and relax and wait for a drink then have lunch and wait for check in before visiting the spa.

2pm came and we went to check in but no. We were told room wouldnt be ready for another 45 minutes so back to waiting in the bar..Back to reception at 2.45 nope room still not ready so moved us to a different room. No directions given so had to find it ourselves and when we got there it was a small, claustraphobic, hot room with no windows! none in the room or en suite! Its only April yet the room was really hot (dread to think what its lke in summer) and being heavily pregnant was no way could cope with it.. Husband went back to reception to ask for a different room but was told no rooms available.. So he asked for a fan (we werent offered one) the fan turned up and was a big metal industrial one that blew a hurricane and was so loud could hardly talk over it! Let alone would we be able to sleep with it on. I went to reception to complain. Manager turned up wasnt really sympathetic but suddenly werent fully booked and could move us to another room. With windows!!!!! Again werent given directions to this room but found it and indeed had windows and was much cooler. Rooms basic - tv was from the stone ages and wasnt widescreen so didnt get the whole picture when watching anything, Tea and coffee in the room but no hot chocolate or fruit teas so nothing for me to drink!

Went to reception to book the evening meal. ONly option was a carvery in the 'Jennys' which being vegetarian was no good for us! They said we could book into the other restaurant but would be an extra £6 per person! But had no choice really so managed to find the restaurant only to be told was fully booked and had been for a week and we should have booked in earlier (we were not told this when booking originally so how we were supposed to know this i dont know!!) So only choice was carvery which were told did have one vegetarian option. Curry. Great for my heartburn.

Decided to go to the spa. Dont forget towel or you will be charged £1 for this too. Spa consists of a steam room, pool and jacuzzi. Not too bad. Felt bit grubby and so did the changing rooms.. No shower gel in the showers and no spin machine for your costume plus half the lockers dont work and your keys dont have numbers on so remember which locker is yours!

Evening meal was book for 6pm. Arrived at 6.05..Told to help ourselves to the starter which was carrot and coriander soup and also to the salad.. Went to get some soup. No soup yet,. Wasnt ready. Main was ready for starter wasnt so thought would go to the salad bar. Salad bar consisted of tomatoes, cucumber, lettuce, bland coleslaw and a bit of pasta (oh and some smoked haddock) After myself and a few other guests asking numerous times when the soup would be ready it finally arrived at about 6.25. was it worth the wait? No.Bland, bland bland with no taste of coriander at all!! the granary bread rolls were nice though.. Got my veg curry and rice. Was ok.. If you wanted meat you had to stand and wait for the carving chef to make an apperance. Kept dissapearing and leaving people waiting! The roast potatoes were awful, soft and squashy. Dessert - there was lemon tart, fruit salad and what looked like two iceland special gateaux - could not tell you what they were! None of the food had labels so you never knew what you were getting! Lemon tart was ok. Make sure you check all your plates and cutlery before using as a lot still dirty!

Spent rest of the evening in the room watching half a television programme due to the non widescreen tv . Unable to go to bed until the room above us did as sounded like a herd of elephants up there - could hear talking, tv, movement, toilet being flushed etc.

Breakfast - back to 'Jennys' for continental breakfast. Surely this will be ok........arrived to chaos.. Place packed out - managed to find a table. Coffee waiting on the table.. Went to get some food - firstly no pastries, croissants etc (which a usual continental breakfast included) Could get toast though,. but only white bread, No brown or wholemeal or granary. Jams and butter could be found over the other side of the room. Not individually but in big dishes and you had to share the one spoon between the jams. Could get orange and grapefruit or prunes with yogurt which was ok. Husband had cooked breakfast which wast great, Scrambled eggs watery, mushrooms watery, tomatoes watery, Hash browns good. We watched the staff whilst eating. We hadnt met one nice friendly staff member so far (Apart from in the spa) When guests left their tables one of them would get her jay cloth out of a bucket and sweep the crumbs off and give quick wipe down of table..We watched her use the same bucket of dirty rinsing he cloth in it before wiping down the next table.. Sweeping any crumbs onto the chairs, barging past your table without caring if they knocked into you.

We left after breakfast, So all in all was terrible experience.. Considering they are part of Britannia hotels the service is awful. We were not once made to feel welcome by any staff member in any part of the hotel (apart from the spa) they were ignorant and hardly acknowlegded our existence and we felt like we were irritating them if we asked a question. They were unhelpful and didnt give us directions to anywhere we wanted to go. We were not given information on booking about booking the evening meal in advance or about the cost of the spa.

We will not be returning.

Room Tip: Just dont. If you do make sure you get a room with windows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Average to poor reviews read on way here.
Simply put though this the best value hotel we have ever stayed in as a family:

Spa good
Dinner lovely and ideal for family, carvery buffet.
Free bottle of wine per day
Shower- the best I have ever known in a hotel, like a sports massage.
All staff can't do enough to help.
Stunning setting
Lovely town square, real ale pubs
15 mins to Twycross zoo, also fantastic

Thank you Bosworth Hall. Don't want to go tomorrow.
Dave

Room Tip: Room 104 had a great shower and view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

stayed here on a group on deal 7th-9th of April for my dads 60th birthday...8 of us! we paid £99 per room (4rooms) with 8 bottles of wine, dinner on the first night and passes to the spa thrown in!! the hotel staff were all very accommodating to our group needs especially at meal times. even breakfast when it was VERY busy we never had to wait very long before a table with room for us all to sit together was fashioned. the rooms (3 doubles and one twin) were all placed close together without us even asking. they were spacious, clean and yes they are a bit dated but everything works and is perfectly adequate. the pool area was used and enjoyed by us all!! I cannot recommend this place enough...all I can think from the bad reviews is that some people expect a lot more for a lot less money.....if you want the Ritz standards...pay the Ritz prices. I on the other hand love the oldy worldy feel of this hotel and will be visiting again :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

Firstly, can I just say I cannot fathom a lot of these previous reviews slating this place?!? Yes, some of the rooms could do with a wee lick of paint in places and yes the rooms are not the biggest but overall this is a huge, well kept, very clean and tranquil hotel with lots of little chill out seating zones dotted all over the hotel. The large grounds are beautiful and well kept and within just a minutes walk is a lovely Norman church. Go a few minutes further on and there's a lovely little village with several decent eateries and pubs.

We made good use of the Spindles Health Club which was included in our deal and loved it. The gym was well equipped and well kept, there's a pool, sauna, jacuzzi and steam room as well as a sunbed and health and beauty treatments (available at extra cost).

Ok, the cavery was a bit repetitive if you were here several nights but come on....there's a fair enough choice and three courses of as much as you can eat for £12! Unlike some hotels, the bar prices are not extortionate either £3.80 for a pint of Guinness as a guideline. If you don't fancy eating in the cavery every night, take a walk to the village, as an example on Wednesdays there's a steak dinner for two for £10 on offer.

Overall this is a lovely place, clean, well kept and the staff were polite and helpful. Don't come here on a cheap deal expecting to be treated as some sort of royalty getting fed caviar and champagne every night as some seem to be fretting about. If you want that go pay £300-£500 a night instead of the very reasonable average this place charges.

We're a professional couple who like above average standards but at the same time are easy going and don't get hung up on minor details such as as a wee bit of flaked paint here and there. This is a lovely place, ideal for a girlie spa break or a couples tranquil break away. Grab a special offer deal and you you'll be onto a winner!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

I wouldnt normally write a review but after a trip to this hotel on a group on voucher I felt that some of the reviews were unfair and wanted to add my own.

Hotel was busy on this weekend not sure if thisis always the case but we easily found somewhere to park not sure where the other reviewers were looking. Check in was quick the receptionist very helpful and welcomeing. Onto out room which was plesent, yes it could do with a lick of paint and things like the television upgrading but we werent there to watch the soaps.
After unpacking we wondering around the beautiful and well maintained grounds then went fdor afternoon tea. We waiting along time at the bar for anybody to take our order, tables were piled high and needed clearing. Eventually a man come to the bar, no aplogie for making us wait, he smelled of cigarette smoke so my guess is he'd been for a sneeky smoke. Anyway, creamtea was well presented and good value for money.
We went into the vilage which is beautiful, recommend the short walk the local pubs were welcoming and lots of little shops.
Before dinner we went back to the bar wich was now a lot busyer. While the young female was serving our drinks the man from before was stood very close behind her, she stopped pooring and turned around and said 'will you get your hands off me' I was shocked, but she stayed calm and carried on serving us with a smile. Sod the customers I think I would of punched him.
Had a lovely meal in Jennys, again great service, yes it is a buffet/self service but there was lots of choice and all was hot and looked fresh.
We had a good nights sleep from other reviews I was expecting no sleep at all. Waking up refreshed we went for breakfast, in Jennys the same as dinner all staff welcoming breakfast plentiful hot and fresh.
We did not get a chance to use the spa but it looked nice.
Overall we had a lovely stay I would recomment the hotel if you dont go with the expectation of 5 stars on a cheap deal. I dont feel like i stayed in the same place as some of the other people on trip adviser.

Room Tip: Lots of steps and long corridors wich may be a problem for any one who struggled to walk far
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Hotel and rooms were tired.
Don’t expect to eat here. Dinner carvery was one of the worst, and not the cheapest, I have eaten.
Could not get into breakfast (for 1 person) on either day due to coach trips.
Shower not thermostatic control, just tap mixer, and couldn’t be controlled between cold and scalding. Paint all flaked off bathroom ceiling.
Old large TV (not flatscreen) that kept losing colour; few channels,
Bed not comfortable and sloping!
Wi-fi didn’t reach rooms (only got working from public areas)
On the plus side the housekeeping in my room was good, maintaining tired room clean and tidy, and the (busy) staff were polite and helpful.
A real budget hotel, maybe OK for coachtrips but not conducive for business stopovers

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bosworth Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bosworth Hall Hotel

Address: The Park, Market Bosworth CV13 0LP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Market Bosworth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Market Bosworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bosworth Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bosworth Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bosworth Hall
Bosworth Hall Market
Bosworth Hotel
Bosworth Hall Hotel Market Bosworth, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bosworth Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.