We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and bad but worth a visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Henley Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Henley Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Henley Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tanworth Lane, Henley in Arden B95 5RA, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Henley in Arden
Coventry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Good and bad but worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel for a wedding being held at the golf club. Plenty of parking in the car park. Not the nicest welcome, two receptionists on, the one sitting down didn't even glance up and smile, the one serving me made me feel that she was doing me a favour serving me. Normally when you are handed the key to your room, you are actually told where the room is. I had to ask!

The room was small but very nice, clean and everything worked. The hotel supply a shuttle bus if you are attending a function at the golf club, which is a mile down the road. It's a great service, you ask reception and they call the club and the bus arrives within 10 minutes. Albert picked us up and took us and told us just to ask when we wanted to go back to the hotel. I have to give him a special mention, that man worked so hard all night, behind the bar, clearing tables and driving the bus!

Breakfast the next morning was self service and was nice and plentiful. The same lady who had been on reception was working in the restaurant area so perhaps she is just very overworked and doesn't have time for pleasantries . Note: from previous reviewers, the TV is not now on in the morning at breakfast.

Overall this is a nice hotel, reasonably priced and with good facilities. Note for the hotel manager though, I do think you could save a bit of money by not having the heating on so frequently. The hotel, and the rooms were very hot, and all the guests were saying so.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
henleyhotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Henley Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our Hotel, we appreciate everything you say. I’m happy to hear positive feedback and that you enjoyed your stay with us. Nothing is more important to us than our guest’s satisfaction and regarding the comments about other members of staff, I do apologise if that is how you were made to feel, please let me reassure you, that wasn’t their intention as everyone here tries their best to offer all guests a warm welcoming, I will however be sure to inform all staff members of your comments and make sure there isn’t a repeat of this in the future. Your kind comments about Albert, are reassuring to hear and on your behalf I will be sure to pass them on for you. We do hope you will come back and stay with us again in the future.
Sincerely
Graham Waller
General Manager of Henley Golf & Country Club and Henley Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    36
    15
    10
    2
See reviews for
18
50
2
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ontario's Highlands, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Pleasure to stay here . Average twin room. Nice dining room . Short on staff due to wedding . Gemma did everything from checking us in to cooking our meal. She left at eleven at night and was back by seven in the morning. Heavy workload indeed. Felt sorry for her. A real professional.lots of parking and nice setting.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
henleyhotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Henley Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our Hotel. I’m delighted to hear your positive feedback and that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sure to pass on all your kind comments to Gemma herself; it’s a real pleasure hearing such positivity about our staff members. However let me assure you that the work load for our staff is not over bearing and each member of staff is given an efficient amount of days off and shifts are rotated equally amongst staff. It was a real pleasure having you stay with us and we do hope you will come back and stay with us again in the future. We appreciate everything you have said and once again thank you for your comments.
Sincerely
Graham Waller
General Manager of Henley Golf & Country Club and Henley Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed one night only as we were attending an evening function nearby. As loyalty card holders we received an upgrade which was very good. We phoned prior to the visit to ask for taxis to be arranged - the outgoing one was but the return was arranged very efficiently by the receptionist when we arrived. Breakfast was fine although fruit looked a little tired. Cooked breakfast tasty and plenty of it! TV's were not a problem to us.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
henleyhotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Henley Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our Hotel. I’m delighted to hear your positive feedback and that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our breakfasts satisfactory. Nothing is more important to us than our guest’s satisfaction, so we’re more than happy to hear you appreciated your upgrade. We do hope you will come back and stay with us again in the future. Once again we thank you for your comments and we appreciate everything you have said.
Sincerely
Graham Waller
General Manager of Henley Golf & Country Club and Henley Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

This hotel has comforable rooms, well controlled temperature excellent bed, bedding and bathrooms. The breakfast items are good quality and there is a pleasant outlook onto the garden. The down side is that you either sit under the TV in the breakfast room and get deafened or at the entrance and have TV in stero but out of sync from the TV in the brakfast area and the one in the lounge area. Can one at least be turned off.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
henleyhotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Henley Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our Hotel. I’m delighted to hear your positive feedback from your stay and it’s encouraging to hear such compliments about the hotel as nothing is more important to us than our guest’s satisfaction. The issue regarding the TV, the one in the breakfast area is turned off after breakfast and we do only leave the lounge one on during the day, to give guests the opportunity to come down to the lounge and relax rather than spend all their time in the rooms. I take your comments on board and will look at having just the one TV on during breakfast. However we do hope you will come back and stay with us again in the future. Once again we thank you for your comments and appreciate everything you have said.
Sincerely
Graham Waller
General Manager of Henley Golf & Country Club and Henley Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

I stay regularly because I like the location very much and the staff are the greatest asset the hotel has - friendly, helpful, very professional and make the stay a real delight. The food is good and tasty and the rooms well furnished and comfortable. I highly recommend the hotel and the staff!

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
henleyhotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Henley Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you George for taking the time to write a review for our Hotel. I’m delighted to hear that after many years of you staying with us we still meet all your needs and that you thoroughly enjoy each and every one of your stays with us. As you know by now nothing is more important to us than our guest’s satisfaction. I’m pleased to hear you like our bar menu, as we had noticed you’d taken a liking to it, since you’ve been staying in to eat rather than usually going out, it makes a nice change! Once again we thank you for your comments and appreciate your loyalty to our hotel.
Sincerely
Graham Waller
General Manager of Henley Golf & Country Club and Henley Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

We have just checked out of the hotel after a nightmare week.
Stayed Sun 25th - Fri 30th August 2013.
After travelling over 110 miles to the hotel, we are told there is a problem and that they were giving us a different room. It didn't matter that my wife is chronically disabled and disabled guests count for nothing with the management of this hotel. One member of staff Kasia is an absolute credit to Best Western, polite and very helpful, while another member of staff Olivia had and gave the attitude the we as guests shouldn't have been there and we were intruding. Her whole attitude was insulting and degrading and she is an absolute disgrace to the Best Western chain. As for the other members of staff that we see during our stay had the I don't give a damn attitude towards the guests. I wouldn't and can't recommend a stay at this hotel after the very bad experience we just had and it isn't the same place as when we stayed there just 10 weeks previous. The breakfast is basically sub-standard that is when you get offered a cooked breakfast as on one morning we were the only ones in the breakfast room yet had to wait for about 20 minutes or before Olivia appeared to take our order, and knowing there were dishes on the table she doesn't clear them until my wife had to beg her to take them away, my wife found a hair on her plate and when the manager came to see us he said he would knock off that breakfast from the bill, but wasn't true to his word the whole week was a disastrous nightmare and something we never want to experience again
In my opinion the Henley hotel

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Lovely hotel with high standard of decor and cleanliness. Bar meals only ,but well priced and delicious. For some reason the management have TVs on in the bar and at breakfast..loud and intrusive..and this spoils the ambience of the place. It doesn't make you want to linger in the public rooms. Get rid of them and then it would be perfect!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
henleyhotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Henley Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback.

I completely take on board your comments about the TV's and respect your opinion on them however it seems opinions do vary amongst our guests, as many of them like having them as they always have the option of having control of the remote and being somewhere other than their rooms, also when family stay or groups of friends more often than not they all gather in the lounge and watch a bit of television. I will however look into volume controlling them and making sure they are not causing to much of a disruption by being too loud.

I'm delighted to hear that you like the hotel, and enjoyed what we had to offer

We do hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Graham Waller
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Henley Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Henley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Henley Hotel

Address: Tanworth Lane, Henley in Arden B95 5RA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Henley in Arden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Henley in Arden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Henley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sometimes you just want a little extra; and for when you do there's BEST WESTERN PLUS Henley Hotel. It's a hotel with personality, plus extra service, style and comfort. Completely re-furbished, all our rooms are designed with your comfort in mind for a more memorable stay. BEST WESTERN PLUS Henley Hotel boasts 27 rooms, including 5 boutique style suites, well proportioned executive and family rooms as well as standard double and twin rooms. For disabled people there is a selection of ground floor rooms including a specially designed room which includes a full wet room with seated showering, grab rails and an emergency cord, simply let us know what your specific needs are. There is a lounge/bar with plenty of seating for you to enjoy a quite G&T, 3 course meal or a lite-bite from our tasty menu. Speciality teas and coffees are available along with a full selection of both soft and alcoholic beverages. Within easy access to major road networks such as M40, M42, M6, M69, M1 there is so much a business or leisure guest can reach in just 20 minutes from our hotel. For business guests who prefer a more personal approach to the larger hotel chains, we are only a 20 minute drive from Birmingham airport, NEC, NIA, Birmingham city centre and Coventry city centre. Wi-Fi is available in all areas of the hotel including bedrooms. We have on-site conference facilities for up to 20 delegates and for larger groups, we can offer a variety of Conference rooms at our sister venue Henley Golf and Country Club. Our shuttle bus can be booked to and from day time or evening venues; meaning you don't have to worry about driving and parking at your venue or having that glass of celebration bubbly. For those on a leisure break, we are situated in the picturesque village of Henley-in-Arden which is just 15 minutes drive to Stratford-upon-Avon and no more than 30 minutes drive to Drayton Manor Theme Park, Cadbury World and the Cotswolds to name a few leisure destinations. Because we are within easy access of major road networks it makes a perfect location to base yourself whilst exploring some of the fantastic things the area has to offer. Also available are special packages for golf in the area and discounted tickets for Shakespeare's 5 houses. We will help you plan your stay to maximise the time you spend in our fantastic county. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Henley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN PLUS Henley Hotel Henley In Arden, Warwickshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Henley Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.