We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely peaceful escape” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Irelands Farm

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Henley in Arden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Irelands Farm
Save
You added Irelands Farm to your Saves list
Irelands Lane, Henley in Arden B95 5SA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely peaceful escape”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed here for two weeks in May 2013, and enjoyed our visit. Our cosy cottage was part of an old barn/stable encircling a courtyard. Although only 35 minutes by train from Birmingham, Irelands Farm is surrounded by fields and farms which make the location extremely restful and peaceful. The beautiful historic village of Henley-in-Arden is a five-minute drive away. We shopped for groceries here and ate at several good restaurants.

We stayed in Hazel Cottage, charmingly and comfortably outfitted, and offering all the amenities needed for a stay in the country. We went for a two-hour hike one day, through the fields around the farm, and saw forests of bluebells, wild garlic, bubbling brooks and lovely old farmhouses. We really enjoyed our stay here, and would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tipperary, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We arranged with owner that one small dog would be left for a while on its own in cottage before we booked , This we were told would not be a problem and owner even suggested that she would look in on dog while we were gone !!! Alas we got a phone call to leave the event we were at and return as dog was barking and next door neighbours were complaining on our return we spoke to said neighbour who had no idea what we were talking about and had 3 large dogs themselves and was very put out that they had be named
Seemed to very much tell you want you want to hear pay your money and when you arrive goalposts have changed when you have no where else to go. Owner didn't even come to say goodbye when we left something I have never witnessed in all my years renting cottages. Would not stay here again owner made us feel very uncomfortable and with her attitude ruined our few days away

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sorrento Western Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed in Bramble Cottage for two and a half weeks and really enjoyed the experience. Stephanie and Pam are friendly, welcoming and happy to help. The walks along the laneways picking blackberries were memorable. A great place to stay for a holiday or like us to visit relatives in Birmingham

Room Tip: Bramble Cottage has a bathroom/toilet upstairs and downstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

When you make a booking on the internet make sure you make a print out of the booking. Very often guests will be disappointed the hotel will not have their booking in their system. Well, no one is perfect so make it easier for the hotel and give them the print out of your booking.
Furthermore, scan your passport and all important documents in a pen drive. In case of theft, it would be easier for your embassy to speed up making a new passport for you. This information is given to you from my personal experience.

Have fun travelling!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

The location is close to stratford up on avon 12 miles down the 3400.If you have relations in Brum then its just down the road. I read the last review saying it was tired and needed up dating.WHY! its a farm environment if you want IKEA then go to the city.This is a rural setting, today we were sitting out the back sipping wine and watching the gold finches and the buzzards, In the field opposite were bubble and squeak the resident pigs you can save your food scraps and feed them.They are so loveable and let you tickle their tummies.This morning outside the kitchen window their was a big rabbit that was being chased by a pheasant. We stayed in lily cottage there was ample room everything from sewing kit to afullly equipped kitchen,It has clean bedlinen and towels are provided. A friendly family run establishment a lot of work has gone into making your holiday pleasant and relaxing especially if your own lifestyle is hectic/manic.It close to henley in arden where there is a fine fish/chip shop, beautiful countryside and if you are lucky with the weather even better.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arsy, France
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
216 helpful votes 216 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2008

I booked to stay here as I was attending a show at the NEC

The location was beautiful.

The cottage itself was one of several in a courtyard, there was plenty of parking and it was easy to find (with the use of a tomtom) but was down some narrow country lanes, including the track to the farm itself.

The cottage was warm and clean, with plenty of space, however, it was tired and could do with some up-dating, the furniture in the living room was uncomfortable with the bottom of the sofa chair collapsing, the kitching being old and in need of up-dating.

It did the job but for the money you can get better and I think they should up-date the cottages if they want to command the money they do.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — old fashioned/in need of updating
  • Stayed October 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, UAE
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2006

We stayed at the Hazel Cottage, one of four or five converted barns, in Irelands Farm for a week in August 2006 – and it was a wonderful escape for us city slickers. The cottage although small, was bright, clean, cheerful and equipped with all the basics you would need, including a small fridge, a very nice gas hob and oven, a front loading washing machine, tv, little boom-box, vacuum cleaner etc. Everything you needed really was all thoughtfully there in place.

We arrived after a long flight and we fell immediately in love with the place. The kitchen is just the right size, the downstairs living room is cosy and comfortable, and bedroom upstairs is a fairly good size. A comfortable bed, clean sheets and a fairly decent collection of paperbacks made us feel very much at home. Even the towels were provided, as we were overseas visitors. The kitchen is well equipped – all the cutlery, the wine opener, milk stocked in the fridge, tea, coffee, down to the salt and pepper. We couldn't really ask for more, and the owners were polite, friendly and more than glad to help with all of our requests at any time.

Although we did miss our power shower back home, we soon adapted to the trickly shower because there was always enough hot water, and hey, you get used to it in a day or two. But if you like your showers to be well... showers, then the one at this cottage fails to live up to the mark and it can get annoying to stand under a meagre trickle of water to try and get clean or have a decent shampoo.

Ireland Farms is tucked away in between open farmlands and is in absolutely gorgeous farm country. It's a few minutes drive from the Henley main street – but that drive is charming and spectacular in itself. We went for long walks along farm lined trails and each walk was an adventure of the senses. The wheat was being harvested, the fields looked marvellous. Wild rabbits scurry around, all kinds of wild berries on the trees, the scent of fresh country air – and to top it all – we woke up one morning to see a wild deer from our kitchen window – that was a breath taking experience. At night, the star filled velvet sky is something you may want to take in with a scotch or two.

However, keep in mind that this is all arable farm land, there are no appealing sheep in the meadows or cows in the corn for the kids to marvel at. So in that sense, there is no 'farm experience' to be had on the location itself, at all. If you're hoping to take your kids along to collect eggs, to watch cows being milked, help pick vegetables or any of that sort of stuff, you won't find it here. Also, we were rather taken aback to be told that our son could not run about in the common back yard area shared by the cottages in case he disturbed the other (presumably childless) guests. There is plenty of wide open space at the back, just begging for children to explore and run around in, and it was a little tiresome to have to tell our 6-year old that he would have to restrain himself from doing that. Another family with three boys who arrived as we were nearing the end of our stay managed to ignore this silly diktat with a remarkable joie de vivre, and were seen noisily playing a game of cricket which helped lighten the atmosphere and which my son joined in with considerable enthusiasm!

Ireland Farms is just five minutes from one of the best pubs in Henley-in-Arden (the Bird in Hand, and there are quite a few other pubs along the high street – just a few minutes away). The fish-and-chip shop (Seaspray), Chinese takeway, Henley ice cream, and the weekend market are must trys. There's a huge Tesco about 20 minutes away (in Stratford), and there's a smallish market – in Henley itself. There are plenty of places you can drive to around Henley, and overall, it's a great little holiday spot. We did Warwick Castle (overpriced theme-parked history for the masses), drove to Kidderminster for a steam train ride , Stratford and the Shakespeare experience, the walk up the hill next to the old church in Henley! Phew! Magic!

Note to those expecting to stay in a hotel in the country: Irelands Farm isn't a B&B or a 'country experience hotel'. It's a self catering accomodation – and you need to understand that concept. It's independent, no bother, no strangers lurking in the halls and certainly no doormen expecting tips. But you're well and truly looked after overall and for a comfortable, serene place to stay in the heart of gorgeous country – you can't beat that. One other point, if you don't like electric poles, you should keep in mind that very close by outside your back yard is an industrial sized one. Although initially concerned about its health implications, we relaxed in about a day as the serenity of the countryside took over and our worry/paranoia faded into obscurity soon enough.

  • Liked — The surroundings
  • Disliked — The shower
  • Tips/Secrets — Book in advance
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Irelands Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Irelands Farm

Address: Irelands Lane, Henley in Arden B95 5SA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Henley in Arden
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Henley in Arden
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Irelands Farm Henley In Arden, Warwickshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Irelands Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.