We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay clear” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel to your Saves list
The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nr Stratford-Upon-Avon, Charlecote CV35 9EW, England (Formerly Coast & Country Charlecote Pheasant Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Charlecote
GreenLeadersBronze level
uk
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Stay clear”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a 1 night stay at The Charlecote and are still stunned by what we had to endure during our stay;
1) ordering a Pimms in the bar and the waiter who was not English not knowing how to make one, so he asked another man who was cleaning the tables who instructed the waiter to go to the kitchen for strawberries, orange and cucumber and then moaned at me that he's useless and they need English speaking people to work there cos he was fed up with it (very professional)
2) Our room looked as if it had not been thoroughly cleaned in months (photos attached to prove my point)
3) By far the biggest gripe of all.......BREAKFAST.....disgusting! Unfortunately we had the same waiter who served us in the bar the previous day and he still acted as if he didn't even understand what he should be doing.After 15mins he came and asked for our drinks preference and gave us the choice of White or brown or mixed toast and then bought us the complete opposite to what we ordered, we then waited 20mins for someone to take our main order, the couple next door were also still waiting, in the meantime the people on the table opposite walked out in disgust. I approached the man in charge that morning and just asked politely if we could have some service and he was extremely rude, telling me I would have to wait, the manner in which he spoke to me made the couple on the next table say how disgusted they were with his attitude. If you like watered down orange juice, pale sausages and extremely poor quality produce then by all means go
4) Even the outdoor swimming pool has been left to run itself down, it is now a cornered off over grown mess.
Please don't be fooled by cheap prices, in the end you do actually get what you pay for and I'm afraid this place is as cheap as chips!!!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheagm, General Manager at The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Charlecote, firstly may I apologise that there was mould in the silicon of the shower and dust in your bedroom this is not the standard that we have at The Charlecote and I have spoken to the Head housekeeper on why this was overlooked and it has been rectified immediately, again our apologies. However I am most shocked and alarmed at your other comments regarding Staff and Service at Breakfast time, and at the Bar as we had no other comments or complaints from that weekend and certainly no contact from yourself? I shall be more than happy to discuss your stay should you wish to contact me direct at the Hotel.
Regards John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    159
    71
    37
    22
See reviews for
51
285
11
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We went away for two nights and found this hotel on laterooms.com, The room we got for the price we paid was brilliant. A four poster bed in a beautifully decorated room and a bathroom with two baths next to each other was a taste of luxury I thoroughly enjoyed. The staff were friendly and welcoming. There are only a few things I would pick up on, the carpet in our room was a little bit worse for wear and the curtains showed their age. Some of the lights in our room didn't work either and we found the restaurant to be a little bit overpriced for what we received and the general appearance of the room. Overall the hotel impressed us and we enjoyed our stay and I would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: The exec room was amazing. The bathroom in particular impressed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheagm, General Manager at The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Many thanks for the review of your recent 2 night stay, I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your Premier room, these are very popular rooms. I shall look into your comments regarding the bedroom carpet, we offer a Table D Hote Menu as well as an A la Carte selection and these are both very competitively priced I some sorry that you did not feel that they were value for money. It was nice to read that you shall return and I look forward to welcoming you back
Kind regards John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longfield
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

This was a family weekend break involving cousins from the Barnaby 'crew'. We had a great weekend break at The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, with rooms which were close to each other and accommodated a single traveller for a very small supplement - hard to come by. All the staff were very pleasant and helpful but special mention should be made of Daniel, the restaurant manager who went out of his wat to make sure we got the most from our stay.

Room Tip: If you don't do 'stairs', let the management know as some rooms are upstairs and there i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheagm, General Manager at The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Thank you for the review of your recent weekend stay with us, it is great to read that you, and all your family had a great time ,and I shall certainly pass on your kind comments to all the Team and especially Daniel , hope it wont be too long till you return. Kind regards John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Stayed overnight when in the area and glad we did. Booked an executive room in a separate building that was very quiet. The room was very large but the carpet was in poor condition with stains and signs of poor quality cleaning. The duvet cover had a hole and 6" long tear in it which should have been noticed.
Despite that, the room was airy and open. We did not dine there but the breakfast was excellent - the full English was well presented and the ingredients first class.
We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Go for an executive room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheagm, General Manager at The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Many thanks for the review of your stay with us, on a whole I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, and the upgraded room. I shall look into your comments regarding the Duvet Cover and also the Carpet Stains, thanks again and I look forward to welcoming you back
Kind regards John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Beautiful hotel well situated for visiting national trust properties, (Charlecote Park opposite hotel). The staff were very pleasant and helpful and enthusiastic.

The food was excellent and the service was perfect. A great hotel plenty of parking in beautiful countryside. the holiday was from Shearings Hotel group and was a bargain.

Room Tip: Plenty of rooms on the ground floor with easy access to a very large car-park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheagm, General Manager at The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thank you for the review of your stay with us and we are pleased to read that you enjoyed the Hotel and Services that we provide, I shall certainly make sure that all the team are aware of your kind comments, We are glad that you took advantage of our location, to visit the great National Trust Properties that are so close us. Kind regards John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galston
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Thank you Charlecote Pheasant for a pleasant stay and an excellent meal, and at a price that compares well with the ubiquitous travel hotels. The hotel is opposite Charlecote Park, the alleged spot where Shakespeare was caught poaching and the reason he went to London. A nice church opposite with some interesting tombs of the local knights. Best of all though a comfy room and an excellent a la carte meal. Good customer service as well. A few niggles, broken light fitting in the room, and, bizarrely, to get drinks with the meal, meant a trip to the bar each time. That is a first for me. Recommended for a quiet stay, and, if a la carte, at least, a good meal.

Room Tip: If disabled, there appear to be rooms where parking is literally at the door. No lift in main reside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheagm, General Manager at The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Many thanks for your kind comments regarding your recent stay, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and visiting all the local attractions, we hope it wont be too long till you return. Kind regards John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

About 4 miles away from Stratford Upon Avon, this hotel located in a quiet village. When I booked the rooms (I booked the superior rooms); based on the price I wasn't expecting anything more than an average hotel. This was anything but ordinary! The quiet village is idyllic for a morning/evening stroll with the family. The hotel has an excellent restaurant and the breakfast is 'very' good. I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheagm, General Manager at The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you for the review of your weekend stay with us, I shall pass on all your kind comments tothe team and hope that it wont be too long till you return. Kind regards John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel

Address: Nr Stratford-Upon-Avon, Charlecote CV35 9EW, England (Formerly Coast & Country Charlecote Pheasant Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Charlecote
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Charlecote
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful country house hotel set in the delightful village of Charlecote, opposite the village church, historic Charlecote House and Deer Park. Those wishing to adventure a little further, The Charlecote Pheasant is just minutes from the historic towns of Stratford upon Avon, Warwick and Leamington Spa. The hotel offers charm and character combined with fantastic new facilities. The Charlecote Pheasant has 69 bedrooms with some beautifully appointed superior and premier rooms.The Charlecote Restaurant with its original solid beams and other features adds to the overall character to offer an informal dining experience. The hotel Bar and Lounge offers a relaxing retreat to read or enjoy an afternoon tea. The Hotel has 4 acres of landscaped grounds to provide a lovely rural feel, sit out in and enjoy a refreshing drink. For the more active there is a tennis court. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Charlecote Pheasant
Charlecote Pheasant Hotel
The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel Warwickshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.