We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant location, not worth the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel to your Saves list
The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nr Stratford-Upon-Avon, Charlecote CV35 9EW, England (Formerly Coast & Country Charlecote Pheasant Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
£20 WEEKEND OFFER
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Charlecote
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Pleasant location, not worth the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

We stayed here for a friends wedding, also held at the hotel. The wedding was amazing by the way but this review is solely for the room and restaurant and not the wedding service they supply. After shelling out more than we usually pay for a hotel we were expecting something a little special. What we found was a rather average experience, The walls were too thin, and could hear the conversations of the room next door.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheagm, General Manager at The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Thank you for the review of your Stay last August ! We are glad that you enjoyed the wedding and the service, and food which we supplied. We are dissapointed that you didn't enjoy your stay in your bedroom or The Restaurant Service. With regards to your comment regarding the price we have a special rate of £120 per room Bed and Breakfast for Wedding Guests, that £60 per person in Summer Season which is very competitively priced , and an excellent deal for our guest's
Regards John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    176
    80
    37
    23
See reviews for
59
309
14
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, Berkshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

I always associated any Shearings' hotel with the older generation, small portions and cheaper fare but having just spent a weekend with my extended family for my Fathers eightieth birthday celebrations at this hotel I can't praise it enough. From the minute you check in to the time you leave you are made to feel welcome. I expected to be ordering from the a la carte menu but the half board dishes were wonderful. The food was plentiful and tasty with each dish being carefully presented by the obviously expert chef. Breakfast was also very tasty with a great choice of both cooked and cold food. The room was modern, very clean and comfortable, ideal for a weekend in the country. The staff were so friendly and professional and I must thank the restaurant manager for his efforts in making this a memorable time for my father. This a hotel I will certainly return to in the summer when my wife and I go back to Stratford to use our Shakespeare vouchers. Once again, thank you Pheasant for a lovely stay!

Room Tip: We stayed in the 'Farmhouse' Rooms very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheagm, General Manager at The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Many thanks for your kind review, I shall pass on all your wonderful commentrs to the team. We are so happy that you and your family had a great weekend to celebrate your Grand Fathers Special Birthday, and we hope to welcome you back in the Summer. Kind regards John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed at the Charlecote Pheasant for New Years eve and attended the New Years eve party. All the staff were very welcoming and the accommodation was first class. The breakfast and evening meal were of a high standard. The hotel is ideally situated near to Stratford on Avon and close to the M40 motorway but also in the heart of the Warwickshire countryside.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheagm, General Manager at The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for the review of your Stay with us, We are all so pleased that you enjoyed celebrating New Year at the Charlecote Pheasant ,and hope to see you again soon. Kind regards John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

We stayed here for one night booked at short notice. Given the mixed reviews I wasn't sure what to expect: however we were very happy with out stay. Friendly staff, good size comfortable room, comfortable beds, decent size, soft towels, easy parking. Breakfast service was very quick, friendly and efficient and the food was good. Check out time not till 11.00am on Sat am. Excellent value for money.

There is a bus to Stratford or Warwick/Coventry from just outside the hotel if you have had enough of driving/are going out for the evening (last bus back leaves Stratford 23.27 so a good service). It would be great if the hotel kept copies of the bus timetable for visitors and maybe familiarised themselves with the times. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheagm, General Manager at The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for your review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your holiday with us and I shall certainly make sure that all the team are aware of your great comments
regards John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

We have just spent 4 nights at the hotel. We had read the reviews on trip advisor and were concerned as to what we would be offered having booked two single rooms. We were delighted with our room. Two 3'6" beds, not in the main house. The room was delightful, comfortable and welcoming. The staff were attentive and the food - compliments to the chef! Delicious, beautifully presented. Most welcoming and relaxing. We will recommend and return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheagm, General Manager at The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for the review of you holiday at The Charlecote, We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and I shall pass on all your nice comments to the team. regards John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south yorkshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

We visited the hotel last week with Shearings and had an excellent stay. It exceeded our expectations. Room was very large, bright and comfortable with nice bathroom. The food choice was good and the food was well presented. The staff at the hotel are all so friendly and efficient. The hotel is in a lovely little village very near Stratford upon Avon and also close to Warwick, Evesham, and Royal Leamington Spa. There is a bus service outside. My wife and I will be happy to return and we recommend the hotel to others.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheagm, General Manager at The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for your review, it's nice to read that you enjoyed not only all the services of the Hotel but also all the local Attractions, we are very fortunate to be situated in such a great location
I shall make sure that all the team are aware of your kind comments. Regards John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Immingham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Just returned from an excellent midweek break. The Hotel was great and the staff lovely and very efficient. Our room was very comfortable, well kept and clean and the bathroom had everything we would need. The food was great and service the fastest we've ever had. We were on a Shearings coach trip and everything was good from start to finish. Anyone looking for a break won't be disappointed with this one.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheagm, General Manager at The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Many thanks for the review of your recent stay with us. It is great to read that you enjoyed all that we offer at the Charlecote, and Ishall make sure all the Team are aware of your kind comments
Kind Regards John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel

Address: Nr Stratford-Upon-Avon, Charlecote CV35 9EW, England (Formerly Coast & Country Charlecote Pheasant Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Charlecote
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Charlecote
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful country house hotel set in the delightful village of Charlecote, opposite the village church, historic Charlecote House and Deer Park. Those wishing to adventure a little further, The Charlecote Pheasant is just minutes from the historic towns of Stratford upon Avon, Warwick and Leamington Spa. The hotel offers charm and character combined with fantastic new facilities. The Charlecote Pheasant has 69 bedrooms with some beautifully appointed superior and premier rooms.The Charlecote Restaurant with its original solid beams and other features adds to the overall character to offer an informal dining experience. The hotel Bar and Lounge offers a relaxing retreat to read or enjoy an afternoon tea. The Hotel has 4 acres of landscaped grounds to provide a lovely rural feel, sit out in and enjoy a refreshing drink. For the more active there is a tennis court. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Charlecote Pheasant
Charlecote Pheasant Hotel
The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel Warwickshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.