We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing short break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel to your Saves list
The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nr Stratford-Upon-Avon, Charlecote CV35 9EW, England (Formerly Coast & Country Charlecote Pheasant Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
£20 WEEKEND OFFER
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Charlecote
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Very relaxing short break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Have just returned from 3 nights at this hotel. It was our first visit and will definitely go again. We had room 56 in Barford Block which is upstairs and overlooks the grounds. Very peaceful. Staff very friendly, welcoming and very attentive. Food was excellent with a good choice. Unlike a previous person's comments, we had a very hot roast beef dinner ! Restaurant very efficiently run.
My only criticism is that the bedroom needed updating as looking rather tired.
However, we had a great time and would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Any of the upstairs double rooms in Barford Block at the back overlooking the grounds. There is no l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheagm, General Manager at The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Hi Avril J, Many thanks for writing such a great review of your recent weeekend at the Charelcote Pheasant, I shall make sure that all the team are made aware of your great comments. Kind regards John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    176
    80
    37
    23
See reviews for
59
310
14
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We have just returned from a 2 day break at this wonderful hotel. We stayed in room 71, which is separate from the main hotel, but not a problem as it is just across the courtyard from main block.
Food as normal for a Shearings Hotel was excellent with service to match.
It is close to motorway junction and easy to find and not far from Stratford.
Across the road from hotel is a National Trust property which is worth a walk around.
If you fancy a trip to Stratford there is a regular bus service from right outside the hotel, cost is £6.65 return, it drops you off in the center of Stratford.
The hotel bar is well stocked and prices reasonable.
Overall well worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheagm, General Manager at The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Hi Tont D, Many thanks for writing such a great review of your short break with us. We are so pleased that you enjoyed all the services provided by the Hotel, and visited all the local area and attractions, and took advantage of the excellent bus service to Stratford. Kind regards John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deal, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We have recently returned from a five day holiday here with a Shearings party. It is a nice hotel set in well maintained grounds. All the staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was comfortable with good facilities and spotlessly clean. There was a reasonably good selection at the bar and a comfortable lounge, also outside seating to enjoy the sunshine. A hotel I can happily recommend to others, and one I would return to for another holiday.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheagm, General Manager at The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
HI Danny B, Many thanks for writing such a great review of your recent stay with us. I shall pass on all your great comments to the team, amd hope that it wont be too long till you return.
Kind regards John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Have just returned from a 5 day stay as part of a Shearings party. Stayed in the executive block - a bungalow set in the beautifully maintained grounds of the hotel. Stunning location - although the lovely weather contibuted! Staff very friendly and helpful. No complaints whatsoever. Would not hesitate to recommed to others and hope to return one day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheagm, General Manager at The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Many thanks for your review of your recent Stay, I agree with you that the Executive Block bedrooms are lovely and secluded with the added extra of our lovely grounds to stroll through
I hope it wont be too long till you return . Kind regards John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleby-in-Westmorland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Having stayed in other Coast & Country Hotels, one medium and one poor, this one was just right! Well, nearly! Lovely friendly and helpful staff throughout, food was very good, except for that one last (third) night, Sunday, when we decided to have the Roast Beef dinner. It was cold and the Yorkshire Pud WAS stone cold, felt like out of the fridge, and the veg were mushy. They attempted to re-heat it, but it was still only luke warm. Shame, because room was large, comfortable and clean and other evenings food was lovely. Apart from that, we had a lovely time and were looked after very well. We would definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheagm, General Manager at The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Many thanks for writing such a nice review, and it is reassuring that on a whole you did enjoy your stay and would like to return. I shall investigate as to why your last Evening meal was not hot. I can assure you, that this is not the serivce or standard we deliver. Kind regards John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croatia
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I stayed here during the week whilst on business in Warwickshire. Despite there being numerous hotels around Stratford-upon-Avon, there is a paucity of properties catering for the business guest; instead most concentrate on the tourist market.

Having tried most of the other hotels with a putative business offering, I decided to give the Charlecote Pheasant a go and booked the highest grade of room at the attractive price of £114 including breakfast.

The hotel is located a few miles from both Stratford and Warwick, in a very pleasant village, with no traffic noise. Upon arrival and check-in, I was directed to the executive 'block' round the back of the main hotel. This was after having parked up in the main car park and carried all my luggage into the reception. The hotel is somewhat spread out and it looks like it has expanded into the various buildings that make up the overall site. The executive rooms are set apart down a short drive and shielded from the main buildings by mature trees. There was dedicated parking for the executive rooms which was a good touch, especially as it was pouring with rain and the walk to/from the main car park would have meant getting soaked.

The room itself was huge; a genuine one-bedroom suite that I am guessing was at least 65 sq m in total size, with a sitting area, separate bedroom and bathroom. The furnishings in the sitting room were acceptable but perhaps a little tired and dated. The bed was great though; a decent size with plenty of comfortable pillows and it provided a very good night's sleep. The bathroom was OK, with a separate walk-in shower. It did take a while for the water to heat up in the morning but when it did it was hot enough, even if the water pressure was adequate at best.

The room was on the ground floor and so whilst it had lots of windows, this meant having to draw loads of curtains in the evening and you couldn't really have a window open (not sure if they actually did open).

There were two decent size (32" from memory) LCD TVs in room with a reasonable selection of channels - it looked like the full range of Freeview options. It didn't look like there was any in-room entertainment system or interactive capability on the TV (EPG, view bill etc.) and one of the remote controls needed new batteries so I had to keep getting up to change the volume or channel on the TV itself.

There was no water in the room although there was a notice on the desk with a card, onto which you could put 2 x £1 coins and magically housekeeping would replace these with a bottle of mineral water the following day. Not much use at 8pm when you've got into the room and are thirsty (there was no mini-bar I could identify, although strangely there was an empty wine fridge in the corner of the sitting room) and in the highest grade of room, I would predicate that most guests would expect complimentary bottled water. The card explained that it was something to do with sustainability, i.e. you have to pay the stop those poor polar bears from drowning. That's rubbish, sorry. You are paying over the odds for what should be complimentary. If 'water use' or 'materials efficiency' are key sustainability issues for the hotel, then you don't offer any bottled water, period.

I booked to eat in the restaurant for dinner and had to accept a later slot as the restaurant was fully booked at my preferred time. Again, for a business guest and the highest grade of room, one would expect not to be told that you have to eat later.

Dinner was OK; it was late and I was hungry so almost anything would have sufficed. Listening to the diners around me, most appeared to be in the restaurant on some kind of package deal (I'm fairly sure that the hotel is linked commercially with - if not owned by - Shearings) and were all ordering table d'hote. I was up for a la carte but the menu was a bit limited on that front although, fair play, they are clearly catering for a specific type of guest. A three course dinner with a couple of drinks was £35, so was acceptable value. It was a little surprising to have to pay for dinner at the time rather than charge it to the room - I didn't know that hotels still did this - but again, this is probably down to their main market and guests not having booked a dinner package so they have to pay for its separately.

I didn't have breakfast as it wasn't served until some time after I had to leave in the morning. I think there was some kind of breakfast on the go or room service option but I didn't partake of it. Business guests tend to rise before retired coach travelling guests but it would have been good if breakfast had been from an earlier hour.

All the staff I encountered were polite, friendly and seemed to genuine want to deliver good customer service.

Overall the stay was acceptable, elevated to a 4 circles 'Very Good' by the price of the room. The stay was fine at the utility function level, i.e. a bed for the night, but there wasn't much added-value beyond that and certainly not sufficient to appeal to business guests, such as easy to use wifi (I had to go and ask for the wifi access codes that were allocated individually from reception but then didn't work), complimentary bottled water and in-room entertainment with iPod and USB docking capability.

I appreciate totally that the hotel has a captive market and is appealing to that market because it delivers consistent revenue. However, given the dearth of choice for business guests in the area (corporate soulless Hilton/Holiday Inn for the same price, The Arden for double the price or Mallory Court for four times the price), there is an opportunity to attract business guests. We will pay extra for a better guest experience and that extra cost is higher margin revenue.

If you're not a business traveller then you'll love the Charlecote Pheasant; it is ideally located and is delivering a value-for-money tourist guest experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheagm, General Manager at The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Many thanks for your very comprehensive review of your recent stay at The Charlecote Pheasant
We are a large Hotel catering for the Leisure Market, however we do have many Business Guests, who find not only the price is attractive but the location and services we provide meet their needs as individual travellers

Many thanks again for taking the time to write a review.Kind regards John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Last night my wife and I ate at The Charlecote Pheasant. We were celebrating our 25th Wedding Anniversary and chose The Pheasant as that is where we had our Wedding Reception 25 years ago.
The food was super and the staff were friendly and efficient.
However our table was in the corner next to the waiters' station, the kitchen and a cleaning cupboard. Although not perfect, this was tolerable for the main part of our meal; however towards the end of our meal, as the restaurant was emptying, we found ourselves in the middle of a noisy clean up operation. There was loud washing up, waiters chatting about their smoking habits, a mop and bucket in action a couple of feet from us and at one point my wife was 'splashed' from behind as someone was vigorously cleaning a hot plate. This spoilt what had been a lovely evening.
I don't like to make a fuss during the evening but did mention it to the barman when we paid as were leaving but he just said 'yes it is noisy over there'.
I did email the manager the next day but got no reply. What a shame.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheagm, General Manager at The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for your review of your visit for a Meal to celebrate your 25th Wedding Anniversary.
Whilst I am pleased that you enjoyed the food and the service, I shall look into where you were seated and "the cleaning down procedures" for the end of service. I do apologise that this happened at the end of what was a nice evening for you and your wife. To date I have not received an e- mail as I would have replied directly after my investigations. Once again my apologies and thank you for bringing this to my attention Kind regards John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel

Address: Nr Stratford-Upon-Avon, Charlecote CV35 9EW, England (Formerly Coast & Country Charlecote Pheasant Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Charlecote
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Charlecote
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful country house hotel set in the delightful village of Charlecote, opposite the village church, historic Charlecote House and Deer Park. Those wishing to adventure a little further, The Charlecote Pheasant is just minutes from the historic towns of Stratford upon Avon, Warwick and Leamington Spa. The hotel offers charm and character combined with fantastic new facilities. The Charlecote Pheasant has 69 bedrooms with some beautifully appointed superior and premier rooms.The Charlecote Restaurant with its original solid beams and other features adds to the overall character to offer an informal dining experience. The hotel Bar and Lounge offers a relaxing retreat to read or enjoy an afternoon tea. The Hotel has 4 acres of landscaped grounds to provide a lovely rural feel, sit out in and enjoy a refreshing drink. For the more active there is a tennis court. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Charlecote Pheasant
Charlecote Pheasant Hotel
The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel Warwickshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.