We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for Money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel to your Saves list
The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nr Stratford-Upon-Avon, Charlecote CV35 9EW, England (Formerly Coast & Country Charlecote Pheasant Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
£20 WEEKEND OFFER
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Charlecote
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
yorkshire
1 review
“Value for Money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

In my opinion excellent value for money. I found the rooms to be very clean and unlike the previous posts I thought the food was very good, Breakfast was more than adequate with a choice of cereals, porridge,fruit and juices and a full English which was always served very efficiently. I was only able to recieve the 5 terrestrial chanels on the tv but was told that they hope to have all the rooms upgraded to digital service by the end of the month. This was not a problem as when I go on holiday it is not to sit in my room and watch tv.
Overall I would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheagm, General Manager at The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Thank you for your review, I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your break here at the Charlecote Pheasant, and that you are happy with our value for money breaks which we pride our selves in delivering. I hope to welcome you again at the Charlecote, if not at one of our other Coast and Country Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    176
    81
    37
    23
See reviews for
59
311
14
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wells, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Having been to two other coast and country hotel before( Exmouth& Bournemouth) and found them to be excellent value we invited friends from Halifax to join us at the Charlecote Pheasant for a weekend break. Upon arrival we thought the setting was perfect, our standard rooms were clean and more than adequate, but a major disappointment was the restaurant. On the first evening the meals were awful, some left uneaten.The second evening reasonable, third evening not good again. breakfasts mostly overcooked and cold,in fact only food hot enough was the soup on last evening. Also presentation leaves a lot to be desired. THe staff were all very helpful, polite and friendly but unfortunately the hotel was let down badly by the restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheagm, General Manager at The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your weekend at the Charlecote Pheasant, we work very hard at maintaining a standard through out the group with regards to food, accomodation and service and we shall investigate your comments with the relevant Depts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

Checked into what seemed a lovely hotel all was nice until I turned on the tv and boy do I wish I hadn't not only did I not have a single channel available as but upon asking at reception several times could somebody please have a look at this for me I was fobbed off several times one of the hotel staff even came into my room snapped the cable in anger and said that was my fault and he would sort a new one and hour later I'm back at reception as he never did come back oh my god I was told to go stay else where as they would give me my money back and to leave the premises in 5 minutes and that I was no longer welcome obviously gob smacked I left my partner who was travelling to stay with me called up to speak to a manager just to be shouted at disgraceful!! I have also taken video footage of my experiance!A complaint has been sent to this hotels head office and thankfully I had a great night elsewhere in stratford upon avon after this experiance I couldn't care less if I'm not welcome again the truth hurts as they say AVOID!!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheagm, General Manager at The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2012
Please ignore this misleading review.



I recall you had previously stayed at the hotel and on the last occasion I upgraded your room free of charge to a superior due to a minor issue with the bedroom door.



The room which you had been checked into had been vacated that morning and the housekeeper reported that the TV was working properly.



After you reported that it was damaged and when our staff investigated it, it was found that the cable had been cut and

our receptionist informed that as it was the weekend we could not fix the TV and had no other room to move you in to.



You demanded to be refunded which we gladly obliged.



When the receptionist had not had the key returned she came to the room to find a do not disturb sign on the outside door.



When the room was eventually vacated, on inspection it was evident that the shower had been used as the floor was soaking and all towels had been used, and empty beer bottles all left round the room as well as empty tobacco pouches at the Window and the room stank of alcohol and smoke.



I received a phone call from your partner to whom I explained the facts of what had happened and the state you had left the room in to which she apologised.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Great meals breakfast and dinner included. Dark corridors, very comfy rooms with tea and coffee facilities. Building made to look like original how it was many years ago. Most visitors seems to be of a mature age. Clean, tidy. friendly and also handy to many places of interest. People have their wedding receptions here and their is a lovely little church opposite.

Room Tip: choose bottom floors if you have luggage to carry up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheagm, General Manager at The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
It was nice to read that you enjoyed our Hotel and Surrounding area, we are indeed Luck to have such a beautifull Church across the road from us ,and it also has nice settings and very handy for our Bride and Grooms who book their wedding here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

we had a three night weekend break with a lovely big room good food and entertainment on Saterday night. the location is just right for Stratford with the local bus stopping right out side the hotel also if you are a member of the National Trust Charlecote Manor is just across the road and is a must to visit, I have just three gripes that spoiled the stay ,right at the end of the online booking a charge of £11.00 to pay by credit card & £12.50 per person cancellation charge for travel insurance both of these i did not pay also a very old TV that did not even have Freeview in this digital age but apart from these small points we would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheagm, General Manager at The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Please ignore this misleading review.



I recall you had previously stayed at the hotel and on the last occasion I upgraded your room free of charge to a superior due to a minor issue with the bedroom door.



The room which you had been checked into had been vacated that morning and the housekeeper reported that the TV was working properly.



After you reported that it was damaged and when our staff investigated it, it was found that the cable had been cut and

our receptionist informed that as it was the weekend we could not fix the TV and had no other room to move you in to.



You demanded to be refunded which we gladly obliged.



When the receptionist had not had the key returned she came to the room to find a do not disturb sign on the outside door.



When the room was eventually vacated, on inspection it was evident that the shower had been used as the floor was soaking and all towels had been used, and empty beer bottles all left round the room as well as empty tobacco pouches at the Window and the room stank of alcohol and smoke.



I received a phone call from your partner to whom I explained the facts of what had happened and the state you had left the room in to which she apologised.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

After reading the reviews I was a bit apprehensive as what to expect.
It could not have been better, booked a Monday to Friday stay with Shearings self drive. All the staff were excellent receptionists, waiters and waitressess bar staff and chambermaids.
Very good selection on the menu both for breakfast and dinner.
We had standard room was was large and a bath/shower which were both very clean.

Ideal for touring the Stratford area

And very good value for the money

The only reason that I have not given 5 its as my wife always said that there is always room for improvement but it is hard to find where.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheagm, General Manager at The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
It was so nice to read your very touching comments and kind remarks about all the team here at Charlecote Pheasant, I have passed them on to all Depts. As a holiday Company we do offer great value breaks in our own Hotels and it's very reassuring that you enjoyed it so much here at the Charlecote. It is a great place to base yourself and tour the beautifull surrounding area and with the National Trust Charlecote Park across the road you dont have to go to far if you dont want to. Hope to welcome you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

We stayed just one night here as I have a friend living nearby and our football team were playing locally so my husband went to the game while I met my friend.

Very impressed with the standard of the hotel which looks as if it's been refurbished fairly recently. Our room was large and cosy, very comfortable and spotlessly clean. In the Farmhouse annexe which was just across the car park - not very nice weather for walking about as we had heavy snowfall in the afternoon, but that wouldn't normally be an issue.

Found all the staff very cheerful and pleasant - nothing seemed too much trouble.

We had dinner from the set menu and food was hot and tasty, so was the breakfast next morning.

Hope to return when the weather is warmer.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheagm, General Manager at The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
Im glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and like many other customers found it great value for money. The Farmhouse building is infact the original part of the hotel and as you have said has some beautifull bedrooms, the reception area and Bar and Restaurant where indeed refurbished in March 2011. I do hope you reurn in the summer as again enjoy all that the Charlecote Pheasant has to offer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel

Address: Nr Stratford-Upon-Avon, Charlecote CV35 9EW, England (Formerly Coast & Country Charlecote Pheasant Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Charlecote
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Charlecote
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful country house hotel set in the delightful village of Charlecote, opposite the village church, historic Charlecote House and Deer Park. Those wishing to adventure a little further, The Charlecote Pheasant is just minutes from the historic towns of Stratford upon Avon, Warwick and Leamington Spa. The hotel offers charm and character combined with fantastic new facilities. The Charlecote Pheasant has 69 bedrooms with some beautifully appointed superior and premier rooms.The Charlecote Restaurant with its original solid beams and other features adds to the overall character to offer an informal dining experience. The hotel Bar and Lounge offers a relaxing retreat to read or enjoy an afternoon tea. The Hotel has 4 acres of landscaped grounds to provide a lovely rural feel, sit out in and enjoy a refreshing drink. For the more active there is a tennis court. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Charlecote Pheasant
Charlecote Pheasant Hotel
The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel Warwickshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.