We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dave L " Have we been eating at a different pub? "” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bear Inn

Bear Inn
Spencers Lane, Berkswell CV7 7BB, England
+44 1676 925562
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Berkswell
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
“Dave L " Have we been eating at a different pub? "”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

My wife and I live locally and have several decent places to eat but , of late, have decided that The Bear is " our local " for food despite others being nearer. In all honesty we've never had a bad meal nor witnessesed family squabbles as one review suggests, they seem to have been very unlucky on that particular occasion.

We've always found the staff to be friendly, helpful and the meals delivered within a reasonable time although, obviously, at peak periods you must expect some delay.

Foodwise, the variey is quite good - remember, when all is said and done, this is a pub serving food not an overpriced Michelin rated restaurant ( thank God! ). Try the Eton Mess Cheesecake, that'll put your World to rights!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    53
    26
    32
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Meriden, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Not the place to go for a light supper.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I visited the Bear Inn at Berkswell looking for a light supper. From the menu it was difficult to find a light meal as everything seemed substantial. We settled for a shared antipasti starter, which was okay, but not very imaginative in terms of variety. Service was very good and the staff were very attentive.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Dads birthday meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Sunday lunch at the Bear. All the food was good and service by Luke was very professional. As always good choice of real ales as well.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“GOOD VALUE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

A very good varied menu, pleasant staff, and reasonable prices make this venue very attractive. Some friends asked my wife and I to choose a restaurant near to our home, and treated us to a meal. They were very pleased that we had made such a good choice.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Excellent traditional English pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

Myself and my wife visit the bear inn on many occasions and recently even more so. The pub off great value food and traditional cask ales. New management has meant that the pub is now at it's best and the staff are so friendly and inviting. It's lovely to see new faces at the pub who always take time to talk to the guests and really ensure they are satisfied with their time at the pub. If you haven't visited the bear inn and are looking for place to drink and dine please go.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bear Inn also viewed

Solihull, West Midlands
Balsall Common, Solihull
 
Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Bear Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bear Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.