We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Confortable rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nailcote Hall Hotel and Golf Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Nailcote Hall Hotel and Golf Club to your Saves list
Nailcote Hall Hotel and Golf Club
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nailcote Lane, Berkswell CV7 7DE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Berkswell
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Henley in Arden, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Confortable rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2008

Stayed here for one night for a friends 40th birthday party and was pleasantly impressed by the quality of the room, we were in the annexe to the left of reception which also included the leisure complex and the rooms in which the party was held. Couldn't hear a thing from my rowdy friends and had a room with four poster bed, large sitting area and adequate bathroom with a good quality shower. Cannot comment on the food etc as we didn't eat in the restaurant but overall the hotel looked well kept

  • Liked — Spacious and clean bedroom
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    71
    43
    17
    13
See reviews for
57
120
2
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2007

My wife and I stayed at Nailcote Hall for a themed weekend and had a very enjoyable time. The old building itself is very attractive and the new parts of the hotel have been added in a way that doesn't detract from it's appeal. Our room was in the newer part of the main building and had a quality Country House feel but with a lighter atmosphere. The room was comfortable, food was superb, and the staff were efficient, chatty and friendly. We've stayed in 'country house' hotels before and they were just old and stuffy with decrepit (sorry - antique?) furniture - often with a staff attitude to match. Not the case here. Top marks to Nailcote Hall.

  • Liked — Food, staff, appearance
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dudley
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2007

I have just had a most wonderful weekend at the Nailcote. The hotel is set in its own grounds adjacent to the golf course. A beautiful 17th century building extended with taste. The hotel staff were friendly, polite and most helpful. The room was very clean, well furnished and a nice size making it a very comfortable stay. All the meals were tasty, well presented and served hot. We used the leisure facilities by taking a swim and took time to relax in the jacuzzi and steam room, where we were provided with lily white soft towels and even a plastic bag for our wet costumes. The evening was a Queen tribute band, not the best, but they created a lovely party atmosphere for all to enjoy. The height of our stay was the murder mystery that we all thoroughly enjoyed. We met lots of really nice people and overall a good time was had by all. After reading all the other reviews I begin to wonder whether I really stayed at the same hotel!

  • Liked — Atmosphere, friendly and relaxing
  • Disliked — Price of Drinks
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, Channel Islands, UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2007

We were at a wedding and stayed overnight at this hotel. What a charming building. Very picturesque and perfect for an intimate wedding.

The spa was very good and the breakfast the following morning was particularly good even when a few of us were late down. The breakfast staff were very chatty and fun.

The room itself was only okay though and we were a bit disappointed with the furniture/decor.

Overall - functional but nice. Golf course looked really lovely and the landscaping all round was really gorgeous.

The wedding rate was £120 I think and I'd never pay more than that to stay here.

  • Liked — The outside / gardens
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2007

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights over Easter 2007 whilst watching Davis Cup at NEC. Location is great and the building is pretty.
Downsides are an over-priced restaurant, noisy wedding parties (2 simultaneously on the Saturday night we stayed), golf course fun but in the middle of major works, room TV very small and bars/terrace mostly taken up by wedding guests. Some staff very inexperienced. The restaurant is too small at breakfast and guests had to queue for up to half an hour.

  • Liked — Setting
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2007

I have just got back from a one night stay at Nailcote Hall and had a lovely time. My boyfriend and I were attending a wedding at the hotel and as we got a disocunted wedding party rate (£115 for a double room) we decided to stay over.

Our room was in the new building and we were very pleasantly surprised when we saw it had a kingsize four poster bed! Not all the rooms have this so ask for number 25 if you fancy a bit of old-fashioned luxury! The room was a good size and had an LCD TV with built-in DVD player. There was a kettle and tea, coffee and hot chocolate as well as biscuits. There was a safe in the wardrobe along with a rather rattly hairdryer! It's ok and did the job but it took ages to dry my hair and I would take my own dryer if I went again.

The bathroom was small but nicely kitted out. The shower is in the bath and is very powerful with a nice big head so you get covered with water. There was a heated towel rail too which was a nice touch.

One thing to note if you're not staying here for a wedding but there's one going on is that if it and you are in the new building you will hear the music in your room. We were exhausted so it didn't bother us but if you're a light sleeper or want an early night you may want to get a room in the old building or confirm when booking that there isn't a function on.

We didn't use the health club but some of our family did and they were happy with it. It's open to the public so can get busy but we had a look at the pool (nice with two jacuzzis) early afternoon and no-one was in it.

Breakfast was included and was pretty good. The hotel was full so we had to wait for a table but the English breakfast was nice and there was cereals and pastries (get there early as they run our fast!) as well as juice.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay and if we were in the area (and could get a decent rate) we would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — The four poster bed
  • Disliked — The noise from the wedding disco
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham UK
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2007

Stayed here for a family birthday celebration.Lovely buiding with the old part of the house retaining all it's period features.
Generally staff polite but young & inexperienced.I got the feeling the hotel is trying to be a country manor type hotel but not quite getting there somehow.
Room was modern but inkeeping with character,clean & felt recently renovated.
We ate in the oak dining room, staff again not quite making the grade but polite.Food was good but did expect a slightly higher standard for the price & quality of hotel.
Breakfast fine but nothing special,cold toast.
Overall pleasent stay, suited our purpose but would most probably go elsewhwer.

  • Liked — Character of building
  • Disliked — Staff
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Nailcote Hall Hotel and Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nailcote Hall Hotel and Golf Club

Address: Nailcote Lane, Berkswell CV7 7DE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Berkswell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Berkswell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nailcote Hall Hotel and Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Nailcote Hall Hotel and Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nailcote Hall Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nailcote Hall Hotel and Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.