We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Campanile Hotel Washington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Campanile Hotel Washington to your Saves list
Campanile Hotel Washington
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Emerson Road, District 5, Washington NE37 1LB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Washington
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

Room was small for the price of 55 pounds and no breakfast and bar prices are a bit naughty also fire alarm set off by sombody at 7am by having a shower and not closing the bathroom door idiots waking full place up and the beds are two single mattresses pushed together

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    57
    47
    35
    16
See reviews for
18
63
21
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Stayed two nights with friends at this hotel on a semi-business trip. I had a twin room on my own which was a bit tight on floor space, but there was room for a built in a desk and wardrobe and free wi-fi. The room and ensuite certainly were clean and the bed comfortable.

But the hotel generally needs a facelift and was dated and a bit tired.

For guests there is no proper relaxing space in the hotel apart from the bar / dining area which had a tiled floor and dining chairs at tables - a bit like a canteen. So nowhere to relax over a drink. Didn't have an evening meal, but breakfast was reasonable with reasonable amount of selection.

To sum up it is OK as a budget hotel if your on your own on business, but not really a hotel for a break with your partner.

Room Tip: No first floor lift for disabled guests
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed two nights when visiting our son in Newcastle just a short drive down the road. Clean, tidy, and very good value it is a budget hotel but none the worse for that. There is free wifi too! Just to note there is no lift so book a ground floor room if unable to manage stairs.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Me and my partner stayed here because it was cheap and close to where we were visiting. The staff were fine, not the happiest bunch of people I have met. The room was really basic, it had a funny smell, like someone had been smoking. The decor was out of date, miserable and generally quite depressing. The room was clean and tidy and everything worked perfectly. The shower was great, the room did fill with steam really quick and didn't leave quick at all. The bed was comfy. The TV was good. The whole place needs a revamp though. The breakfast is good, I had both the continental and the cooked breakfast. The cooked was ok, nothing flash. Lots of choice on the continental however. The price was good and I think this place is good if your trying to save money or if your in a big group of lads or something. I prefer a nicer room to be honest.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
croydon
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

The best way to describe this hotel is a small step up from a travel lodge. This was the most uncomfortable bed I have slept in for years. I had a bad back for days. Room very average. Not oneI will return to.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We've stayed at this hotel a few times now, it's just about equidistant between our home on the South Coast of England and our holiday home of preference in the far north of Scotland,

Pretty standard fare in the comfortable rooms, a good restaurant with a proper chef on duty, pet friendly (they charge £5 per night for the dog, as opposed to Travelodge who charge £20 per night) and a convenient location literally just a stone's throw off the A1(M).

Nothing to get excited about, just good service from friendly staff in a clean and welcoming hotel. The ONLY downside is a smallish car park that does get very full.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Campanile Hotel Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Hotel Washington

Address: Emerson Road, District 5, Washington NE37 1LB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Washington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Washington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Campanile Hotel Washington 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To sleep, relax or even do some work, enjoy the peace and quiet of our bedrooms. comfortable beds for a good night sleep, bathroom with shower bath and hair dryer, on site bistro restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Campanile Hotel Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Campanile Hotel Washington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.