We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Friendly hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Campanile Hotel Washington

Save Saved
You added Campanile Hotel Washington to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Campanile Hotel Washington
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Emerson Road, District 5, Washington NE37 1LB, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
ADDITIONAL £7 DISCOUNT
Ranked #6 of 6 hotels in Washington
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very Friendly hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

This hotel is ideal for low budget stays, the hotel and the rooms are clean, the staff are very welcoming and accomodating. It is also ideally located for going places during the stay as it is right on the A1. After reading a review lower about cleaners knocking on the door, the hotel do provide 'Do not disturb' signs which would stop any interuptions. Overall I found the hotel a good place to rest my head.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    49
    30
    24
    11
See reviews for
14
43
19
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stockport
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

This hotel is not bad value for money and the staff are very helpful. The decor may have been from the1970's but at least it is clean. I was happy with this hotel and will use it again.

Room Tip: if you need a lift ask for a ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twynholm, null, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Stayed here overnight after seeing Bruce Springsteen in Sunderland.

First impression was poor and never got better. There are no lifts and we were on the second floor (though this did not affect us, no one told us nor asked if we needed liftaccess). The room was of a pretty poor standard with decor from the 1970's, ONE plug that worked intermittently, a bath big enough for a 5 year old. Our double bed turned out to be two single matteresses on a double base and I've no idea where they found the pillows - a skip I suspect. We still can't place the smell in the room but the nearest we could get was "excessivelu used very poor quality air freshener".

Service was 'polite' in the evening but most definately not when we got back from the concert just before midnight. A lot of guests were keen for a couple of drinks after a fantastic concert but the manager / night duty person had locked the door and when they finally appeared, we were informed in a very abrupt manner that the bar shuts at 11 and there are no exceptions. They'd had made an absolute fortune staying open to even 1am but I guess the Campanile chain just doesn't need the money.

Won't be returning!

Room Tip: If you want a good room, stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

stayed for 2 nights. hotel room was dated but clean.
We never requested an early wake up call but were bombarded with the cleaners knocking and burtsing into the room to clean the room before 9.30am
breakfast was until 11am and they wanted to clean
came back to room during breakfast to find our room door wide open with a wedge and all our things on show. the cleaner had wedged open the door and was cleaning another room
Luckily we had nothing stolen
the cleaner asked several more times to clean room while we were there i did advise her we would be going out at noon and she could come back then
Amazingly when we returned late on night the cleaner had not been and we has no towels for the morning.
All we were told on check out was "I understand" mmmmm maybe not.
Rubbish hotel with demanding staff and poor customer service skills

Room Tip: stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

I stayed at the Campanile Hotel with my son over the Jubilee weekend to be close for a family wedding. Me and my son had a great stay at the hotel and were very happy with the room and staff. But then came my problems, on my arrival back to yorkshire I received an email for a bill more than we booked for!! Nothing was said to us whilst we were there!!! My mother booked the room on my behalf on her credit card and was advised by the staff to send an email prior to our stay on how much exactly the credit card had to be debited for, which we did £98 for 2 nights stay. On the conformation sheet this is where you have to be very vigalant, it says Bed and Breakfast rates include a continental buffet breakfast!!! aparently this is not so. We were billed an extra £16 on the credit bill £8 each per person for breakfast, why would I spend £16 on a breakfast when the Toby pub is in walking distance and I would have got more food for £3.99 Please double check exactly what you have booked for so you dont get any nasty surprises as we did. The booking.com company who we booked it through had the same attitude as the hotel manager when we questioned and provided evidence of this mish mash of information 'well you should have known' but when it states in black and white that it is included what do they expect!!! I will not be using Booking.com or the campanile Hotel chain again.

Room Tip: Double check exactly what you are paying for before entering your agreement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

A last minute booking close to Newcastle Upon Tyne turned out to be a pleasant surprise. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful as we arrived quite late. The twin room was clean with tea/ coffee making facilities plus hair dryer supplied in the spacious room. Free WiFi was a bonus. After a 23 hour flight from Australia and a 3 hour drive to Newcastle the bath in the ensuite was just what I needed.
The extensive breakfast choice was included in the price and really delicious. The booking was made through Booking.com which I used for some of my holiday accommodation and was not disappointed.
This hotel comes highly recommended as great value accommodation just out of the city close to the 'Angel of The North'. Lorraine & Ken, Victoria, Australia

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Good value for the price we paid, £82 for 2 double rooms continental buffet breakfast included. the rooms were large and clean as was the bedding.Hair dryer tea coffee and kettle in the rooms all in working order.
The continental breakfast was great all you could eat and a fantastic selection, for another £2.75 you had the option of a full cooked breakfast, again great value for money.
Great base if you want to explore all the area has to offer. My only gripe is that the bar closes at 11pm even to residents. But would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Campanile Hotel Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Hotel Washington

Address: Emerson Road, District 5, Washington NE37 1LB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Washington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 hotels in Washington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Campanile Hotel Washington 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To sleep, relax or even do some work, enjoy the peace and quiet of our bedrooms. comfortable beds for a good night sleep, bathroom with shower bath and hair dryer, on site bistro restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Campanile Hotel Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Campanile Hotel Washington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.