We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They have upped their game” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Washington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Washington to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Washington
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Emerson Road, Washington NE37 1LB, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Washington
Liverpool
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“They have upped their game”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

What a splendid experience this was. Checked in by a delightful young lady.Not only was she attentive and happy but also eager to ensure my stay was a good one.

The room was spacious ,In fact the bed was huge, room spotlessly clean and filled with little extras like free shower gel and shampoo not to mention the complimentary water and snack bar.

Breakfast was delicious ,service again excellent. Then there was check out. Swift and pleasurable .

Its been a while sine I have used this particular chain but being a business traveller who uses hotels 3 nights a week.This hotel will certainly get my future business.

Many thanks indeed

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    144
    110
    38
    19
See reviews for
59
114
36
125
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

Whilst in Gateshead on business stayed in this Holiday Inn. The room was very clean and comfortable and had a nice firm bed. Had a few problems with my key card to the room wiping itself for some reason and the Internet not recognising my details, but the girls on reception sorted all the problems out quickly and pleasantly.
Ate in the restraunt on 3 occasions and found the food ok, really enjoyed the Aberdeen Angus burger but the Hunters chicken was decidedly average. Would happily stay here again if in the area.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcudbright, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

I won a break at this hotel on Twitter and really enjoyed it. Our room was fairly large and comfortable and although bathroom looked a little tired it was fine. There seemed to be mainly business people staying here but then it is near services rather than tourist attractions.
Breakfast was very nice apart from the scrambled eggs which looked all dried up. The pancake maker was waiting on someone coming to fix it which was a shame but plenty of other food to eat. I think breakfast is quite expensive unless you book a deal which includes it. We got free Wifi as we are Gold Priority Club members. The staff were friendly and there wasn't any noise through the night. There is plenty of parking here.We visited Old Washington Hall, National Trust Property which is fairly near here and worth a visit. You can take a walk along the road as there is a pavement and a footpath will take you to the services, nowhere else to go really though. There is a Toby Carvery just down the road if you don't want to eat at the hotel or Burger King at the services. Would happily stay again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton UK
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stopped here on a coach tour on the way back from Scotland. The hotel was catering for coach loads and they coped well. A dated hotel but rooms were clean and comfortable. Staff were helpful. The only negative you had to pay for the wi if. Food good and hit.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stretford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights on a 'Newmarket' trip which gave us bed, breakfast & evening meal. Starting with the bed was OK & at last we got a grab handle to get in & out of the shower/bath (shower was superb). Breakfast could, to me, could only be made better if they served up fresh mushrooms instead of the tinned. The rest you were short of nothing. Evening meal on first night was help yourself, & I had the bacon joint but parts of it you could have used to as shoe leather & the chicken was over-cooked & dry but I believe the cod goujons were OK. The second night there was plate meat (mince) pie which was superb, & I had profiteroles after but the other choice of lemon meringue was OKed by others. Usual soup, melon & fruit juice were the starters. Checking in was made easy by our coach driving round the rear of the hotel while out courior (Mo) got our card keys. Drinks were on the pricy side at £17.45 for the cheapest bottle of wine (but a good one from Sicily) but if you take a wine box you can just top up the bottle by gogin back to your room.

Room Tip: We didn't have any choice with being on a coach trip
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

I stayed at this hotel overnight and found it welcoming clean and pleasant. The room was lovely and it was clean and well looked after. I think it had some nice little touches like the shower cap and shoe cleaner. The food was good and the staff were lovely and I felt they enjoyed their jobs. I liked the room and the bed was very comfortable. I would recommend it to others if they are in the area. I don't use the plastic keys often and found it difficult at first so it would be nice to have some instructions as it is easy but only when you know how to use it. I think the hotel was wheelchair friendly. Well done to the staff here for giving a good impression.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Comphy bed, clean room with the usual amenities. Resteraunt was busy and when we received our food we realised why, staff were friendly and attentive. Would recommend for business or pleasure, we didn't have one but it's also dog friendly.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Washington

Address: Emerson Road, Washington NE37 1LB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Washington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Washington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Washington 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Washington is an ideally located hotel, just off the A1M junction 64. Centrally located between, Historic Durham, Sunderland and Newcastle City The hotel offers a 'Go Green' Environmental Room in association with Tree Appealplanting trees on site and across the UK. This is a well established, comfortable hotel, with free car parking, noted for its friendly staff. The Hotel has a Traders Restaurant a newly refurbished lounge and bar area.Kids Stay & Eat Free*. The hotel has 136 fully air conditioned bedrooms, including family and accessible rooms. Only a short drive from Europes largest Shopping Centre - the Metrocentre, Newcastle City Centre, the award winning Beamish Open Air Museum, Sunderland Glass Centre and Durham County Cricket Ground. The North East coastline and Angel of the North are also within close driving distance.*Terms & Conditions apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Washington Hotel Washington
Washington Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Washington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.