We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spotless” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Washington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Washington to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Washington
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Emerson Road, Washington NE37 1LB, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Washington
leeds
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Spotless”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Just back from this hotel and could not even spot a speck of dust in my room, paintwork was fresh and clean, bathroom tiles mold free with a new shower curtain,food in restaurant was good and breakfast had a good choice, reception and bar pleasant area to sit also staff are friendly .
The bed was comfortable with a choice of pillows from feather and anti allergenic hard or soft delivered swiftly to my room flat screen Hd television 32in and tea and coffee making facilities.
Unable to fault in anyway.

Room Tip: First floor rooms seem newly refurbished
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrWashington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to share such great feedback about your recent experience of the hotel, rest assured I will share it with the team who I know will be equally delighted to hear it.

I hope that we can welcome you back to stay again soon.

Yours sincerely

Francis Hindle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    144
    111
    38
    19
See reviews for
60
114
36
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We booked this last minute after making a very late decision that we had to go and see our elderly uncle in Durham hospital - a good 3/4 hour drive up
we went straight to the hospital and arrived at hotel 7.30PM
they were very welcoming, our room was clean, stylish and very comfortable
bathroom at bit small compared to the room but clean and lots of lovely hot water for that much needed bath
We ate in their restuarant which was very tasty albeit a bit expensive
Breakfast was a pleasure and their staff made us all welcome
Recommend to use - but book using something like booking.com as booking direct somehow ends up dearer!

Room Tip: We booked late and ended on the 6th floor this was very quiet and heard no noise from outside or in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrWashington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to share such great feedback from your recent stay with us.

I am sorry your visit wasn't for a more enjoyable reason but delighted to hear that you were so well looked after and welcomed.

Please be assured that like for like bookings made directly with the hotel will always be just as good a deal as we offer a Best Price Guarantee to ensure you don't lose out.

We hope to welcome you again soon.

Yours sincerely

Francis Hindle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I were visiting family in the area and this hotel was in an ideal location. The hotel is a bit dated, but was clean and the staff were friendly & very helpful. We would stay here again but only if we got the reduced rate that we got with this booking.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrWashington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience here on TripAdvisor.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and would return, we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Yours sincerely

Francis Hindle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

There is one great thing about this hotel, and that is leaving it.

The standard is ok and the rooms are clean enough. That, however could never make up for the unbelievable rudeness of the reception staff. A request for a cup of coffee was met with "make it yourself in your room" and an angry frown.

I hate the fact that a hotel is only as good as the attitude and disposition of the staff, but this experience shows that people really does matter.

Will obviously never come back, as I prefer not to pay for rudeness. I get that for free elsewhere.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrWashington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Reviewer

I am extremely sorry and very surprised to hear about the shortfall in our normally high service standards. I generally receive great feedback about the Front Desk team and can assure you that this will be fully investigated and reviewed internally.

If you are able to contact me to share any more details about your stay to assist in this matter I would be very grateful to hear from you directly at the hotel on 0191 418 9400.

Thank you for your feedback.

Yours sincerely

Francis Hindle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bull Shoals, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Overall, this was a pleasant stay. Rooms were getting a little worn, but no real problems to report.
The bar and resturant were fine, but thought breakfast cost was over the top. For the full english breakfast (Self-sevice) it was around 16 UK pounds. I must be getting used to American breakast prices, which are normally around $11.00 or free. That UK breakfast was around $26 !!! which mounts up if you are staying a few nights.They plan to make internet free in a few months time, however current charge is around 10 UK pounds or around $16.50 per day Yikes!!!
The place was clean, staff were good and bed was comfortable. Apart from my 2 little gripes I would recomend and will return.
Final tip: If you like indian, they serve a very nice Tika Chicken Masala.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrWashington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your recent review here on TripAdvisor.

I was pleased to read that you would hope to return in the future and we look forward to welcoming you back for another stay.

Yours sincerely

Francis Hindle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLASGOW
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Service and staff good at the hotel and meals are OK. There is a different buffet each evening including a drink for £15.95 which is ok for value but food is nothing startling. Breakfast was good though black pudding a bit dry. Rooms dated and need re done but all and all and average place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrWashington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your recent TripAdvisor review, I was pleased to note that you found the service and staff good and the food to your liking (I have noted your feedback about the black pudding).

We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.

Yours sincerely

Francis Hindle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK - Manchester
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

An older-style Holiday Inn, in need of general updating and refurbishment (as echoed in a few other reviews on here). Room fairly small (double bed style) with minuscule bathroom but view from 4th floor is pretty good!
Food was quite good really, however the restaurant has NO atmosphere at all and feels like a school canteen with soft-furnishings. Breakfast in the morning is buffet-style and quite acceptable.

The room didn't seem to have any way of adjusting the temperature (apart from opening the window). I may have missed it if it did however!

The hotel requires more than 1 terminal at reception as when leaving there was a 5-deep queue for the 1 receptionist. It would have helped if she had apologised (which she didn't) for the waiting time - possibly because she is so used to customers waiting!

Got a free Crunchie on departure which I thought was a nice/slightly weird touch

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrWashington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for sharing your recent experience of the hotel here on TripAdvisor.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your dining experience at the hotel. I was sorry to hear that you were unable to regulate the temperature, all of the radiators are fitted with Thermostatic Control Valves so I apologise if this wasn't clear.

I was also sorry to hear that you queued to check-out, the receptionist should have acknowledged and apologised for your wait and I will certainly follow this up with the Reception Manager to both review staffing levels and also ensure a higher recognition level.

We give out Crunchies on Friday morning check-outs as a little extra to celebrate 'That Friday feeling'.

Yours sincerely

Francis Hindle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Washington

Address: Emerson Road, Washington NE37 1LB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Washington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Washington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Washington 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Washington is an ideally located hotel, just off the A1M junction 64. Centrally located between, Historic Durham, Sunderland and Newcastle City The hotel offers a 'Go Green' Environmental Room in association with Tree Appealplanting trees on site and across the UK. This is a well established, comfortable hotel, with free car parking, noted for its friendly staff. The Hotel has a Traders Restaurant a newly refurbished lounge and bar area.Kids Stay & Eat Free*. The hotel has 136 fully air conditioned bedrooms, including family and accessible rooms. Only a short drive from Europes largest Shopping Centre - the Metrocentre, Newcastle City Centre, the award winning Beamish Open Air Museum, Sunderland Glass Centre and Durham County Cricket Ground. The North East coastline and Angel of the North are also within close driving distance.*Terms & Conditions apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Washington Hotel Washington
Washington Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Washington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.