We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite alright, as the Brits would say” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Washington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Washington to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Washington
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Emerson Road, Washington NE37 1LB, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Washington
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
438 reviews 438 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
“Quite alright, as the Brits would say”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

The Holiday Inn is a decent hotel which seems to be chosen mainly by business travellers. The rooms are nice, but you should definitely insist on two things: getting a room facing away from the highway to avoid the noise and a non-smoking room (unless you plan to smoke yourself, of course).
The hotel also has a bar and a dinner restaurant, and you will not be disappointed - food and drink are of good quality and sensibly priced. The breakfast buffet is large and offers all the pleasures of a British "fully fried" breakfast. However, please avoid the scrambled egg, it seems to be made from some sort of concentrate and not real eggs.
The staff is very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the highway, and don't forget to ask for a non-smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrWashington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Reviewer

I was delighted to read about your recent enjoyable stay. Thank you for sharing your kind comments about the team and of course your dining experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back if you are visitng the North East again in the future.

Yours sincerely

Francis Hindle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    144
    110
    38
    19
See reviews for
59
114
36
125
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
north england
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Stayed here for one night, the room was comfortable and actually found it to be quiet considering the proximity of the A1. Breakfast was a surprise as it was as good as what we have had at the Marriott hotel. The staff were friendly and welcoming.

The down side was a group of Scottish men staying who were on a Stag party I think, they kept us awake all night with the noise they made running up and down the corridor and banging on doors, they also ruined the lovely breakfast with foul language and load bolshy behaviour, the poor waitress was a nervous wreck! When I complained I was told the night porters had been several times to try calm these guys down. I would say the management should have taken into account the other visitors staying with them and asked these louts to leave if they didn’t calm down, unfortunately this didn’t happen and our nights sleep was ruined. Won’t be back for a second visit at the risk of having a repeat performance.

Room Tip: Don't stay if you want a good nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrWashington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience with us, I was pleased to see that on the whole the hotel and our team were such a positive experience.

I was sorry to learn that there was a party of guests whose behaviour spoiled your stay - such incidents are not a regular occurence but your point about the management of them has been noted. It is a shame that some people are unable to respect other guests enjoyment and we do endeavour to deal with such issues diplomatically to avoid escalation that might cause more disruption.

Yours sincerely

Francis Hindle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights,staff were friendly and the hotel was nice and clean.comfortable bed and good pillows . We didn't have breakfast here as it was just to expensive. If breakfast was more affordable it would have been perfect break.
Our room had a bath and complimentary robe and slippers to use. There was also complimentary waters left in the fridge along with a mars bar.(abit random)
Location was good however close to busy road network and the traffic could be heard from the room,

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrWashington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Reviewer

I was delighted to hear what an enjoyable break you had and how friendly the team were.

Thanks for sharing your experience here on Trip Advisor, and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future if you visit the North East again.

Yours sincerely

Francis Hindle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

As always used this hotel as a business user , really easy to find just off the motorway and loads of parking . Friendly staff and easy check in either 500 points or drink complimentary as gold card holder which was nice !.

The hotel is not new or the most up
To date , however , it was clean and met the standard you would expect for holiday inn,

The room was large , with modern LCD tv and was clean .

The bar area was nice with very friendly helpfull staff and really good food , portions and quality and value . Large tv to watch the football and a relaxing lounge .

The breakfast was hot and cold buffet , although the hot food wasn't really that hot , infact mushrooms stone cold ?. Not really sure why?.

The staff again where really helpfull and. Overall the breakfast expirience was good , although some food was cold .

Overall an ok holiday inn , fairly good value and would stay there again if in the area .

One thing I notice more and more is that the wifi is always an extra cost , even in the lounge areas , becoming a let down the more holiday inns I stay at actually .

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrWashington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay.

I was pleased to read about your positive Priority Club experience and the positive feedback about the team.

I have flagged your comments regarding breakfast to the Head Chef and Food & Beverage Manager to action moving forwards.

We look forward to welcoming you back again when you next visit the North East.

Yours sincerely

Francis Hindle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropsire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The staff here are really friendly and and the food in the restaurant exceeds expectations, the dining area is rather dated but the warm and efficient nature of the staff more than make up for this.situated just off the A1 but very quiet for its close proximity to the busy road.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrWashington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Reviewer

I was delighted to read about your recent stay and in particular how warm and efficient you found the team during your visit.

Thanks for sharing your experience here on Trip Advisor and we hope to welcome you back again in the not too distance future.

Yours sincerely

Francis Hindle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Just over a year since my previous visit and delighted to report as good as before.Location is great in terms of road network and the staff are ultra friendly ( think it`s a Northern thing ). Room was as expected and had a very enjoyable bite to eat. Hope its not a year before my next visit!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrWashington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. It was great to hear about your recent stay and that the hotel ticks so many boxes for you.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Yours sincerely

Francis Hindle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a couple of nights at the weekend. We got a very good deal for both bed and breakfast. This hotel is ideal for people traveling, hence it's location near the motorway. Was very impressed with breakfast, especially as it was included in our package price (on this occasion). The staff were very friendly and down to earth, exactly what you need. The bathroom is a bit dated, but the shower was powerful and the water temperature could easily adjusted.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrWashington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Reviewer

I was delighted to hear about your recent weekend break here in Washington and what an enjoyable stay you had.

Thank you for sharing your views here on Trip Advisor and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future to Holiday Inn.

Yours sincerely

Francis Hindle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Washington

Address: Emerson Road, Washington NE37 1LB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Washington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Washington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Washington 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Washington is an ideally located hotel, just off the A1M junction 64. Centrally located between, Historic Durham, Sunderland and Newcastle City The hotel offers a 'Go Green' Environmental Room in association with Tree Appealplanting trees on site and across the UK. This is a well established, comfortable hotel, with free car parking, noted for its friendly staff. The Hotel has a Traders Restaurant a newly refurbished lounge and bar area.Kids Stay & Eat Free*. The hotel has 136 fully air conditioned bedrooms, including family and accessible rooms. Only a short drive from Europes largest Shopping Centre - the Metrocentre, Newcastle City Centre, the award winning Beamish Open Air Museum, Sunderland Glass Centre and Durham County Cricket Ground. The North East coastline and Angel of the North are also within close driving distance.*Terms & Conditions apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Washington Hotel Washington
Washington Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Washington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.