We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Washington A1(M) Southbound

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Travelodge Washington A1(M) Southbound to your Saves list
Travelodge Washington A1(M) Southbound
Moto Service Area, A1(M) | Portobello, Washington DH3 2SJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Washington
Cheltenham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“New rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have stayed here before the changes, and it was adequate, but since the new changes it has gone up in our estimations. After putting up with just 1 pillow it was very nice to have 2 pillows anda very nice comfy bed. We will be back.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    10
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
10
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rijen
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at Travelodge Washington A1(M) Southbound. This is a very clean and good motel to sleep when you need a place to stay if you want shopping at the metrocentre at gateshead (New Castle). We will come back


  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This travelodges on the southbound A1(m), allows an evening in Newcastle , then set off home (if you live southbound of course). Stop less then ten miles from Newcastle have a good nights sleep in a clean ,warm and comfortable bed. Get a breakfast and set off fresh in the morning.
Travelodges offer bargain rates on this hotel which isn't dear in the first place. We use this a as a stop over from Christmas shopping at the metro centre, and then wrap the presents in the travelodges ready to deliver to Santa.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014 via mobile

After I messed my booking up and not realising until the last minute, I rang the travel lodge and explained, my call was returned within a couple of minutes and the problem solved immediately much to my relief. Can't recommend this travel lodge and their staff enough :-)

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

I stayed at this at this travel lodge on the 5/11.2014 for an over night stay the hotel was very clean i stayed in a family room it was very roomy and comfortable the reception staff Sarah and Allison were really friendly and made us feel very welcome

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

An urgent need for a last minute hotel in Washington left me with limited choice and with a little trepidation I booked the A1 southbound services Travel Lodge.
I needn't have worried. It was spotlessly clean, comfortable, pretty quiet given its location and absolutely fine for an overnight stay ( and half the price of the nearby Premier Inn). The room and bathroom had had a makeover and whilst a little spartan had everything you'd need- TV, kettle, hairdryer, iron etc. The bed was king sized and actually rather comfortable.
The staff were particularly friendly and helpful - but then we Geordies are.
I might just start using Travel Lodges again.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

I decided to stay here as it had been recently undated and was cheaper than the premier inn I normally stay at. The post code directed me to the Northbound hotel so use the POI on your sat-nav if you are unfamiliar with area. The entrance was sparse but clean and the check inn staff friendly and efficient. We were pleased our room faced away from the A1 and was quiet.
The overall look of the room was improved from days of old, modern spacious and clean, this goes for the bathroom. The main bed was very comfortable, however the 'camp bed' for children was very uncomfortable and gave my 14 year old son back ache. The biggest issue for me was that the room stunk of stale smoke as if someone had been staying there long term and smoking. This made our throats and eyes a bit sore and was at odds with the fresh towels and linen and spoiled what was a reasonable room although my wife was distressed there was no hair dryer!
Coming out of the travel lodge is tricky as traffic is moving fast and awkward to see. I would still say the Premier Inn is higher quality and the onsite breakfast is always good (travel lodge do offer a breakfast box) and if I had booked early I could have got it cheaper than here.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Washington A1(M) Southbound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Washington A1(M) Southbound

Address: Moto Service Area, A1(M) | Portobello, Washington DH3 2SJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Washington
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Washington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Travelodge Washington A1(M) Southbound reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Washington a1(m) Southbound Hotel Washington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Washington A1(M) Southbound, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.