We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“difficult if you do not have a car” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa to your Saves list
Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stone Cellar Road | High Usworth, Washington NE37 1PH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Washington
Newton Abbot, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“difficult if you do not have a car”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

stayed here for 3 nights on business. The hotel is a good 20 minute walk in the dark from any other civilisation. The staff were very friendly and helpful. My room was a fair size and very clean. The shower was excellent. My room was on the ground floor a fair walk from the main facilities - the hotel is a bit of a rabbit warren. And it was a very warm room - i ended up turning the radiator off and it was minus 3 outside. I had room service on two of the nights - not bad but £5 tray charge is a bit pricy. I also used the gym several times - well equipped and very clean with a friendly chap there to help. Sleep quality was an issue as the room above me appeared to be occupied by somebody wearing hobnail boots who liked to move the furniture. We ate in the hotel restaurant on the third night - we did not fancy walking in the cold and dark! The food was ok but a little expensive. My colleague was esctatic about the choice of ice cream flavours though. Breakfast was a bit of a let down - poor choice of fruit, coffee sat in a help yourself pot stewing. Overall it was ok but I would not want to stay there for work for weeks on end.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    136
    94
    37
    38
See reviews for
65
110
41
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burntwood, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Hi All,

Very much enjoyed my stays at the George Washington.
The rooms are good and clean – between my last two stays the whole hotel was refurbished. I have stayed many times over the past 6 years on business but was only tempted once to eat there in the evenings. Don't get me wrong the food was good and the service was professional but even though I was on business expenses I don't like wasting clients hard earned money. The hotel is single and in some places two storey it is very long and can be quite a walk from the reception. All facilities (Food Golf Spa' Gym and reception are close to about 20 rooms the rest are quite a hike away. So when booking it's a good idea to ask for one near the gym if you want to be close to the facilities. They are not noticeably noisier than the others but if you want total quite then the ones far from reception are very quiet. One thing to be aware of being a Mercure chain they do have a lot of coach tour one night bookings so breakfast can be manic (so best to ask the evening before if one is in that night and plan ahead and either get in for bang on 7am or after 9.00). The golf course is ok and quite challenging for the amateur.

Room Tip: Beware of the coach tours at breakfast - WiFi is good throughout the hotel. If you want to be close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Went for the Boogie Wonderland night for a works christmas night out, it was the very busy at times there was only one staff working at the bar which we had to wait ages to get served. The food was ok had about 20 sprouts the meat was ok the roast potatoes were a bit dry eat it all as i was hungry i had the Cranberry & Orange Torte which was nice. The staff were not friendly ill be lucky if the could crack a smile. The music was a bit rubbish the party finished at 1 but by 11o'clock people were starting to leave we left about 12 went to a friends house and more fun there i dont think ill be going again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingahm
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

A relaxing hotel set in a quite area with good access to all the North East major roads and locations. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. The restaurant provide above average food but the daily soup is always first class. The staff provide excellent customer service with reception personnel, Liane, Sam, Laura , and restaurant personnel Kamila, Hayley, Kirsty, Jade, Lewie, Ben and Chris always going the extra mile to ensure a relaxing and stress free stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DONCASTER - UK
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

If you like to chill out, its a nice place.

Have stayed several times and never been disappointed.

Hotel offers Golf and Leisure, Bistro Bar and Restaurant. Limited choice of draught beers but if you're lucky theres 'lashings' of Newcastle Brown Ale chilling behind the bar.

It's a most unusual location amongst a housing estate, FORE!

Friendly staff offer a warm welcome and are on hand to answer any question and to offer support.
Slight downsides,
1. The Bar Staff (Male) and Restaurant Staff (again Male) need to lift it a bit, they let the side down in my opinion.
2. It's a Labyrinth of long corridors, stairs and doorways.

Upsides:
1. The Staff (Female) are extremely helpful and pleasant
2. The Bistro / Restaurant food is a great reason to stay indoors. The Best Rib Eye Steak ever and the Fish and Chips put some coastal towns to shame.
3. Breakfast - simply knockout.

Room Tip: Eat In. Request a top floor room, foot traffic noise transfers through the lower room ceilings and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

My room was fine and the bed was particularly comfortable. Bar was good with Sky TV. The whole place needs a lick of paint - there are loads of chips and scrape marks in the walls which makes a bad impression. Breakfast was decidely average and not worth £10 extra. Had a knock at the golf range on the evening - awful. Poor quality, ripped mates with no tees to use - one of the worst ranges I have ever hit a ball on.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

It was over 20 years since I lasted visited this hotel, it was good then and it is now !

We arrived on Friday 23rd November for a one night stay.

Check in was done by a friendly, polite and professional young lady and we were allocated room 7 on the first floor.

Room was spacious and very nicely decorated with a good bathroom and good room facilities.

We ate dinner in Lincoln's Restaurant and were not disappointed. We were shown to our table ( of our choice) by Anita who I think was the Head Waiter. She went through the menu and took our order. Again she was very polite, friendly and professional. We both ordered steaks, I ordered the ribeye my wife ordered the sirloin. Both were cooked exactly as we had ordered and the quality of the steak was excellent. No complaints whatsoever.

We finished off in the bar and again the bar lady was friendly, polite and professional.

I am getting boring but check the following morning was the same.

All in all an excellent hotel with excellent facilities but more importantly great staff who cared about customers.

Hotel in a good location to visit Metro Centre, Durham, Beamish etc or visits to coast, Seaburn or South Shields.

Would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Try the steaks!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa

Address: Stone Cellar Road | High Usworth, Washington NE37 1PH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Washington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Washington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.