We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing enjoyable evening” 5 of 5 stars
Review of OrangeGrass Thai Resteraunt

OrangeGrass Thai Resteraunt
7 Mount Terrace, South Shields NE33 1PY, England
+44 191 455 8555
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 153 Restaurants in South Shields
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Large groups, Families with children, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
South Shields, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing enjoyable evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I visited this restaurant recently with my family we had not booked more of a spare of the moment thing on arrival the staff were warm and welcoming. We were seated straight away the place is nicely decorated. Our drinks order was taken and we didnt have to wait long for them to arrive. My children aged 7 and 9 were offered a menu this holds well with me as they should be treat as customers aswell and I feel it adds to their dining experience if they are allowed to choose their own meals. The staff engaged with all of us at the table we all chose a starter and main meal along with side orders the food was tasty and full of flavour the children had dessert and I had a liqueur coffee. The staff ensured we were well taken care of from beginning to end without being to intrusive and even showed our children how they fold their napkins. All in all a lovely evening. And when the bill arrived it wasnt a shock. So for fabulous Thai food in South Shields in a relaxed environment look no further than Orangegrass

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    40
    8
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
South Shields
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Tasty Thai Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Been to this restaurant a few times since it opened, however this time I ordered take away and had it delivered well within 30 minutes and everything was hot and cooked perfectly. Food was a little more fiery than previously remembered, however this did not put me off. The prices for take away are the same as restaurant prices so it is certainly not the cheapest food you can eat at home, this is irrelevant for me as the food was great and a welcome change to the usual Chinese or Indian mainly on offer in South Shields.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Autism charity night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The night was fantastic, the buffet food was hot and delicious. A great party atmosphere with traditional Thai dancing and a fantastic local band, the Alibis who donated their fee to the charity. I have eaten here many times and the food and service are always great. A great night for a really good cause, we'll done to the staff.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Had better from Iceland”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Visited on Sunday 18th August for the "All you can eat buffet"....which to be truly honest isn't much! The "starters" were what you'd buy from Iceland for a cheap nibble - chewy,greasy prawn toast, old offcuts of peppers in wilted batter & cold chips. The mains were no better, apart from a dire lack of choice, the staff kept stirring the food to avoid skins forming on the dishes. Very little left in the pans at 2.00pm. The potato & chicken curry was 90% potato....had someone beaten me to the chicken? The other dishes were just as bad, tough meat interspersed with tired veg. Desserts or more to the point the 1 dessert......tapioca with lychees was the best thing about the meal. Also staff need to be aware that cleaning the table next to the one at which we were sitting with Mr Sheen polish,isn't a good idea!!! Furniture polish & food don't mix. Overpriced.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A really nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

We popped in for food after tiring of Indian cuisine and were very impressed. The service was excellent (very attentive) the food was beautiful and the price was very reasonable. We will be going here more often.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed OrangeGrass Thai Resteraunt also viewed

South Shields, Tyne and Wear
South Shields, Tyne and Wear
 
South Shields, Tyne and Wear
South Shields, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to OrangeGrass Thai Resteraunt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage OrangeGrass Thai Resteraunt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.