We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Thai food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of OrangeGrass Thai Resteraunt

OrangeGrass Thai Resteraunt
7 Mount Terrace, South Shields NE33 1PY, England
+44 191 455 8555
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 128 restaurants in South Shields
Price range: $17 - $34
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
south shields
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Thai food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Excellent service, fantastic delicious food highly recommend especially the steamed coconut rice delicious

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    104
    29
    6
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good but could be better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

I have been here a couple of times. The food is ok but very over priced I feel. The restaurant is very clean and looks good,although they have crammed a few too many tables in which can lead to a feeling of being squashed and loss of privacy. In this town you are limited for Thai food as we are lovers of Indian food primarily, but there is a pub called The Maltings about 200 yards from orangegrass that does much better value that food and its very nice.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

Best place I have eaten ever! Easily my dish of the year.
Excellent staff, attentive and polite. Very authentic. After visiting Thailand myself many a time, tastes like the real deal. 100%. Well done.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Top marks for both the food and for the service !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I've eaten here at least six times in the past year, and I feel fortunate this place is in my home town. I've had great food from the a la carte menu, and can also highly, highly recommend the banquet, which is superb.
The staff have also been superb every time I've visited, whether I've gone in a party of 2 or a time 10 of us all had the banquet. Really can't recommend this place highly enough !

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Thai Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Very good quality Thai food. Great service.

Excellent menu. Great atmosphere.

Very busy at peak times and as a result a little slow with the service. But bear with them as the wait is well worth it. I could not fault it and only mention the slow service for the sake of honesty and impartiality. But if you are good then you are going to be busy. Catch 22! Staff were helpful and pleasant even though busy.



Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed OrangeGrass Thai Resteraunt also viewed

South Shields, Tyne and Wear
South Shields, Tyne and Wear
 
South Shields, Tyne and Wear
South Shields, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to OrangeGrass Thai Resteraunt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage OrangeGrass Thai Resteraunt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.