We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like eating in Thailand” 5 of 5 stars
Review of OrangeGrass Thai Resteraunt

OrangeGrass Thai Resteraunt
7 Mount Terrace, South Shields NE33 1PY, England
+44 191 455 8555
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 137 Restaurants in South Shields
Price range: $16 - $31
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
NEWCASTLE
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Like eating in Thailand”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is the best Thai restaurant i have eaten in the North East. The food is just like eating in Thailand. The service is great and the prices are very reasonable.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    36
    8
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing food , amazing customer service , best Thai in north east”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Love this place food is amazing service is friendly and faultless I love Thai food and have been to many in the North east and this is the best by far would highly recomend the manger is so friendly and chats to u and he makes sure your food and service is the best . Amazing place !!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Best Thai in Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I've visited this restaurant on numerous occasions with husband, friends and workmates and I have never been let down. The service is helpful and friendly and the food is first class. It's one of my favourite restaurants in South Shields and it's most certainly the best Thai restaurant in the town. I always look forward to coming here and will continue to do so. Keep it up, Orangegrass!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“No excuse - only 1 mile away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

OrangeGrass is much frequented by friends - it's the original Thai in town, but for whatever reason, we've always promised to go, but never have. This wwas put right last Friday, and what a joy the experience was.. Attentive service, information about the dishes, no attempt to 'sell up', they were happy that we had a good time sdampling their fine cuisine. The Thai beer was a perfect compliment to the spicy but never overpowering food. Jasmine tea at the end was an aid to digestion. Now that we've been, we.ll return. A good experience. Lots of eating room in an airy restuarant.yec

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Tyne and Wear
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nothing spectacular....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I visited here with friends for a birthday celebration. The staff were very friendly and accommodating however the food let it down, a little bland to say the least.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed OrangeGrass Thai Resteraunt also viewed

South Shields, Tyne and Wear
South Shields, Tyne and Wear
 
South Shields, Tyne and Wear
South Shields, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to OrangeGrass Thai Resteraunt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage OrangeGrass Thai Resteraunt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.