We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“theatre show” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Customs House

The Customs House
Mill Dam, South Shields NE33 1ES, England
+44 191 454 1234
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Customs House is South Tyneside's premier arts centre offering great arts & entertainment for all. We are a theatre, cinema, gallery, cafe, wedding venue & a provider of cultural development services. Want to know more? Why not get in touch?
Gateshead
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“theatre show”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We went here last minute to see a show at the theatre. The only tickets were row p we were slightly worried as these were the back row of the ground floor. The venue was perfect little theatre great view from wherever your sat on the floor. Nice bar area and can take drinks back into the theatre as long as plastic cups.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    16
    8
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
tyneside
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Friendly venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We are regular attenders at the customs house. We like the size of the venue and the friendly staff. The cinema has an intermate feeling as it isn't to large I must admit that I love art but sometimes the exhibitions leave me cold.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“menu for venue”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

menus good for the venue. Found staff unhelpful and sometimes rude not just to us but others. It was a very busy and took a long time to be tables to be cleared.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Stacey Kent in concert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Great Venue for a truly sublime evening. Staff are friendly and helpful and the venue is intimate and atmospheric. Cinema is good as well.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
“Went to see a show”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Went to the customs house to see Get Up And Tie Your Fingers,a story with music about the women who followed the migrating herring,gutting and packing them, and the loss of there men in a storm.the songs were sung by the cast and Custom Voices a local woman's choir.an excellent show and a good night.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Customs House also viewed

South Shields, Tyne and Wear
South Shields, Tyne and Wear
 
South Shields, Tyne and Wear
South Shields, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to The Customs House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Customs House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.