We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bar Blue Bistro

Bar Blue Bistro
Western Approach, South Shields NE33 5QS, England
+44 191 427 0723
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 153 Restaurants in South Shields
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Bar Blue bistro opened for business on the 1st May 2012. Bar Blue is a stylish wine bar bistro offering a dynamic menu of modern classics bistro style, whether it's a relaxing drink, family meal, intimate dinner or casual lunch this place has it all. An affordable, trendy place you just want to be. We thank everyone who's visited, we created Bar Blue for people like you!
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

We got a platter type starter between 4 and it was amazing. We got so much we cudnt eat it all ;) the main meals were lovely too. Great place

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    32
    19
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I have been to this restaurant three times now at different times of the day and found the food to be excellent and very well presented. Prices are reasonable there is a good menu to choose from meeting all needs.

Environment is very relaxed and clean.Staff are very helpful and attentive.
Will definately be going back and will reccomend to family and friends.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Better than what it originally was before being took over. However uncomfortable atmosphere, staff wanted to be somewhere else and overpriced drinks for the location.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, United Kingdom
1 review
“sunday lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

we went for mothers day and had a great sunday lunch will certainly be going back

It was our first time there and the interior was very nice, definitely reccomend it and will be going back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely night out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I went with my husband and two friends and we all enjoyed our evening. The staff were very friendly and helpful without giving the inpression we were being hassled. The food was lovely, we had a sharing platter, i had vegetable lasagne, others in the party had steak with was lovely, the lamb was not fatting and cooked well and the salmon was perfect. the truffles were to die for. We had planned to go on to other venues after our meal but it was so nice we stayed until late. The men in the party frequented the pub in its previous life and did miss the live music but i thought it was beautiful and a bif improvement

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Blue Bistro also viewed

South Shields, Tyne and Wear
South Shields, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Bar Blue Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bar Blue Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.