We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous location...a bit far out for work tho....nice to go back to at night tho .” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Little Haven Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Little Haven Hotel to your Saves list
Little Haven Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   River Drive, Littlehaven, South Shields NE33 1LH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in South Shields
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous location...a bit far out for work tho....nice to go back to at night tho .”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed on business...great hotel...nice people...nice location..all round great ...but if you are working in Newcastle expect a leisurely trip to work in the morning...I would recommend this hotel as a great escape tho.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    79
    32
    20
    26
See reviews for
78
82
14
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Shields, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We booked our wedding at the Little Haven and had a fantastic experience with them. With such a short time scale between booking it and the ceremony (11 weeks), the staff at the hotel made sure everything we wanted was sorted in time. They invited us to the hotel for informal meetings with the wedding coordinators, kept us informed in the run up to the wedding (such as seating plans, payments/bookings) and made sure that everything ran smoothly.
What a fantastic day. We checked into the penthouse suite earlier than what we should have because luckily the last guests had left early. Extra tables were provided that we had forgotten that we needed without complaint, both the ceremony room and the function room was set up exactly how we wanted and the staff kept us right on the day.
The staff were fantastic, every one of them were professional, cheerful and helpful.
The food was top notch. The wedding breakfast (after the ceremony) the buffet (at the reception) and the breakfast in the morning were all fantastic value for money. The portions were more than we expected.
Because of the service we received we have decided that every anniversary we are going to return to celebrate as this hotel really made our day special.

The location is beautiful and picturesque. As some one else has already mentioned the sound of the waves lapping against the shore is truly a wonderful ambience to wake up to.

Room Tip: Check out the penthouse suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night and was pleasantly surprised. The hotel is located by the beach/entrance to the river tyne. The town of South Shields is 10 mins walk away. I opted for a sea view room . The room was clean however wifi was a bit intermittent. I left my window open overnight and was lovely to hear the sea hitting the shore. Staff were very friendly. An enjoyable stay!

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This is the friendliest best value Hotel anywhere near Newcastle upon Tyne. The staff are gems and really can't do enough to help you enjoy your stay. The rooms ar large, excellent views over the mouth of the River Tyne, with lots of ships coming and going. The breakfast is brilliant, served in a lovely conservatory and the quality of ingredients are second to none (Especially the Black Pudding!). Newcastle and Sunderland in easy reach, as are the Indian Restaurants in Ocean Road - dozens of them, all good. Give yourself a treat - stay here...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We found this hotel very good, rooms excellent, food very appetising and its position cannot be bettered on this part of the coast. To have views both of the river Tyne and the coastline is stunning, and a bonus is the drinks in this hotel are very reasonably priced, staff very friendly and professional in everything they do. Short walk into town and or walk along the coast as far as you want to go.

Room Tip: ask for a river or sea view as well as the view they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Set in the mouth of the River Tyne it has an excellent setting. The magnificent construction of the Groyne is the highlight of its views. The south pier is very close by to afford a glorious one mile walk out into the sea. Both North and South Lighthouses have been photographed millions of times. The river mouth is used by thousands on Ships and Boats and very brisk and healthy at the best of times. The Collingwood Memorial is on view at all times from the Hotel. . . .you may be lucky to get a room with this view!
Many attractions are neat the Hotel, in lauding the Marine Park, Fairgrounds and Beeches with the Leas (owned and maintained by the National Trust) a glorious walk towards Seaburn and Sunderland.
The Hotel is very, very busy and quite open to walkers for meals. It has three stories with some very posh rooms at the top of the building. Dogs are allowed in designated rooms only. The rooms I found are pretty average and staff always very busy. They have an excellent restaurant area with excellent views across the mouth of Tyne.
Meals I found were varied but average quality.
The Hotel holds many special events including Xmas and New Year parties.
In the next few months the nearby Beech walk will be improved with a nearby Swimmng Pool nearing completion. There is parking places all over the area and around the Hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms above the Bar. Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ls28
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We have stopped at the little haven hotel many times it has always been excellent, service good,food good and staff very friendly. We last stopped thursday night when we went to seeAlfie Boa at Newcastle Arena he was fantastic. Sang from Les Miserables also spirttulist songs elvis songs and various other older songs. Then back to south shields if you have never been there you would be surprised. the sands are smooth there is a fun fair and a super park. From the little haven you get straight onto the sands and when eating in the Conservatery you can watch the boats and ferries go into North Shields.Sorry no swimming pool clipped the wrong button

Room Tip: Pay to stop in a room overlooking the sea £3.00 extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Little Haven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Haven Hotel

Address: River Drive, Littlehaven, South Shields NE33 1LH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > South Shields
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in South Shields
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Little Haven Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Little Haven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Your Hotel Little Haven
Little Haven Hotel South Shields, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Haven Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.