We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the Seafront at Sandhaven.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Minchella

Minchella
South Promenade | Sea Road, South Shields NE33 3NF, England
0191 456 1905
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 137 Restaurants in South Shields
Cuisines: Ice Cream
Restaurant details
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“On the Seafront at Sandhaven.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Good spot for a coffee after a walk on the beach. Friendly staff, clean, good large coffee an ideal place to watch the world go by.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    21
    11
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Worst coffee house ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Orderd a coffee with some friends, it jus didn't smell of coffee, the frothy milk didn't stAy frothy for long, they been in ocean road since time began, I always used to get ice cream as a kid, now that I live miles away, And I'm
Only ever in Sheilds once in a blue moon, but sadly I was quite unsatisfied with my caffeine hit! :(

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Lovely icecream”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Lovely icecream, also sell hot drinks and snacks, not the cheapest of places but still worth a visit

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A little treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Can't be beating for setting and ice cream on a nice day. Staff always cordial no matter how busy it is (and it does get busy!.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Just Wow!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

came here with my three year old son and my husband, was only planning on coffee and an ice cream for the little man, until I spotted someone with a Knickerbockerglory!! All I can say is WOW. It was amazing! will definitely be going back!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Minchella also viewed

South Shields, Tyne and Wear
South Shields, Tyne and Wear
 
South Shields, Tyne and Wear
South Shields, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Minchella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Minchella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.