We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in the area!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smiths Chippy

Smiths Chippy
108 Ocean Road, South Shields, England
0191-4555069
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 153 Restaurants in South Shields
Cuisines: Fish & Chips
Restaurant details
Durham City
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best in the area!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Stopped for Fish n Chips after doing the Great North Run. Ocean Road was heaving and we'd really wanted to sit down for something to eat but didn't want to queue. So we came to Smiths and there was bit less of a queue. We had to wait a few minutes for more fish to be fried but that meant that a couple of chairs were free and we could rest our very weary legs.

Great fish - tasty batter and fantastic chips. Best in the area.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
william s, Manager at Smiths Chippy, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
thanks for your comments. glad you enjoyed your food after your long run.
hopefully see you same time next year!!
regards
will.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    11
    5
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
GEORDIELAND
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“love the chunky chips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

everyone raves about a certain other chippy (the one that refused me entry with a buggy) but I have always prefered Smiths , I recently took my grandson ( a mcdonalds fanatic) and he could not believe the chips are these real chips grandad (oh yes son, oh yes)

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
william s, Manager at Smiths Chippy, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
thanks for your comments hope your grandson is a smiths convert now
regards
will.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Tyneside
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful Fish & Chips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Nothing to dislike, really, and the fish was incredibly fresh. The batter was one of the best I've tasted; not too oily and nice and crisp. Portions? Gigantic. Don't eat for several hours previously!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Not bad quality but expensive !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

I happen to be in Ocean road and called in for a quick lunch time treat. As I wasnt starving I just fancied a fish and looked for the prices but could see everything priced on the main menu, APART FROM fish prices. ! . This seemed a little stange for a fish shop. The lady serving "blurted out something" that sounded like she wanted my order so I asked for one fish. Then a few other came in and we all waited while they cooked the food. I thought they could have had at least a few ready done but at least it was fresh. Then it was put in a box with oil dripping off and then the worst bit .., as i havent been to a Fish and Chips shop for a while ,i was shocked that they charge £4.45 for ONE fish . It tasted fine and no complains on that side (not too thick batter and nice white fish.) Chips would have been about £1.50 a go. Im not surprised the lakes of KFC and MacDonalds do so well if thats the price for one Fish.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Fish and Chips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Wow!

If you like big chunky hand cut chips and fluffy cod this is the place for you.

Big portions as well - super value for money

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smiths Chippy also viewed

South Shields, Tyne and Wear
South Shields, Tyne and Wear
 
South Shields, Tyne and Wear
South Shields, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Smiths Chippy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smiths Chippy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.