We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PEAZ LAMB CHOPS” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lasun

Lasun
50 Dean Road, South Shields NE33 4DZ, England
0191 454 5111
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 135 Restaurants in South Shields
Cuisines: English, Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
South Shields, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“PEAZ LAMB CHOPS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

I have been to this restaurant a number of times and have never been disappointed. It is slightly more expensive than some of the Ocean Road establishments. But it has a substantial menu with different dishes. One problem I have with it is that the Peaz lamb chop starter is so good I cannot order anything else when I go. There is a good selection of fish curries. The rice dishes are some of the best I have experienced very well cooked and tasty. The staff are always attentive without being over bearing. Nice pint of Cobra too which helps.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    19
    10
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
south shields
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best curry house by a clear mile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

My family and I came here to celebrate my brothers 30th birthday. The staff were amazing and the food was beautiful. May be a little more expensive than other Indian restaurants but worth every penny. Would recommend to anyone visiting the area

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Brilliant curry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Had to spend a Monday night in south shields and was dreading it, this curry house changed my opinion for Ever. Superb food and service.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“very mediocre”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

I chose to try lasun after hearing good reports and thought it's quite handy if having a few drinks in westoe instead of getting a taxi to ocean rd. In future I will just get that taxi. The food was just very bland and none of what any of us ordered would I order again. Staff were fine but the bill was quite hefty at nearly £100 for 3 courses and just a couple of cobras each. Apologies but this was not a patch on my old faithfull on ocean road.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOUTH SHIELDS
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“I've Eaten Quite A Few Curries In South Shields In My Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

There is a lot of competition in South Shields for curry houses, the standards are pretty good.........however:

The Lasun on Dean Road is on another level. Absolute curry heaven.

The best I have tasted by a long way, which tbh in South Shields takes some doing.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lasun also viewed

South Shields, Tyne and Wear
South Shields, Tyne and Wear
 
South Shields, Tyne and Wear
South Shields, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Lasun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lasun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.