We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, clean and good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn South Shields

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn South Shields to your Saves list
Premier Inn South Shields
2 Hobsons Way, South Shields NE34 9PQ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Great deals online.
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in South Shields
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Cheap, clean and good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We were in Newcastle for the Late Shows and the usual premier inn we stayed at wanted in excess of £85 a night, so we looked further afield and ended up at this premier inn, paying £85 for 2 nights. As expected, the room was large, clean, all beds made up (1 adult 3 kids), lovely large bathroom, helpful receptionist, so no problems. We did have an issue with the sink which was sorted out promptly and efficiently.
The area itself was fine, a short walk from the metro station, and a 5 minute drive into south shields.
We had breakfast in Taybarns, it was ok, not the best ive had in a premier inn, wasnt particularly warm or tasty compared to others, but it was ok tho seemed to be some discrepancy about payment. The first morning i paid for 2 adults and the 2 kids ate free (no problem there, was 1 adult, and 3 kids so i dont mind) but the next day, i was charged 1 adult and 1 child price, and 2 kids ate free - i dont mind but it would be better if there was consistency throughout the staff. That said, i would stay at this premier inn again as it was clean and value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    56
    12
    15
    5
See reviews for
90
43
10
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

If you book into a Premier inn they give you a good night guarantee, if you do not sleep well they will refund your money. We booked on a Sunday, we slept so well that were had to woken up at 10.30 by our daughter who was in next room. There are no frills; you have to bring your own toothpaste, shampoo etc., which is fine as I always bring my own. You get a clean, comfortable room, rather firm mattress, with a good shower or bath. Very friendly staff, all local people. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the back of the hotel, which was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

A***** would recommend
will defo stay again
slept well, which is a must
location was good
a great place to eat around the corner £7.99 buffett
i paid for breakfast, which i missed due to leaving early, would have preferred that i was offered a take away breakfast, maybe this is something that they will work on.

over a great stay. A******

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed here for just one night, being a friday. On arrival the receptionist was absolutely lovely and asked if we had stayed there before, we hadnt, so she went onto expalin everything about this particular Premiere Inn and the tourist attractions around.
Room was lovely and big and smelt lovely and clean, bathroom was big and had liquid soap and shower gel in dispensers that smelt lovely.
Taybarns that is connected to the Premiere Inn absolutely superb, wonderful selection of food for a very good price.
Overall a thoroughly enjoyable stay with very friendly staff and had a great nights sleep in a very comfy bed, wonderful!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Good stay but I was on the second floor, and the WIFI signal was not good at all and also had a hard mattress, so woke up with sore back. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Theta yearns restaurant was good except paying £8.25 for breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed here, spur of the moment, on Good Friday. The location isn't the best, in an industrial area, but for one night it suited us. The location on my phone actually said Jarrow, rather than South Shields, so it was a good couple of miles from the sea. On arrival the receptionist introduced herself, and was lovely. The first thing that struck us about the room was how massive the bed was, it was 2 full sized singles joined together, so I'd guess it was super kingsize, which was great! There was a proper wooden wardrobe, which was a bit old fashioned, and a worktop almost the width of the room, which was great. The curtains were purple and yellow, rather than the usual purple, and let more light in than the usual ones, but it wasn't a problem. The window looked straight onto the wall and roof of the restaurant, which again, was ok with us only being there for one night, but I wouldn't have wanted to be there for a week. It was near a main road, yet we heard no noise, but oddly, my daughter, who was in the next room, heard my phone every time I got a text, so the internal walls must be quite thin. The bathroom was huge, and I liked that you could have just a low light on in there, good if you wanted a relaxing bath, but the water was very slow to drain out of the sink, and there were some very badly patched up holes on the wall. We were late arriving, and didn't want to have to drive anywhere to eat, so against our better judgement, reluctantly went to the attached Taybarns restaurant. We'd been before at a lunchtime, and weren't too impressed, so would rather have gone elsewhere, but on this occasion had no choice really. It's like being in a motorway service station, very noisy, kids everywhere, basic tables and chairs, cutlery not all that clean, food only lukewarm, dirty tables and littered floor. Shame they didn't have a family area, so that those of us without children could have had a quieter meal, but that's not the case unfortunately. For me, it wasn't the sort of place I like to eat in an evening, and it was £3 per head dearer than lunchtime too, so not exactly cheap. I wouldn't rule out staying there again if it was just for one night, but there are loads of Premier Inns on the other side of the river in nicer locations, and with much better restaurants. I feel Taybarns lets the brand down a little.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anlaby
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

PLEASE NOTE: FOR THE REASONS OUTLINED BELOW MY RATINGS ARE BASED ON THE HOTEL ONLY.

Stayed here on 19th March - as with my other reviews, it's fair to say, you know what you're getting with a Premier Inn however there are some variances across the brand. I was greeted enthusiastically and engaged in conversation with Fiona on reception. She was friendly and informative and I felt that nothing would have been too much trouble.

The room I had was clean and comfortable although the TV wasn't fully visible from the bed.

The attached restaurant was not up to the standard I usually experience at a Premier Inn. It was an all you can eat buffet style location called Taybarns (owned by Whitbread). I can't deny that there was a wide range of food - Mexican, Chinese, Salad, Pizza, Pasta and Fish & Chips however much of it was very greasy, some was not particularly hot and generally it didn't appear very appetising. The furniture was more suited to a works canteen. Overall, it felt like greasy spoon cafe meets kids birthday party meets late night take away.

I would thoroughly recommend the hotel but only if all you need is accommodation. If you wish to eat, I would recommend that you venture into the local area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn South Shields? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn South Shields

Address: 2 Hobsons Way, South Shields NE34 9PQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > South Shields
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in South Shields
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn South Shields reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn South Shields Hotel South Shields
Premier Inn South Shields England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn South Shields, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.